We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy H” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Prospect Ave., Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
woodbury, mn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sandy H”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the 1886 Crescent for a wedding last weekend. The grounds for the wedding were beautiful. We loved discovering the quaint town of Eureka Springs and appreciated the shuttle back and forth from the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was very small. Enjoyed the omelets, but there was no fruit at all on the buffet.
Our room was very nice and included a king size bed, large jacuzzi tub and free wifi (but we had occasional trouble logging in)
The steak house was closed due to weddings and we didn't realize there was a bar until the second night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Historic 1886 Crescent Hotel and Spa. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the lovely Town of Eureka Springs. The shuttle which is a great way to get to and from the downtown shopping area once you arrive at the Hotel.
We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and omelet station as well as the Pizza Sky Bar located on the 4th floor and we hope to have you folks as return guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    316
    133
    106
    76
See reviews for
234
543
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McLoud, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We drove 5 hours for a quick one night getaway at the Crescent. We enjoyed the fall weather and scenery and felt relaxed as soon as we checked in. Our room was turn of the century but updated, very very clean and a big comfy king bed, flat screen tv and an amazing claw foot tub that i wasnt expecting. This was just the regular room, next time we will get one with a balcony.
Soo relaxing here - no loud people in the halls, just serene. We got the ghost tour package. Enjoyed drinks up on the balcony of the bar. Was disappointed the steakhouse was closed on Sunday, but was advised of the one at the Grand Tavern on Main st - and it was amazing!
We did the ghost tour, which was really kind of quirky fun - not scary, but interestingly creepy.
All of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was very good as well.
The only thing I noticed that needed attention was some cleaning around the public places, but this is not surprising for these old hotels. Could use a daily sweeping on the porches and stair areas- and a little dusting and cleaning around windows and trim in the dining room. I would expect that for the rates they charge. Its expensive, but if you love the old time charm like we do, it was worth it. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: go for a balcony if you can afford to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the 1886 Crescent Hotel and Spa. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us as well as your room and it's amenities. The claw foot tubs are very unique. We apologize that the 1886 Steakhouse was closed for a private event during your stay, however we are happy to see that you took time to enjoy drinks at the Pizza Sky Bar Located on the 4th Floor as well as a great dinner at the Grand Tavern located downtown. Management has been notified about the cleanliness issues in the public area and changes have been made. We hope to have you folks back as return guest to enjoy the History of the Crescent Hotel and keeping it's Spirit alive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel and grounds are great to look at, but I'm not sure it's worth the price of a stay. We booked our stay on the hotel's website, which was supposed to include a free voucher for their breakfast buffet. We weren't given a voucher upon arrival, and when we asked the next morning, we were told that we had booked our room through Expedia, so no voucher. Paid a little over $20 for a so-so breakfast (our waitress was very nice, however, as were all the staff we met). The hot tub, advertised as open until 10 pm, was closed, they supposedly have Wi-Fi but I could never logon from our room. I say stay at the Palace or someplace else and walk to the top of the hill to see this faded relic of an age gone by, but it's not worth $150/night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel and Spa, we appreciate you taking the time. Breakfast is included for 2 Guests in the Crystal Dining Room if you book through our website. If you book through a 3rd party website like Expedia the breakfast if not included because you have booked at a discounted rate. We apologize for any misunderstanding. We were having some issues with our Hot Tub in the month of October and we apologize for any inconveniences, however it is up and running at this time. We offer WIFI in all of our guests rooms and if at anytime during your stay you are having problems logging in please let the Staff at the Front Desk know and they will take care of the problem right away. We're glad that you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I hadn't been in this hotel since the 1990s when the carpet were literally threadbare. I was pleased that updating had occurred. We were there for Corvette Weekend and had a large suite. The lobby is charming. The elevator was not working the weekend we were there so that was a problem for some guests. We enjoyed taking the Ghost Tour and had our own haunting one night. I awoke at 3am because my cell phone blue light was flashing. I thought it was simply indicating a message. The odd part was that it was projecting a single ribbon of light onto the ceiling, then the beam of light took a right angle, projected across the entire length of the ceiling, then took another right angle down the other wall. We've since spoken to two other couples who had "paranormal" experiences there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel and Spa.
We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we're happy to hear that you are a repeat guest. We are consistently renovating the hotel as well as the guest rooms. We apologize that the elevator was temporarily down during your stay. At this time we have a fully operating elevator as well as a Bellman that's always happy to carry your luggage. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the Nightly Ghost Tour as well as some possible "paranormal" experiences and hope to have you as repeat guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Was part of a wedding here recently. Make no mistake...do NOT count on the wedding coordinator to help with your wedding! The wedding help is no where to be found unless summoned and even then they act like you are a major inconvenience for asking for help. The 4th floor terrace with the bar and grill is quite nice with a neat view. Other than that, the rooms are in disrepair. Shower water changed from hot to cold at will. Food is below par and the customer service just seems completely apathetic. The nightly rate is more than three times what you should be paying for what you're getting. The "haunted" history is a fun idea...just know that you could walk out of your room at 10pm at night to the sights and sounds of 20 people staring at you because they are on tour outside your door.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that has been recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your candid comments about your stay with us. We have a Wedding Sales Manager here at the hotel to help you with the beginning stages of setting up your wedding, room information as well as options for receptions and dining. They are on call the day of the wedding to help with information as needed. We're glad you enjoyed the 4th floor Pizza Sky Bar as well as the lovely views. October is the busiest month at the Hotel and we apologize for any inconveniences from the nightly Ghost Tour. Please keep in mind we are a Historic Hotel that is 127 years old and we are consistently undergoing renovations so that future guests may enjoy our hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel needs a serious make-over. It's too bad because it has so much potential, and the grounds and views are beautiful. But the hotel building inside and outside are just old and run down.

