We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and large portions of it are worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 1905 Basin Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Eureka Springs
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food and large portions of it are worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went on Memorial Day and the restaurant was very busy. We did not wait for our table on the patio at all...it was open seating. However, we DID wait approximately 2 hours at our table for our food, and kept saying that we hoped the food would be worth the wait.

It was. The patio was open seating, but we probably should have reserved ahead of time to avoid the wait. We didn't know about this hotel and that is why no reservations were made.

My advice: Reserve for this well-attended restaurant to enjoy the delicious food. I would recommend the chicken salad (it took us forever to eat it...we ate, and ate, and ate. BIG portion.) That salad comes with two other sides...cottage cheese and tropical fruit. We would also recommend the spinach and artichoke dip. That delicious dip comes with a flaky, homemade bread bowl that is to die for.

The salad was $9.99, and the artichoke dip was a little cheaper. EXCELLENT value for the money, for sure!

Room Tip: This review is for the restaurant only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Balcony Restaurant and Bar. We apologize for your wait on such a busy day, but are certainly pleased you enjoyed the food and the balcony seating. We look forward to seeing you again and encourage you to stop by any time you get hungry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    123
    68
    49
    47
See reviews for
51
167
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are on our honeymoon here now and I'm really glad that I looked at the reviews. I thought our bill sounded high when we prepaid for our stay when we arrived sun morning. They tack on "activities fees" $6.65 each day that you stay and $3.00 gratuity fees(a day). I asked what this was about and the front desk guy said it was for the tours and some of the unpaid staff Like the cooks in the resturant. We haven't even ate there. Ok what tours?? And we tip everyone that serves us...very well I might add. That's not fair at all to just take it out. So someone is getting double paid because, we already tip our room service and shuttle guys. What tour?? That info would have been nice at check in. I think its rude and crooked. As if this hotel doesn't make enough money. Instead of ripping off guests how about you pay your employees more. Lost power for over 3 hours last night....I'm so OVER the basin hotel. Back to b+bs we go.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you might have encountered while you were our guest. There could have been several reasons surrounding a power outage during your stay, and we are sorry you experienced discomfort during that time. We do include activity fees in the daily rates which are explained in the form of an activity pass upon guest arrival. These activity passes include free shuttle services anywhere in the downtown area, an internet pass code, a number of discounts to many of the Eureka Springs retail establishments, and two complimentary tickets to one of the two daily downtown historic tours. We also include a $3 gratuity fee in each guest's rate that is divided among employees who do not receive tips, such as housekeepers, cooks, and front desk personnel. These fees are strictly voluntary and can be removed from a guest's final bill upon request if he/she was not content with the service provided during his/her stay. We regret that your stay with us was unsatisfactory, but hope that you will reconsider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Basin Park is a destination everytime we travel to Eureka Springs. It's the history of the hotel, the casual, but attentive, quick staff, and comfortable period rooms that make ths hotel great. Visitors stroll from the street to venture to the balcony Basin Park Restaurant that is open in both the winter and summer. The restaurant has live music and great causal dining. I leave my husband and shop at times! Since the hotel is in the heart of Eureka Springs, it is definitely convenient. Shuttle service will be ready to take you to different sites, but there is so much to see and do, I've never been on one of the shuttles. Instead, we simply drive. We were last there in October and the Basin Park is always at the top of our list. Be prepared for steep hills, if you "explore" Eureka Springs!

