We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost tour weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1905 Basin Park Hotel to your Saves list
1905 Basin Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ghost tour weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

It is an old hotel with lots of history.
The shuttle van and crew are awesome, they were friendly and informative
The front desk help was below average, they just never acted like they really wanted to help
The help in each bar was very good, the food was great and the price was good
The ghost tour was fun, it needed to be a little longer, our host for the tour was really fun
Great location, right downtown, really convenient

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and your ghost tour. Your review regarding the front desk is noted and will be taken further. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    132
    72
    50
    48
See reviews for
56
187
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile



October 26, 2012

Sir and/or Madam:

I would like to share with you our experience during our stay at the Basin Park Hotel in Eureka Springs, Arkansas. The dates of our stay are 10/24 thru 10/26. I am not a world traveller, so please bear with my parochial review of my stay.

The restaurant in the hotel served very good food. The service was great. The Spa service was restful and a treat for us. However:

Our room 501 was spartan. I understand it is a historic hotel. We have stayed in other historic hotels, but this was not what we expected from a Magnusun Grand Hotel Property.

The television took up the majority of the living space, with the exception of the bed

The water was so hot, it was scalding. To mix the cold and hot water together produced inconsistent and constantly changing temperatures at the hand sink and the shower while in use.

The bathroom had no space for toiletries, so the window sill had to be used. This caused the blinds to remain up exposing anyone entering the bathroom to the outside. I secured a paper clip from your desk staff in order to clip the two curtains hanging at the side of the bathroom window closed to provide some privacy.

The wall in the bathroom contained a large crumbling hole below the tub.

During our first afternoon, I called to the desk to ask for a chair for our room. There was one chair, but there were two of us in the room. I didn't think this was an unreasonable request. We were told they would look for a chair. Later, after returning from supper and finding no chair, we asked again. We were told we probably wouldn't get a chair, other than a card table chair. Interestingly, we checked out other places in the Hotel and found rows upon rows of large upholstered chairs. The spa area must have at least 20 being unused. The ballroom has at least 50 sitting around unused. We never received the card table chair.

Because our room faced west, it was rather warm upon our entry into the room. We turned on the window AC unit. After four hours, the room was cool with the aid of the ceiling fan and the sun setting. At 10 pm, the AC unit froze creating a horrible grinding noise. We turned the AC unit to fan, which made the ice build up melt to a horrible racket. We turned it off.

During this restful stay, we discover the hotel was host to a billiard tournament being held just above our room. I really don't think I can describe the shuttering sounds coming from above our heads.

The AC and the noise were reported at 10 pm to the desk. I was informed that I should have been aware of the tournament upon checking in. I was not. Not sure exactly how I was to divine this information. I was then informed the noise would stop in a few minutes, because they were just finishing up. Would I like another room. We chose to remain in this room since the move into another room would have been a huge inconvenience of repacking all of our "stuff". The tournament finally ended at 1030 pm.

The next night we were treated to a galloping bridal rehearsal and reception above our heads. Once again, we were informed we should have been aware of this when we checked in. I guess I didn't get the memo!

Nothing was ever done about the AC.

The wireless Internet connection was nonexistent - tried connecting from the room, the hall outside the room, the bathroom, inside the tub, the lobby, the stairway...no connection...and yes, we had the pass code.

After reviewing your web page, the pictures, and the "high tech" claims, I have yet to discover anything coming close to the accommodations offered by our room. This is deceptive. You should be ashamed.

I have already paid for a LivingSocial package deal to use at the Basin some time from December to February. If I cannot cancel it, I will take the loss. We will never stay at the Basin EVER again.

Sincerely,
Geraldine Morgan
St.Louis, Missouri

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. We hope that in the future you will allow us to improve your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A nice hotel with a history attached to it. Great location, right in middle of the town.
I opted for a 2 night package & pretty happy with everything except the location of the room I was given.
I stayed in "Joe Park Hill Suite" (Queen Bed Jacuzzi Suite) & it was a great room to stay if it was not located below the restaurant floor (1st Floor). A Nice room with good amenities but there was lot of noise due to people walking on the restaurant floor. The noise goes on day & night and if you have been there for romantic time, romance is totally spoiled by these creaking noise of the ceiling.
The hotel is great & they have a good restaurant. The best part of the hotel is it location. You are right at the market and if you are street photographer, I am sure you will love the location of the hotel.
We opted for Serenity Spa service & they are excellent.
I would recommend this hotel but with an exception to avoid any room below the restaurant floor (1st Floor).

Room Tip: Avoid any room below the restaurant floor (1st Floor). Note: Reception floor is called as Floor 0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused due to the location and noise of your room. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was a great place for a quick weekend with the girls and the spa was nice extra. We were able to work to all the local restaurants and bars in the evening, plus shop our hearts out. There is a really cool little coffee shop across the street that serves the best Chi I have had in a long time. I bought some sage at a local shop to "cleanse the room" because the hotel is supposed to be haunted, and I ended up stinking up the whole floor lol, but it was lots of fun! I would defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the spa package when you book, you will save money if you planned on getting a massage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you and the girls had so much fun. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Old historic hotel right in the middle of downtown. Everything is relatively close so walking is a must. Hotel might need a little renovation (lobby area) but it was nice nonetheless. Rooms are very large but bathrooms are tiny but enough. We loved the overall charm of the historic "feel" of the place. Liked the outdoor balcony restaurant as well. The front desk staff needs to be more "attentive". They offered little to no help (restaurants open/hours, etc) even when asked questions about the area. The shuttle service is a blessing. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You review about the front desk is noted and will be taken further. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We're fans of the nicer hotel chains, but in order to stay downtown, we opted for a historic hotel, and it was quite different than most of our stays. Go into it with an open mind....accept the creaky floors, thin walls, low water pressure...and just enjoy the whole atmosphere of a historic hotel in a charming setting. The bed and bedding were luxurious, the TV adequate, and the location was exceptional. We loved being in the center of town and walking to the unique boutiques and small cafe's. Thanks to TripAdvisor, I knew in advance the parking lot was a few blocks from the hotel, so that different bother us. We walked back and forth several times even though the shuttle was free. We had a lot of laughs going up and down those hills! We enjoyed the balcony bar and restaurant of the hotel and visited the billiards room once, but it was very smoky despite the small crowd. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to alert guests to the availability of breakfast. The staff was cordial if we asked a question but never volunteered any information. Also, this town seems to be a "Thursday, Friday, Saturday" location; several places were closed Monday, Tuesday and/or Wednesday, which were the days we stayed there.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, which was nice since the elevator only held six people at a time a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and so many of our amenities. Your breakfast review is noted and will be taken further. We do apologize for the fact that our "weekends" fall during the week here in Eureka due to the high volume on the weekends themselves. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus, MO
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First of all we were very excited to be going on the ghost tour. The group ended up being very large. There was a small group of people that came together and decided to be loud, obnoxious and rude the entire time. Why would you waste money on this to act like that? These people were middle aged adults, but were acting like teenagers. The tour guide should have asked them to leave, but she was a nice older lady and probably didn't want to cause a disturbance, but it ruined the experience for everyone else. Many other people on the tour complained about these people, and everyone was just interested in getting this over with, so we could get away from them. It was just money down the drain as far as I'm conerned. Group should have been smaller too, for a better experience.

Room Tip: According to the ghost tour, the 3rd floor is haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of others during your ghost tour. Your tour size review is noted and will be taken further. We hope that you return in the near future in hopes that we can improve your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#15 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Serenity Spa, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. This tour is fun for the whole family and you will learn all about the towns heated founding. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Basin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.