We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better all the time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Prospect Ave., Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Eureka Springs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Getting better all the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been going to this hotel
Since I was a teen- it used to be amazing... then went to a little mediocre and now is on the rise again... I love the crazy history and the rooms with the balconies on the back. My previous stay the ceiling caved in from a water leak in the bathroom- so they gave me a certificate to stay again- so after 6 months- just went back... And stayed in the same room... Lol.. And everything was repaired and enjoyed the visit... The spa is awesome and the food can be upgraded a bit... But I will only stay here- because it is the most haunted hotel in America...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you are seeing improvement in the hotel and that you were able to return and enjoy your time here. Your reviews are noted and will be taken further. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    277
    114
    94
    70
See reviews for
211
486
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was Halloween, so I cannot write a review of the restaurant as it was closed. The rooms are all different, size, colors, furniture. Window units for heat and air worked well. Ghost tours over early and it was very quiet and we slept in late. Very clean rooms. Elevator still does not work, but the large original staircase was easy for us to get to the top floor. Staff was very friendly. Lovely grounds. Spa is beautiful but the services were sub par (I hate to say it, but don't expect much). I had anticipated much better treatments and was looking forward to my afternoon. There are some great restaurants close by and it is easy to get into town. The bar on the top floor has a balcony with a view of the statue of Jesus.

Room Tip: Ask to look at some and pick one you like as they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your Halloween night with us. We apologize about the service received from the spa and your review is noted and will be taken further. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Crescent is an icon and a very old hotel. We chose to get married there. We booked the wedding through the hotel, but were never able to ask about location for the ceremony or contacted by anyone. The service was horrible in every aspect. They do public ghost tours, so the hotel is full all evening and night with others.. During our ceremony we had 40 onlookers, some even heckling. The restaurant shut down one night to accommodate a huge rowdy group. There were people in that group that were very inappropriate and they were all over the hotel all weekend. Loud, screaming and cussing, some were 6 in a room, and they had at least 20 crying children.. The elevator was still not working and we were on the 4th floor. Very costly and very disappointing. As well, I don't get married often !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of the ghost tour during your wedding. Assuming you were a smaller wedding you were given a welcome packet upon arrival that mapped out all of the intimate wedding locations that were available. After you booked with your sales manager, your wedding was then passed to your minister who directed you in the direction of your choice. We apologize for the bigger wedding in the hotel and any inconvenience they caused to you. We are currently replacing the elevator completely for your safety and convenience in the near future. We look forward to improving your opinion on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineville mo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in room 206 at the Crescent Hotel on Oct. 28th and she is a grand old lady rich in history. The hotel has been refinished to look like she did back in her heyday. If you are looking for grand furnishings and sparkle with everything looking new and pristine this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a peek into the past and a grand lady then this is the hotel for you. The staircase creaks and groans and I could hear people talking in the hallway from our room, but our hallway was pretty quiet after bedtime. My room had two beds in it and my only complaint is the first bed was so close to the door that it made it hard to get my one little suitcase into the room. The room was nice and comfortable with antiques in it. The beds were a little hard but comfy enough, the bathroom had a blowdryer in it and they supplied a great smelling lotion, body wash, and shampoo. I took a late night shower and tried to run it out of hot water and couldn't. Over all I feel the room was clean and comfy, but there wasn't a fridge or microwave in our room. We did the ghost tour which was fun and informative. They give you the history of Eureka Springs, the hotel, and then they take you around to the rooms that are claimed to be the most haunted. Of course you can't go in due to the rooms being rented but it is still a blast to hear the claims associated with the room. We got to go into what used to be the morgue when the hotel was a cancer center, and it was creepy. It would be great if they would remodel it to the morgue it used to be. They do still have the gut table there but the rest of it is used for storage and things. It was a true blast and I would do the tour again in a heartbeat. Our room didn't have any stories tied to it and unfortunately no ghost came to play with us in our room. My friend and I did go back and try to find some paranormal evidence in the hallways until 4 am. We did get some pretty cool pictures and did have some strange things happen on the ghost tour. For a great adventure I highly recommend giving this hotel a try.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you were pleased with your stay and some of the amenities offered as well. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cons:
We stayed for two nights and had to switch rooms for the second night due to maintenance. Jacuzzi was not open which was a bummer since it was only fall.
Most of the staff is young which can be nice since they don't looked all jaded, but they also are lacking the professionalism of adults in the communication department. If you call from your room for something they might forget to bring it up, so call again (it happened twice)
The dinner house is a bit underwhelming, you know they ae trying to be gourmet, but the recipies are a little cheap seeming, the waitstaff was nice and professional but a little slow since we were one out of two tables in the whole place.
Pros:
The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfy, the hotel was quiet and we enjoyed our stay.
They have a free shuttle, free breakfast, cupons for spa and dinner house, and a free parking lot in town. This place is great if you are in Eureka Springs. Our first room had a wonderful jet bathtub so we were sad when we had to leave it behind for a room without the second night.
The balcony is fantastic for having some tea and reading the paper in the morning. Take the tourist walk to town or try the little path to the left of the hotel which takes you down a lovely tree lined moment with nature. The breakfast was fine, a bit greasy, but filling and complimentary.

