We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much you can get for $110 nightly rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 1905 Basin Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Eureka Springs
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not much you can get for $110 nightly rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our first trip to eureka. We went there on wed and find out most restaurant are closed and shops closed early at 3-4pm. After driving around, we stuck in the hotel and does not really have any amenities. No swimming. No fridge in room too. But they do provide a very nice scented shower gel.well, they let you use the swimming pool in cressent hotel which you need to drive and I would be surprised if you want to swimm there, pool were dirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're sorry for your disappointing stay at our hotel recently. Unfortunately, Wednesdays are kind of a slow day in our town. Wednesdays are like the weekends for locals in Eureka Springs. Sorry to say we have no control over how often or long the shopkeepers decide to keep their shops open.

We do not have a swimming pool at the Basin Park Hotel since there is no where to put one. We do have a public Jacuzzi on our 2nd floor spa deck. You should check it out if you return to our hotel. It's open daily from 9am-10pm. Like you mentioned, guests of the Basin Park Hotel do have access to the pool at the Crescent Hotel. You don't have to drive yourself though; our complimentary shuttle service is more than happy to drive you around the historic district upon request. We'll forward your comment about the condition of the Crescent Hotel's pool to them immediately.

Only our suites come with refrigerators unfortunately. If you would prefer a room with a refrigerator and you decide to stay with us again, please let the front desk clerk know and we can go over the amenities of different room types with you. Plus you can always check out www.basinpark.com for listings of our room and hotel amenities.

Sorry once again for your disappointing stay with us. Try coming on the weekend and you'll find no shortage of open shops or fun after 5pm I assure you.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    124
    68
    49
    47
See reviews for
51
169
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When checking into this hotel, visitors need to understand this is a very old historic hotel. The floors slope, an elevator which only holds six people and a musty odor. Parking is located about two blocks away and the hotel offers a shuttle to and from the parking. The Hotel is right in the center of downtown Eureka Springs which makes downtown very accessible.

Room Tip: The thrid floor is haunted.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you decided to stay at our hotel. We appreciate your understanding that this is a historic property. We do our best to keep it up to date and properly maintained. The location is the best though!

We hope you will try our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stigler, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love the Basin Park. It feels like your in the center of everything. The hotel itself is comfortable and just what you would expect from a piece of living history. I appreciate that it has probably not changed that much in its hundred years of travelers. The dark hallways add to the mystique of the place. I still expect to see a ghost somewhere along the way,,,and don't miss the haunted tour. :)
At night you will probably hear the guest above you walking on the wood floors but the noise is not that bad. It's a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: The rooms with suites are worth the extra money unless your on a tight budget. If you stay on the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi and thanks for staying at the Basin Park Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry you didn't see a ghost. Most of our ghost activity is on the 3rd floor. It was the original top floor of the Perry House that burned down on the sight where the Basin Park Hotel is now. If you return to stay with us again, request a room on the 3rd floor and see what happens. Room 310 has been getting frequent reports of paranormal activity from guests who stay in that room.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everyone there was very helpful when we got married. They helped us out on finding the right location and making sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is located in the center of everything and it is all walking distance. Thanks for a great honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We try and make everyone's stay as memorable as yours was. Hopefully we'll see you back next year for your anniversary or even sooner if you're able to make it. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I want to say that I did not expect a modern hotel. That is part of the charm. However, for the price we paid on the weekend for a jacuzzi room, I did expect a bit more updates. The bed was comfortable. And the view was great. The location couldn't be better. I would stay again at the $100 dollar weekday rate, but I don't think I would spend the $215 for a weekend night again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your room, aside from the price. We try and keep our rates competitive and comparable for our location. Occasionally we do run weekend specials. Next time you might be considering staying at our hotel, call us or check our website for Hot Deals that we may be running. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a historical landmark in a historical city. Nice large room with historical details. Charming to look at, but the doors are original and totally not sound resistant. The drunks in the hall kept us up all night. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant is the best in town. Sometimes old is old.

Room Tip: Don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your room. I agree, the doors made in 1905 are not as sound resistant as new doors but it is part of the experience in staying in a hotel that is 108 years old. If you decide to stay with us again in the future and you have problems with unruly guests make sure you call the front desk. We have security on nightly to attend to matters such as drunks in the halls or anything else that may be troubling you throughout the night.

We hope to see you again in the future. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The only place going for this place is the location....old and dirty...no closet in room, no place to place anything in the bathrooms, old tv's...noise from park next door. We were put in a room next to the outdoor smoking area... The ashtrays were full of butts and empty beer cans . We ate at the balcony restaurant and had what is touted as the "best hamburger in Eureka Springs".....Ha ha...not even sure what the content of the meat was....will not be returning!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We're sorry for your recent disappointing experience at our hotel. We do our best to make every guests experience a positive one. We're sorry you won't be returning to give us another chance. In the future, when you have negative experiences in any hotel you're staying at, call the front desk and see if there's anyway to accommodate you better. We have 60 rooms in our property and I'm sure we could've found you one that you would've enjoyed more.

Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Serenity Spa, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. This tour is fun for the whole family and you will learn all about the towns heated founding. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Basin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.