We arrived close to midnight. The front desk guy was grumpy and at first could not find our reservation. I wish he really couldn't find it as we would've stayed elsewhere. We just drove from Dallas and were tired ourselves but he was grumpy even when we tried to be friendly. Didn't even say anything when I said good night to him.

We were given the most dysfunctional room. It was small. The sink was outside of the bathroom with no counter space. The faucet was short and hard to get water. Bathroom was narrow and hard to move around in. Room had no closet and no functioning drawer. We came for a wedding and had no place to hang our clothes. Furniture are supposed to be antique I guess but just looked like second hand from Goodwill. The sink, couch and desk all took up most of the room space so my husband and I couldn't move around without bumping into each other. There was a TV but positioned awkwardly above the chest in an angle that makes it impossible to watch. The worst thing was the air conditioner. It was literally next to one side of the bed. I don't think most people can sleep with the AC/heater blowing right next to them. The night air outside was cool & crisp and we'd have liked to open the windows instead, but all the windows are locked and nailed shut. And without the AC the room was hot and stuffy. I piled pillows next to me to block off the AC air. We decided that we would check out the next morning. (We peeked into other rooms the next morning when maids were cleaning, and most rooms seem to have the AC/heater right next to the bed).

Breakfast next day did not inspire confidence. The wait staff looked dour, except for the omelet guy. He was very nice and upbeat. Food was mediocre.

Front desk staff next day was lot nicer than the night shift guy, and offered to upgrade us to their "suite" when we said we wanted to check out. The suite actually had many problems but it was much more spacious, had a closet, and the bathroom lights were bright, which made things functional enough so we decided to stay instead of losing an additional night's fee (as early check out penalty). But problems were many: room was super dim & dark; there was a closet to hang stuff but no hangers; no drawers so you're still living out of the suitcases; not many outlets and you had to look for them like Easter Egg Hunt. Hair dryer worked but every time you turn it off you have to wait 2 mins for it to cool off before it works again. Shower pressure sucked, and not enough bathroom counter space. Internet comes and goes and sometimes needed rebooting by the staff. Furniture again looked old and worn (maybe dirty, last clean might have been 1931). Not comfortable to sit on anyway. Worst part was the bed mattress. Extremely uncomfortable. Husband and I both woke up with back and neck pain both nights we stayed in this room.