Room Tip: I am pretty sure as of right now Room 221 is a secret. If you get a King room it is the only one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and so many of the amenities we have to offer. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the bellman not bringing up request on the first try. Your review is noted and will be taken further as well as the Steakhouse reviews. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I went for our wedding anniversary and the place was better than we anticipated! The beds were extremely comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful, breakfast was delicious, the hotel and historic district below has to be seen to be believed! It is absolutely beautiful!

I suppose some rooms might be considered to be on the small side (as other reviews are quick to point out), but the room we stayed in was a perfect size for us and our pets (yes, they allow some pets for an extra fee, a big plus for us) and the high ceilings helped add a feeling of spaciousness to the place. Honestly though, there's so much to do and see that you really don't want to stay in your room for too long!

And about the ghosts... we didn't realize the hotel was purported to be haunted until we got there. We took the fun ghost tour and tried our hand at ghost hunting. We actually came up with some interesting tidbits that we posted on YouTube (GhouledKS, Crescent Hotel Ghosts) if you're interested that sort of thing. : )

Room Tip: If you're worried about the elevator, book a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and some of our amenities offered. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel. We stayed in a King Balcony Room (Room 314) which had a very nice view from a shared balcony. The room was ok in looks & in size but I had a difficult time getting out of bed from my side due to the radiator (and I am a small person). I think a queen bed would work better in the space. The room was clean and bed was comfortable, but please please please Crescent, put a small chair in the room so there is a place to sit & put shoes on without falling over. The hotel's common areas, grounds and being a short walk to the town were all a plus. The hotel should tell you about the $10/night resort fee and the $5/night service gratuity. I was leaving housekeeping a tip not realizing they were also going to bill me for it. We ate at the 1886 Steakhouse for dinner, my husband had the 10 oz filet and I had the seared tuna and we both enjoyed the dinner. It was probably more that we usually spend, but my seared tuna was excellent. For dinner, we also enjoyed Ermilios (very busy) and Rogue's Manor. Overall we enjoyed the hotel and it’s a great place but don't go there expecting some luxury resort. AAA rates it a three diamond, not a four diamond hotel. It is an old hotel so with all its charm always comes some inconveniences (I agree with a prior reviewer regarding the water going back & forth from hot to cold which made washing my hair a challenge) . Things to do: Must see! Drive about an hour to Branson and go to the Titanic Museum. It is self guided and they say it takes a minimum of 1 1/2 hrs, but my husband and I were there for almost 4 hours. It was very well done and interesting. Also, go to Crystal Bridges Museum (great free American art museum in Bentonville) and stop at the Pea Ridge Military Park along the way. Make sure you watch the 1/2 hr film before you drive through. Eureka Springs is a beautiful town and we were lucky enough to see fall foliage and have 70 degree temperatures.

Room Tip: Ask for room that over looks valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and so many of the surrounding amenities. Your review about the chair is noted and will be taken further. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel & Spa
Crescent Eureka Springs
Address: 75 Prospect Ave., Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
#12 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.