We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, Relaxing, France at it's rural best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Monhoudou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monhoudou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Monhoudou
Save
You added Chateau de Monhoudou to your Saves list
72260 Monhoudou, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monhoudou
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil, Relaxing, France at it's rural best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We flew into the Chateau and landed on the well marked private airfield (careful of the trees on final for 02) and were greeted on arrival by our hosts. I've little to add to previous reviews other than to say the hosts Marie and Michel were charming hosts (Marie speaks good English). The use of a car was a great bonus and, with the tandem on another day, allowed us to explore the local area. A previous comment was "not a lot to do" - if you want nightclubs and big towns don't come here. If you want out of the way countryside, good walking (but not stunning without a drive in the car), fresh air, good food, comfortable rooms, amenities such as a covered heated swimming pool and games room and good French cooking you'll love it here.

We stayed three nights on our way further south and it was a great place to unwind and truly capture the holiday spirit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I booked two rooms in the chateau for a single night stop on the way down from Calais to Southern Brittany. The process was a little confusing because the website is very poorly designed and there are some rooms that are not shown at all. The photos aren't great either.

However, positive reviews on tripadvisor persuaded me the chateau would fit the bill.

I requested that both the double and single occupancy rooms have full bathroom with shower and bath and the Vicomtesse booked us into the Marechal (double) and Puysegur (doulbe for single occupancy). When we arrived, my husband and I had been switched into the Blue Room (which represents an upgrade) as other guests had booked Marechal for a weeklong stay. Both rooms were clean and comfortable though ours was, as a superior, significantly larger. We were on the first floor, our friend on the second.

Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and comfortable. We had two bathrooms, one with large jacuzzi bathtun and another wet room shower in the corner turret - a great use of the space.

There is an honesty bar fridge that guests can help themselves from which is well priced and makes life easier than searching out someone to serve drinks.

Before dinner, we had apperitifs and canapes. The meal itself was also very enjoyable. The walnut tart was so fantastic that I asked the Vicomtesse for the recipe, which she kindly shared. I'd say that the meal was a touch expensive for what it was, even with wine and apperitif included, compared to similar I've had in similar chateau accommodations but it was a nice evening.

My husband and I slept extremely well. Our friend was disturbed by inconsiderate guests late into the night and early the next morning - not the chateau's falt, of course.

Although the chateau is charming, it feels a bit impersonal in some ways as one doesn't really get to meet and chat to the owners other than being shown to ones rooms and check out. I made a special request for the recipe but otherwise, would probably not have had any personal interaction, which is a shame.

Overall, would recommend this to a friend and would certainly stay again when looking for accommodation in this area and price bracket.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The welcome and service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The chateau is the home of the vicomte et vicomtesse and they are the wonderful hosts. The cleanliness of the rooms was beyond reproach. The food prepared and cooked by Marie-Christine (the vicomtesse) was delicious. You have a choice of 42Euro Table d'hote (set menu) served in the diningroom with other guests or 69euro Prestige dinner with champagne served in an individual room. Although other guests tried the Prestige (mostly for special occasions) we enjoyed the table d'hote, it gave a more friendly touch to our stay.
The grounds are beautiful, with swans, horses, sheep and many other rural sights. Plenty areas to walk, bicycles and a tandem available to use. A covered heated swimming pool which especially in the afternoon was very pleasant to spend time in. Also a jaccuzzi.
One thing that is needed is a car. We had arrived by train into Le Mans which is about 40kms away (Alencon is about 30km) and although there is a bus twice a day during school term time (not Sundays) we arrived on a French national holiday and found ourselves with about 85euro taxi bill each way. If your flying in by private plane there is an aerodrome within the grounds. With no car we were unsure what to do on the Saturday since the buses were not sure to be running. A car free of charge was offered for a few hours to let us go out and explore the area. (Only needed to sign a waiver to say we would be responsible for any charges related to traffic offences or accidents.)
A number of interesting towns, villages, chateaus and gardens/parks in the area. Le Mans on Friday and Sunday have a large market of food, clothing, housing items and brocante. The cathedral and the old town are worth seeing. The old town has been used in many french films of medieval through to 17/18th century times. Other places woth a look include a village called Le Perriere. In the Relais d'Hobre (I think, can't miss it directly opposite the carpark with lilac) the host greets the men of the party with a handhshake and the women with a kiss on the hand (some traditional habits remain).
All in all a relaxing time.
Wendy (UK) and Rami (Paris)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

On a short stay in the area near Alencon, France, my husband and I stayed at the Chateau de Monhoudou. We decided to take the evening meal offered by the chatelaine of the Chateau, Mme Marie-Christine de Monhoudou.

We shared an aperitif in the Salon with the Count Michel de Monhoudou, and then moved to the dining room, where we were served a delicious dinner that included a choice of 3 starters, braised Duck with Peaches, an excellent tray of cheeses, and a choice of several homemade desserts. There was a very nice red table wine to accompany this meal, and we then returned to the Salon for coffee and after-dinner drinks.

The meal was shared by several other couples, from different countries, and English and French were the common languages. It was a lovely and interesting evening, followed by an excellent night's sleep in a very comfortable room, and we awakened to a beautiful quiet morning. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. I heartily recommend the lovely old home, in the Monhoudou family for 18 generations, that has been lovingly restored by this very nice couple. It's a real winner, either for a stop on the way, or as a several-night getaway.

  • Liked — The Chateau itself, the quiet countryside surrounding it, and the personal attention all of us received from the owners.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeten, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

I have little to add to the previous reviews which describe my own experience quite well. Very cordial reception, good food (served entirely by candlelight in the evening--good idea!), pleasant conversation (in French) with hosts and guests, lovely room and grounds, comfortable bed, peace and quiet, and friendly dogs.

  • Liked — welcome, room, grounds, meeting other guests
  • Disliked — a bit remote
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

Most people seem to stop off at the Monhoudou on their way South, but we were there for four nights in August and loved every minute. The Chateau, though impressive, feels very much like the family home it has been for many generations. It's quite a grown-up sort of place - beautifully-decorated bedrooms with antiques everywhere - but the welcome extended to our five-year-old couldn't be faulted. The food, cooked by madame herself, was delicious and inventive and although they didn't sound particularly cheap on paper, the meals proved exceptionally good value. There's not much to do in the vicinity, but for us it was more than enough to watch the horses, peacock and swans mooching about in front of the house, with a dip in the new pool or a game of billiards always a possibility in the back of your mind. The only drawback might be the communal eating for some - it definitely helps if you speak some French - but we enjoyed the experience and you can pay a bit more for a private meal a deux. A wonderfully relaxing place, and we will return.

  • Liked — the welcome
  • Disliked — ntot much to do in the immediate vicinity
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

The chatueau is magnificent and when you arrive it gives you a real wow factor that you can stay ther for such a reasonable rate.

We stayed for a couple of nights and had an wonderful meal prepared by the countess. Both the Count and Countess are so friendly to guests and it is easy to forget that they are actually important people in the local region.

The rooms are spacious and we had one with the spa bath. This was just what we needed after trying out the chateau's Tandem around the beautiful local countryside.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Monhoudou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monhoudou

Address: 72260 Monhoudou, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Monhoudou
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monhoudou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chateau De Hotel Monhoudou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Monhoudou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.