The hotel interior was just depressing. Dark dim hallways. I realize that renovating it probably will take at least a million dollars since the hotel is big, but I keep thinking there are little things they can do to improve guest experience, like adding some fixture to the shower for holding bath products, brighter lights, a new brighter color paint job, etc.

Everything is pretty much self-help here. Bell hops are there but they don't help with getting luggage in and out of rooms. No laundry service and no press service, which is weird since so many people stay for attending weddings. (But it seems all local hotels don't offer laundry and press services -- Best Western might, not sure).

One good thing about this place is the spa. The spa rooms have been renovated and it's bright and cheery in there. Spa is full serviced and staff and services were excellent. They sell Aveda products and a full line of make-up as well (very helpful to bridal parties and guests, which I believe make up of most guests here).

On weekend when there are weddings going on, the guests and crowd do create a very happy mood. The Saturday when we stayed they had 2 weddings (one of which we attended, and I must say the ball room looked elegant and fantastic). Also outside guests came for the ghost tour and ghost talks and performances, plus other guests hanging out in the restaurant. All the going-ons made the hotel atmosphere quite festive.

I would not recommend a stay here. The staff service improved after the first night and morning, but beyond that, it's not worth the money. It cost close to US $200 per night here and that's a special rate for wedding guests--not cheap. Incidentally, based on feedback from our friends staying at other local hotels in the area, it seems that the Crescent standard is pretty much the standard everywhere. What I'd recommend is that you stay at one of the Best Western's if you come to Eureka Springs. They are half the price of what we paid. It's one of the few chain hotels in Eureka Springs and has the best reputation among the chains in the area. Since it's a chain I assume they will at least be of the standard normally expected of a Best Western hotel. If I'd known better, I would have booked the Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your very candid review of the Historic 1886 Crescent Hotel. We appreciate your honest opinions of the hotel and of your stay. Our Historic Hotel is 127 years old and is consistently undergoing renovations so that our future guests can enjoy the preservation of history. We apologize for the attitude of the night auditor when you checked in and he has now been trained to handle a late check in with a better attitude and a smile. Our rooms are all unique to the design and each one is different in it's own way and some are bigger than others. As noted later in your review once you let the front desk know that you were unhappy with your room they offered to move you to another room right away. We're glad you enjoyed your services in the New Moon Spa and the wonderful views of the mountains. We understand that our Historic Hotel may not accommodate all guest in a way that they would like and that at times a chain hotel would be more to their liking. However, our employees take a lot of pride, care and consideration in the Hotel and it's guests and always strive to do our best. All guests regardless if they are here for a wedding, a spa day, to enjoy the ghost tour or just for a quick get away are treated with the same respect. Our department managers have been notified and corrections have been made so that we may better serve our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My sis, niece and I visited the Crescent in June. It was so great that we came back again with my niece's little friend at the end of July. Again, we had a great stay. The staff was professional and helpful. The room and hotel were clean and beautiful. The pool was nice and clean. The girls had mini manis/pedis done in the New Moon Spa downstairs and it was a great experience for them. We didn't eat breakfast in the Crystal Dining room as we had last time, but only because we slept in too late and didn't have time. I can not stress enough how beautiful this property is and how great the staff is. We are already planning another trip! Good job Crescent Hotel!!!! :D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel and Spa.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to have you and your family as repeat guest to our hotel. We have a caring staff that takes a lot of pride in guest service and works hard to keep the Spirit of the Crescent alive! We're glad to hear that you also enjoyed your services in our Lovely Spa, The New Moon Spa located on the Garden Level. Can't wait to have you folks back to enjoy the Crescent Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 75 Prospect Ave., Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.