We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1905 Basin Park Hotel to your Saves list
1905 Basin Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Walton, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful, old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this supposedly haunted hotel a week or so before Halloween. It was built over a hundred years ago in the heart of "downtown" Eureka Springs, AR. The hotel was festively decorated for the season with cob webs and the like. We had pulled into the loading zone in front of the hotel where we were told we could only leave the car for a few minutes. We were promptly greated by a friendly clerk who quickly checked us in and directed us to our 4th floor room. The room was large with very comfortable beds made with 1st quality linens. It is an OLD hotel so there were some things one would not notice in a newer facility - painted over transom windows, layer upon layer of paint (often poorly painted) and many creaks and squeaks but I, personally, found it charming. If you want fancy and luxurious, this is probably not the place for you but if you want quirky and charming this is your place. The bath was large and featured high end products. After checking in, we took our car to the free parking lot some distance from the hotel (downtown parking is at a premium in this old, hilly town) and called for the valet service to pick us up. The driver arrived quickly, was friendly and recommended several good places to eat in response to our queries. The hotel is in the midst of all the little shops and restaurants. Since this is an old hotel there was some minor noise during the night but not enough to be irritating. The hotel is supposed to be haunted and we did experience one eerie occurance. I had used the toilet tissue several times over the course of the day/night with no problem. In the early morning however I found that the remaining roll was totally soaked through when it had been bone dry previously. No visible leak in the ceiling above. Ghosts? Who knows but it makes for a good story.

Room Tip: Make sure and check out the balconies and the spa deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for being understanding about our historic property. We do our best to keep it in tip top shape. With this being a 108 year old building it can be challenging at times. Interesting story about your toilet paper roll. People report to us constantly about odd and unusual things happening to them while they stay with us. If you return to Eureka Springs in the future we hope you consider staying with us again.

Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    132
    72
    50
    48
See reviews for
56
187
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked this a month in advance requesting a fourth floor room. I arrived at 10 Am and was told I could not check-in until 3 pm. At this time I asked if my room was on the fourth floor and was told yes it is. When I got back to check-in at 3:30 I was handed a key to room 207. I asked what happened to my fourth floor room that I had requested and was told at 10 am that I had. I was then told there were no rooms available on the fourth floor. I was not happy but did not have much choice but to pay and move on. The room was clean, but the bath tub faucet leaked non-stop. There was no bellman in sight and the elevator only holds up to 6 people and there was a long line. I had to carry my luggage up 2 floors, so if you are handicapped beware. The beds were comfortable and had nice bedding, but the rooms are very dated. I figure in a historic hotel this is to be expected. The shuttle drivers on both shifts were great! They were much more helpful then anyone else in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're definitely sorry for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We do our best to accommodate all guest request but sometimes issues arrive that prevent us from doing so. We apologize that you had to carry your own bags to your room. It's possible the bellman was busy assisting other guests at the time. If there was a line for the elevator it's probably safe to say that the hotel was extremely busy at the time of your check in. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make a future stay more enjoyable. Once again, we apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a nice, historic hotel right in downtown Eureka Springs. I say historic because it's on the National Register of Historic Places and it's received good maintenance over the years. I say good because although it's neat, quiet and well appointed it's lacking some of the charm that I would have expected. Painted over transom windows for example, poor paint work and obvious repairs that have taken away some of the architectural details of this hotel. And since it's nearly 110 years old it does have some quirks, like stair railings that are loose, squeaky steps and floor boards that creek and groan when you walk on them. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The elevator, of which there's one has a warning sign that if you exceed six people you'll have to be rescued. Other than that, they have two great bars and one restaurant with a great breakfast buffet, included with the room. Parking is free however it is a shuttle trip away because parking in the downtown area is at a premium with either metered parking or "no parking any time" practically everywhere. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and will see to your needs. There's an onsite spa as well, which is a great place to lose the wife for a couple of hours.

Eureka Springs likes to call themselves "Little Switzerland" and it does get its share of tourists, a lot of them. Traffic in downtown Eureka during the weekends is very crowded with lots of cars, motorcycles and people going through all the shops. The shops are great too, there's a lot of them with all kinds of merchandise as well as restaurants. This is a great place to spend a lot of money so keep your credit card away from your wife if you can.

Room Tip: Try to avoid weekends where there are large events, craft shows, car shows or other things going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Eureka Springs. It sounds like you had a good experience for the most part. We are aware that our property has some maintenance issues with it being 108 years old. We do renovations every winter and keep up with repairs the best we can throughout season. We hope you will choose to stay with us again if you return to Eureka Springs. Sunday-Thursday the town is a lot quieter and the room rental rates are less expensive than on the weekends.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Re-built on the site of the old Perry Hotel, that burned down, like so many 19th century hotel.

Stayed on the 5th floor, with a great view of the city and of Basin Park itself. Tour package included Ghost Tours of this hotel and the Crescent Hotel (on the hill), as well as "Downtown-N-Underground" tour that explains just how strange the raised streets are in Eureka Springs.

Did you know you can book a stay in one of the haunted rooms at the Basin Park Hotel? Great for All Hallows' Eve.

Room Tip: Most ghost activity is on the 3rd floor, according to the lore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed there 2 nights for our anniversary. Room 221. King bed very comfy, nice view of downtown. Bathroom a little narrow but clean Had couples massage which was wonderful and our room was right there, 2 doors down. Staff very nice and accommodating. Shuttle to wherever we needed in the area of the downtown. The food at the balcony restaurant was yummy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. You'll have to return and stay again on your next anniversary. We'd love for you to make a tradition of staying with us on your anniversary. We look forward to seeing you in the future and congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great historic hotel. Updated room with history. Staff was helpful and the hotel is located in the heart of downtown. Parking is off grounds but free and a hotel shuttle will pick you up.
I would recommend this hotel to people who prefer historic hotels to new contemporary hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I made a last minute decision to stay overnight in Eureka Springs. We were in luck - the Basin had their weeknight rates on a Friday night! The staff was very helpful getting us in at the last minute. The hotel is always running a shuttle from the hotel to the parking lot, which was really great when it started raining! We love staying at the Basin because the location is just superb. It is right in the middle of all the fun, we could go for drinks and not worry about designating a driver, we could walk down the road for last minute supplies, and the view of Main street is lovely.
This was our first time staying in a standard room. It was small, but had everything we needed and had a great historic look. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.
We also received several coupons to use for various stores and attractions. The stay came with a free breakfast buffet that was pretty good.
We always enjoy our stay at this hotel, and last weekend was no different!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We try to make everyone's stay as pleasant and enjoyable as yours was. Please make sure to consider us again next time you return to Eureka Springs. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#15 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Serenity Spa, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. This tour is fun for the whole family and you will learn all about the towns heated founding. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Basin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.