We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 1905 Basin Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Eureka Springs
Batesville, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old School Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Our room was comfortable and clean with an Arlington Hotel (Hot Springs) charm. Parking takes a bit of extra thought, but after all, you're in Eureka Springs!!! Enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel. If you return to Eureka Springs in the future we hope you will choose to stay with us again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    123
    68
    49
    47
See reviews for
51
167
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The Basin Park Hotel is a charming old building. It is a perfect reflection of the town's character! We purchased a vacation package and received vochurs for all of our chosen activities and meals. It was a wonderful way for first time visitors to Eureka Springs to experience what the town had to offer! The staff was extremely attentive, kind, and helpful. We enjoyed the gorgeous view of Spring Street from our room's windows. Our room was very quiet and comfortable, located on the 2nd floor (spa level). I really feel like the staff loves the old building a lot and tries to keep it nice.
We also took the Ghost Tour of the hotel because it was included in our package. The guide was fun and interesting. It was neat to hear some of the history of the town and of the hotel. $16.50 per adult ticket seems pretty steep for a one hour lecture, though.
Our experience at the Balcony Restaurant was uneven. We loved our appetizer sampler! The soups and bread that came with our meals were made in-house and were wonderful! Unfortunately, service was extremely slow. He repeatedly forgot things we, and the patrons around us, requesed. The server did apologize several times for this. I'm not really sure of the cause, but it got to be rather frustrating. We each ordered steaks: rib eye and New York Strip. My strip steak was acceptable, not the greatest of my life, but it was good. The side of frozen vegetable medly was unfortunate. My friend ordered the ribeye steak, medium. They brought it out bloody rare. He sent it back to be cooked longer. When the steak was returned to him, parts of it were a nice medium, others were extremely well done. He was pretty disappointed because he loves ribeye. It was most expensive item on the menu. We were expecting a lot more. We did receive a discount on the bill, but having a better quality entree would have been ideal.
All in all, I'd recommend staying at the hotel. It's very charming, comfortable, and convenient. Get a drink at the bar. They're strong, and you definitely get your money's worth. I would just avoid the Balcony Restaurant. Eureka Springs has many consistently delicious dining options. Choose one of them instead!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Basin Park Hotel and our sorry you had inconsistent service at the restaurant. We do our best to provide excellent service throughout the property but on occasion we do fall short. We will be reviewing the circumstances surrounding your experience at the restaurant so it will not be repeated in the future. We do look forward to seeing you in the future when you decide to return to Eureka Springs. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice. We got a suite that was too expensive for what you actually get. The suite was nothing special, other than having a jacuzzi. It was a bit noisy in the morning. We got woke up a couple hours earlier than we would've liked.
The location is awesome. We was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do.
The restaurant and bar was good. We had a lot of fun at both places

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Our apologies for your disappointment with your room price. We try and keep our prices comparable for our location and service. If a jacuzzi room is not important to you, may I suggest that if you return to our hotel that you try a king suite. They are less expensive and are on the corner of the hotel with a great view. And if you are still in the mood for a jacuzzi, we have a public one on our spa deck you can utilize.

We hope to see you again in the future when you return to Eureka Springs. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Checked in and was given a room that had ripped carpet, paint splatters on wall, the toilet was on a raised pedestal and was 4 inches from the wall...so to use you would have to side saddle it, stand in shower was 30" x 30" and grungy...water kept changing temp from ice cold to blazing hot. Needless to say I wanted to just check out and go to one of the many other hotels I've stayed at in town. Went to front desk and he said he could move my room...so he gave me a key to a dirty room with a pair of old panties on the nightstand...went back down to desk again and went to look at next room. It was clean and not as beat up...cracked tiles in shower and a tub that would not drain were the only issues.
This is highest rate I have paid to visit this town and it wasn't much, but give me value over a ghost story legend. Was charged a gratuity and an additional 6.95 for some kind of attraction fee???

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We're sorry for your disappointing experience at our property. I will be reviewing the room you were booked into with housekeeping and maintenance so we can fix the issues you've described. We're sorry for any inconveniences you may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The price is inflated because of its age and location. Cleanliness does not appear to be high priority. Reminded me of a roadside motel in that respect. Spa was nice but still not clean as I would have expected. Was charged for services that were given but not asked for. Spent over $600 and did not get offered any discounts or even dinner vouchers that are normally given with spa packages. Disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We're sorry for your disappointing stay at our property. We are aware of the cleanliness issues. We have been renovating multiple rooms and floors recently and this has caused dust and debris to settle over everything. We are rectifying this issue as we speak.

As for your spa experience, we apologize for inconsistencies with your bill. The staff is not perfect and mistakes get made occasionally. I hope you were able to sort out your bill prior to departing. We didn't overcharge you on purpose I assure you.

I've reviewed your reservation with the spa director and noticed that you didn't reserve a spa package when you booked your stay with us. You were apparently aware that we offered spa packages according to your review but chose not to reserve one. We would've been more than happy to alter your reservation if you would have requested it at the front desk. I am sorry though, we don't just give away free vouchers because you chose to spend $600 in our spa.

We're sorry for any inconveniences you may have experienced at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

looks like someone else stayed the same night I did. A wedding party kept us up most the night. We called; but nothing was done. Similar to the smoke alarm- we called, and 30 minutes later someone showed up to remedy the situation.... except they sent the tone-deaf guy on staff. We tried telling him what room number, but it still took a while. And parking... well, good luck. It's faster just to make the hike. Although hilly, it's a nice town. FortSmithResident's review was harsh, but true. (and just for the record, we called about the same issues; but I'm sure staff will come up with a passive aggressive comment for me as well). We made the best of it though. I would just recommend NEVER staying near an elevator or on the street side due to noise (and double check the actual amenities before you reserve). Otherwise, i bet it would be a great experience.

Room Tip: No elevator, No street-side, if you like to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We try and attend to all guest needs as quickly as possible and in the order that the requests are received. Next time you have negative experiences at any hotel, please make sure to contact the manager if your issues aren't resolved. I was there Friday, Saturday and Sunday and do not remember any of your complaints being brought to my attention.

We hope you will return to Eureka Springs in the future even if you don't stay with us.
Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This has been a fun experience. It's clearly an old building that has been modified many times. There is a lot of love and thought put into the decorations and set up. It is old so don't expect the setup to be pristine but it is very enjoyable. The staff has been extremely accommodating and really have gone out of their way to help us have a very good time. The price is right too. It's fun to think of all the stories this old building has.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our old building isn't perfect but we do our best to keep it in tip top shape. We appreciate your understanding on this. Please be sure to try us again when you return to Eureka Springs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Serenity Spa, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. This tour is fun for the whole family and you will learn all about the towns heated founding. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Basin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.