Room Tip: Try to stay on the street side or at least the "southwest side." The back of the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your visits to the Basin Park Hotel in downtown Eureka Springs. Your encouraging comments regarding our staff, restaurant, and the comfort of the rooms will be passed on to the appropriate departments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband, son, granddaughter and I have stayed at the Basin Park Hotel on three different occasions, and it just keeps getting better and better with each visit. The rooms are lovely and reminiscent of a fondly remembered time in America. And when you walk outside your room, you are greeted by a wonderful, state-of-the art balcony restaurant that looks out over historic downtown Eureka Springs as well as the beautiful Ozark Mountains. There is a wide variety of food and the quality of the food and the service are excellent. In fact, the entire staff at the Basin Park Hotel is friendly and personable and eager to answer any and all questions. The hotel is situated right in the heart of town, but if you find an activity that is not within walking distance of the hotel, don't worry about having to move your car.....the hotel offers a free-of-charge shuttle service to and from just about any place you wish to go and see, including free access and shuttle service to the beautiful pool at its sister hotel in Eureka Springs, the Crescent Hotel. The Basin Park Hotel also offers massages which are heavenly! And for the kids, there are too many kids' activities and places for them to go than can be counted. Our 9 year old granddaughter had a blast the entire time we were there!
We found the Basin Park Hotel to be a gem in the middle of town, and because it is centrally-located, each time we visit we always feel that we are a big part of the Eureka Springs community, and we LOVE it! We heartily recommend the Basin Park Hotel to any and all visitors to this quaint, interesting and FUN town. The town is unique, and staying in the center of it at the Basin Park Hotel was the perfect touch to our entire visit. And the proof that we mean it? We already have another visit planned very soon, plus we look forward to many more visits to Eureka Springs and the beautiful BASIN PARK HOTEL!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms with hot tubs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking time to tell us about your experiences at the Basin Park Hotel. We are proud of our little "gem in the middle of town" and we thank you for enjoying its charms. We look forward to seeing you again very soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Basin Park Hotel. I stayed in a corner jacuzzi room, room 403. Great view, big jacuzzi and a public balcony right outside my door overlooking the Basin Spring Park. There is a complimentary shuttle service that will drive you around the downtown area and pick you up and take you to the hotel parking lot. The staff is really friendly unlike the uptight, stiff sort of employees you would find at a big chain hotel. The restaurant has a wide variety of savory meals to choose from that are reasonable priced. If you stay on the weekends (like I did) your room comes with a complimentary breakfast buffet with omelet station. There is also a cool rooftop bar with pool tables on the 6th floor. The location of the hotel is excellent. You just walk out the front door and all the shops, bars and restaurants are right there. When I asked about the activity charge on my bill, the front desk explained it to me. For $6.65 per night you get wifi, 2 historic tour tickets, discounts to local shops and access to the Crescent Hotel activities and pool. Plus the shuttle service that will drive you up there. I think that's a great deal for an extra $6.65 per night extra!

I read some of the other reviews people have posted about the Basin before I chose to stay there and decided to give it a shot. I've came to the realization after staying there myself that the negative reviews are coming from people who are used to staying at the Embassy Suites or something. This is a historic hotel. You have to expect a little noise and antique furniture. Some people just can't be pleased though. I was very pleased. It was a unique experience and will return again. I'll also recommend the Basin Park Hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Get a King jacuzzi room or a King Suite. They are both on either corners of the hotel with great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the historic Basin Park Hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to the Basin Park where the most FUN happens in downtown Eureka Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Avoid the 5th floor , and the 4th floor if a wedding is scheduled that day. For a vintage hotel, it's nice, but if you want the comforts of modern hotels, you will be a little disappointed. Problems we encountered were addressed, the next day. I didn't rest well due to noisy conditions above my room. Breakfast buffet was pretty good. Parking is done by shuttle, so don't be in a hurry to get in/out to your car...and it doesn't run after 11PM.

Room Tip: avoid 4th and 5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sincerely glad you enjoyed the vintage ambiance of our historic hotel. We are also glad to know that any problems you encountered were addressed by the staff on hand at the time of your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay due to the approximation of your room to the hotel bar, as it can be a bit noisy. We want to make sure that your next night with us provides a good night's rest. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my now husband stayed here 4-22-13. Thought this would be a great place to start our honeymoon.....WRONG!!!!! Our room was horrible! Couldnt close the bathroom door, bed was hard as a rock, this place has NOT been maintained. Went to the lucky 7 bar on the top floor and as i ranback down to our room my fiance stayed to get us drinks, when i got back up there the bartender hadnt even awknowledged him so i sat down and after another 5 min or so she finally asked us what we wanted. So we ordered a captain and coke, for a short cocktail we paid over $6 and there wasnt any alcohol in it. Tried finding the hot tub on the balcony and never did find the enterance. I will say the shuttle drivers were very nice, other than that....THIS PLACE SUCKED AND WE WILL NOT BE BACK!!!! Waste of TIME & MONEY!

Room Tip: Go to Sugar Ridge Resort it worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your visit. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. The review of your unsatisfactory experience with service in the Lucky 7 Rooftop Billiards bar will be reported to the appropriate department as we welcome suggestions for improvements. We are sorry your room did not meet your expectations for your honeymoon stay. Because the property is a historic building, we have and maintain most of the original furnishings, including doors such as the one you encountered difficulties with, in order to embrace the culture and character of the building. We have two full time maintenance employees and an executive housekeeper who consistently work toward room improvements. We are happy to know that our shuttle drivers provided hospitable service for you and your husband. We hope that you will reconsider and visit the Basin Park again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Serenity Spa, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. This tour is fun for the whole family and you will learn all about the towns heated founding. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Basin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;