We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time staying at Basin Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 1905 Basin Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Eureka Springs
timr0123
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First time staying at Basin Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Basin Park for the first time on 11-29. Neat old hotel. We had their couple's spa package which was very nice. Our room was steps from the spa, which made it nice to be able to walk right from our room to the couples massage room. The massage was wonderful. Three days later I'm still very relaxed. The package also included dinner, which was also very nice. We will be doing this again in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, upgrade to the queen jacuzzi suite for $25.00 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We try to make everyone's stay as positive and memorable as yours was. We hope you will consider us again if you decide to return to Eureka Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    123
    68
    49
    47
See reviews for
51
167
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was small for the price $189 on a sat. night, very little was going on the weekend of our stay. We have stayed at this hotel 5 or 6 times over the yrs, because they allow pets. When we travel without our schnauzer we stay down the st at another nicer hotel with larger rooms, fridge/microwave for around the same price. Appears they are trying to save money by providing communal shampoo conditioner shower gel, not sure that is sanitary. We've never stayed in one of the lovely rooms shown on their website, maybe out of our price range. The location is very good next to the park. The hotel has a historic feel but some of the furnishing need updating. Overall it's not a bad stay but there are nicer hotels, b&bs downtown.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We're sorry you didn't completely enjoy your recent stay with us. We try to keep and room rates reasonable and comparable to the surrounding properties. We are always looking out to save money in anyway possible (like most businesses) which is one reason we have shampoo and body wash dispensers in all of our rooms. Another reason for this is that we make every attempt to "go green" which is why we have dispensers in the rooms as opposed to little plastic disposable bottles that don't biodegrade and fill up our landfills. We're sorry you didn't approve of this. They are all locked and the contents cannot be tampered with without a special key. They are completely safe and sanitary.

We hope you will return to Eureka Springs in the future even if you choose not to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The elevator is slow as it can be but functional. I had a bum knee so couldn't take the steps this time but hen this is Eureka Springs where everything is built on the side of the mountains so bum knees are a killer here! We ate at the Balcony and our food was very good and a lot of it and our server was great! Get a table right in the rail if you can...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. No one knows better than us how slow that elevator is. At least it does work though considering it's 108 years old. If you return to Eureka Springs after your knee gets better, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Be sure you review the bill, as they try to charge a daily "activity fee" and a daily "service gratuity"! Both these fees add up to about $10 per day! As far as the accommodations, they are fine, as long as you are comfortable with an eclectic mix of furniture, uneven floors, and dim lighting. We had a suite and had a great view of downtown. I would rate the accomdations as just satisfactory. If we had it to do over, we would of stayed either at the Crescent Hotel or the New Orleans.

Room Tip: Check the bill thoroughly for questionable fees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We're sorry that you found your stay with us frustrating and the accommodations lacking. We do our best to keep this 108 year old building in great shape but it can be challenging at times.

Activity fees and service gratuities are optional charges when you stay with us. That is the whole reason we breakout the charges on the receipt we give you so you have the option of removing it if you didn't participate in our daily activities.

We hope you will still return to our lovely town even if you choose not to stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this supposedly haunted hotel a week or so before Halloween. It was built over a hundred years ago in the heart of "downtown" Eureka Springs, AR. The hotel was festively decorated for the season with cob webs and the like. We had pulled into the loading zone in front of the hotel where we were told we could only leave the car for a few minutes. We were promptly greated by a friendly clerk who quickly checked us in and directed us to our 4th floor room. The room was large with very comfortable beds made with 1st quality linens. It is an OLD hotel so there were some things one would not notice in a newer facility - painted over transom windows, layer upon layer of paint (often poorly painted) and many creaks and squeaks but I, personally, found it charming. If you want fancy and luxurious, this is probably not the place for you but if you want quirky and charming this is your place. The bath was large and featured high end products. After checking in, we took our car to the free parking lot some distance from the hotel (downtown parking is at a premium in this old, hilly town) and called for the valet service to pick us up. The driver arrived quickly, was friendly and recommended several good places to eat in response to our queries. The hotel is in the midst of all the little shops and restaurants. Since this is an old hotel there was some minor noise during the night but not enough to be irritating. The hotel is supposed to be haunted and we did experience one eerie occurance. I had used the toilet tissue several times over the course of the day/night with no problem. In the early morning however I found that the remaining roll was totally soaked through when it had been bone dry previously. No visible leak in the ceiling above. Ghosts? Who knows but it makes for a good story.

Room Tip: Make sure and check out the balconies and the spa deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for being understanding about our historic property. We do our best to keep it in tip top shape. With this being a 108 year old building it can be challenging at times. Interesting story about your toilet paper roll. People report to us constantly about odd and unusual things happening to them while they stay with us. If you return to Eureka Springs in the future we hope you consider staying with us again.

Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked this a month in advance requesting a fourth floor room. I arrived at 10 Am and was told I could not check-in until 3 pm. At this time I asked if my room was on the fourth floor and was told yes it is. When I got back to check-in at 3:30 I was handed a key to room 207. I asked what happened to my fourth floor room that I had requested and was told at 10 am that I had. I was then told there were no rooms available on the fourth floor. I was not happy but did not have much choice but to pay and move on. The room was clean, but the bath tub faucet leaked non-stop. There was no bellman in sight and the elevator only holds up to 6 people and there was a long line. I had to carry my luggage up 2 floors, so if you are handicapped beware. The beds were comfortable and had nice bedding, but the rooms are very dated. I figure in a historic hotel this is to be expected. The shuttle drivers on both shifts were great! They were much more helpful then anyone else in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're definitely sorry for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We do our best to accommodate all guest request but sometimes issues arrive that prevent us from doing so. We apologize that you had to carry your own bags to your room. It's possible the bellman was busy assisting other guests at the time. If there was a line for the elevator it's probably safe to say that the hotel was extremely busy at the time of your check in. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make a future stay more enjoyable. Once again, we apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a nice, historic hotel right in downtown Eureka Springs. I say historic because it's on the National Register of Historic Places and it's received good maintenance over the years. I say good because although it's neat, quiet and well appointed it's lacking some of the charm that I would have expected. Painted over transom windows for example, poor paint work and obvious repairs that have taken away some of the architectural details of this hotel. And since it's nearly 110 years old it does have some quirks, like stair railings that are loose, squeaky steps and floor boards that creek and groan when you walk on them. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The elevator, of which there's one has a warning sign that if you exceed six people you'll have to be rescued. Other than that, they have two great bars and one restaurant with a great breakfast buffet, included with the room. Parking is free however it is a shuttle trip away because parking in the downtown area is at a premium with either metered parking or "no parking any time" practically everywhere. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and will see to your needs. There's an onsite spa as well, which is a great place to lose the wife for a couple of hours.

Eureka Springs likes to call themselves "Little Switzerland" and it does get its share of tourists, a lot of them. Traffic in downtown Eureka during the weekends is very crowded with lots of cars, motorcycles and people going through all the shops. The shops are great too, there's a lot of them with all kinds of merchandise as well as restaurants. This is a great place to spend a lot of money so keep your credit card away from your wife if you can.

Room Tip: Try to avoid weekends where there are large events, craft shows, car shows or other things going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Eureka Springs. It sounds like you had a good experience for the most part. We are aware that our property has some maintenance issues with it being 108 years old. We do renovations every winter and keep up with repairs the best we can throughout season. We hope you will choose to stay with us again if you return to Eureka Springs. Sunday-Thursday the town is a lot quieter and the room rental rates are less expensive than on the weekends.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Serenity Spa, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. This tour is fun for the whole family and you will learn all about the towns heated founding. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Basin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;