We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Basin, a good experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1905 Basin Park Hotel to your Saves list
1905 Basin Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Springdale, Arkansas, United States
1 review
“The Basin, a good experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were treated like royalty when we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary. All of our guests had good things to say about the wonderful meal served by courteous staff. The Ballroom was a reminder of bygone days in the historic hotel. It is pretty much as it was many years ago and that adds to the ambiance. Our room had a beautiful view and antique furniture. The bed was comfortable and room service was prompt. The balcony restaurant overlooked the park and we had entertainment . Location is in the center of town with a parking lot provided. It was an experience we will always remember fondly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    131
    72
    50
    48
See reviews for
55
187
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is just a great old hotel, period. I can't begin to understand how it gets a bad wrap. If you are looking for all the corners to be perfectly square and like lots of chrome and bling factor then this isn't the place for you. If you are a traveler that appreciates a grand old gal that hasn't lost her charm this is it. Great history and perfectly located to enjoy downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrah, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Basin Park is a great place to stay! Spa is wonderful! The Balcony is so much fun - great food, great place to people watch. We love it and visit often. Even when we stay in Holiday Island we always make an afternoon trip of hanging out at the Basin. The game room/bar upstairs is a must also. The staff at the Basin Park is always excellent - from the door man to the bartender.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We pride ourselves in our building and the staff. We try and make everyone's experience as fun and memorable as yours was. The Balcony Bar and Rest. is a great place to grab a bite to eat and people watch. Sometimes you see some funny stuff when you're looking down on people and they don't know your up there.

Come back and stay with us again. We'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On a recent visit to Eureka Springs, Arkansas, every time we thought of food, we thought of the Basin Park Hotel. The food was always tempting and tasty, the service excellent, the staff very friendly and the atmosphere on the bar verandah was wonderful. Would definitely recommend you drop in for a snack or a meal if you ever find yourself in this delightful little town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Balcony Bar and Restaurant. We try to make everyone's dining experience as wonderful as yours was. If you get the opportunity, try staying the night at the Basin Park Hotel and complete your experience of our great, old hotel. We run monthly specials you can look at on www.basinpark.com.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First off Eureka Springs, AR is a great place to get away and enjoy the Ozarks. As many other posters have discussed this is an old hotel and i'll not fault it for that. In fact, that is what gives it its charm. Knowing that though don't expect modern and updated rooms. In our room in particular the water was extremely sensitive. One minute it would be cold and the next scalding hot. You just learn to move it just right. One thing that I believe the hotel can change are its pillows. They were hard as a rock. Maybe it's a preference thing but not to my liking. As for the parking. KNOW THIS! When you get to Eureka there is no parking at the hotel. You have to go down the hill to the Basin Parking Lot and use the phone at the building to call up to the hotel for a shuttle. Not a big deal once you have figured it out but a little frustrating if you didn't know what to expect. For the the price the hotel was a little underwhelming but it did have some great features. Location, Location, Location. Downtown Eureka and a short walk to everything. If you can't walk or don't feel like walking the shuttle service is very good. The bar/restaurant is a nice bonus as well. Great bloody mary's. Finally, the history. Eureka is filled with it and the Basin much like it's sister hotel, the Crescent, is a staple point. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We're sorry you had some disappointments during your visit. We are aware of the hot/cold water problem and working to fix it. This doesn't happen in all of the rooms but in a select few.

When it comes to pillows or anything that might be discomforting you during your stay, please feel free to call the front desk at anytime, 24/7. We are always staffed and can attend to all your needs, including getting you some fresh, fluffier pillows.

Parking is a challenge in Eureka Springs, including our hotel. When our property was built in 1905 we were not designed to accommodate motor vehicles. This is why we offer our complimentary shuttle service from our FREE parking lot. If you go to our website prior to your visit, there is a short video you can watch that explains the entire arrival process.

We try and keep our prices reasonable and comparable to other properties in the downtown area. If possible, try visiting our hotel Sunday-Thursday. The rates are less expensive plus we run a variety of weekday specials you can view on www.basinpark.com.

Don't give up on us yet! We'll do our best to make your return stay better than the first if you'll give our hotel another shot.

Have a good day and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our first trip to eureka. We went there on wed and find out most restaurant are closed and shops closed early at 3-4pm. After driving around, we stuck in the hotel and does not really have any amenities. No swimming. No fridge in room too. But they do provide a very nice scented shower gel.well, they let you use the swimming pool in cressent hotel which you need to drive and I would be surprised if you want to swimm there, pool were dirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're sorry for your disappointing stay at our hotel recently. Unfortunately, Wednesdays are kind of a slow day in our town. Wednesdays are like the weekends for locals in Eureka Springs. Sorry to say we have no control over how often or long the shopkeepers decide to keep their shops open.

We do not have a swimming pool at the Basin Park Hotel since there is no where to put one. We do have a public Jacuzzi on our 2nd floor spa deck. You should check it out if you return to our hotel. It's open daily from 9am-10pm. Like you mentioned, guests of the Basin Park Hotel do have access to the pool at the Crescent Hotel. You don't have to drive yourself though; our complimentary shuttle service is more than happy to drive you around the historic district upon request. We'll forward your comment about the condition of the Crescent Hotel's pool to them immediately.

Only our suites come with refrigerators unfortunately. If you would prefer a room with a refrigerator and you decide to stay with us again, please let the front desk clerk know and we can go over the amenities of different room types with you. Plus you can always check out www.basinpark.com for listings of our room and hotel amenities.

Sorry once again for your disappointing stay with us. Try coming on the weekend and you'll find no shortage of open shops or fun after 5pm I assure you.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When checking into this hotel, visitors need to understand this is a very old historic hotel. The floors slope, an elevator which only holds six people and a musty odor. Parking is located about two blocks away and the hotel offers a shuttle to and from the parking. The Hotel is right in the center of downtown Eureka Springs which makes downtown very accessible.

Room Tip: The thrid floor is haunted.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you decided to stay at our hotel. We appreciate your understanding that this is a historic property. We do our best to keep it up to date and properly maintained. The location is the best though!

We hope you will try our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Serenity Spa, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. This tour is fun for the whole family and you will learn all about the towns heated founding. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Basin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.