We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Taverne

The Grand Taverne
37 North Main Street, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
800-344-6050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 120 Restaurants in Eureka Springs
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Elegent, Gourmet CuisineAll food is created from scratch beginning with Chef Dave Gilderson's balcony herb garden. The bread is baked fresh daily. We also serve our own gourmet specialized coffee.Unforgettable cuisine with elegant presentations creates a memorable upscale dining occasion for even the most discriminating. Treat the one you love to a romantic dinner by candlelight!Open nightly from 5pm-9pm
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went to The Grand Tavern Hotel and Restaraunt for my birthday this weekend. It is lovely and ecclectic in its decor and dining area though starting to show its wear. The wait staff was friendly and knowledgable about the menu and wine. I very much enjoyed the Mark West Pinot Noir. We started with the Tuna Carpacio and the Seafood Bisque. The bisque was wonderful but the tuna was tasteless and I had to eat each bite with a heavy helping of the slaw to give it any flavor. The bread was nice, almost like a cornbread in its gritty and crumbly texture. My husband ordered the flat iron steak with was very tasty but the red lentil encrusted walleye was again pretty bland and tasteless. We did not order dessert. The bill was just over $120 with tip. We won't go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at The Grand Taverne, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. Being in a historic hotel, it is inevitable to show some wear. I can guarantee you that your environment was clean and classy. Not sure what we can or want to do about that as the overwhelming majority of our patrons go on and on about how they like the ambiance. We are glad you liked the Mark West, the bisque, and flat-iron. The Walleye and Tuna are both typically very popular, however it appears they were sub-par, at least for your taste, that particular evening. I will bring it to the Chef's attention. Keep in mind that it is always most helpful to and more productive to address situations on the spot so they can be corrected and we would have happily taken the items you weren't satisfied with off your bill or replaced them. Once again thank you for taking time to provide this ever so valuable feedback and all the best in your future dining endeavors.

Dustin
Grand Taverne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    30
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Best meal ever in Eureka Springs! Today we had lunch at Grand Central Hotel restaurant, The Grand Taverne. Ahhhmazing. Buffalo mozzarella with prosciutto and roasted red pepper tapenade - yummy. Grilled romaine salad with balsamic caesar dressing - may be the best salad I've EVER had. Turkey bacon avocado croissant sandwich - delish. Maytag blue cheese burger - heaven. Dinner can be pricey at this location, but lunch is a bargain. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at The Grand Taverne, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch yesterday and please come back and see us again soon!

Thanks again.

Dustin
Grand Taverne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“About the owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I agree with one of the last people that commented. The owner kind of freaks me out too. He sets at the bar and makes it uncomfortable for anyone else to set in there. You sure don't want to comment on any food or service because he is three feet away watching sports. You don't want to have a conversation because you feel like he is listening in.

The food is good and the wait staff is great. Just send the owner some where else and let us enjoy our meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at The Grand Taverne, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. This issue has been brought to the owners' attention and we are doing our best to correct it.

All the best,
Dustin
Grand Taverne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Long time customer reveiw”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I put my rating right in the middle, because there are defienet strong and week points of this
restaurant.
If you could get the owners to just go away and let the usualy wonderful staff just do there job I would give this restaurant 4 1/2 stars. The staff is wonderfull and always willing to make you happy, food is good & the atmosphere ok.the owners have no common sense. Examples We had a small reception there, everything was perfect until it came
time to serve the cake, everyone was serverd the beuatiful cake we had specially made and brought in including the owner & a few others in the back. (Tacky)? And if you could get the husband to step away from the tv at the bar so the patrons could sit down that would be great!!! Just a little common sense would go a long way in making this restaurant so much beter just go away owners and let your wonderfully appropriat staff do there job!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at The Grand Taverne, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry there was a problem with the atmosphere and owner behavior and I will bring it to the owners' attention. We really appreciate your feedback. I will pass on the compliments to the staff and let the owners know.

All the best,

Dustin
Grand Taverne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Over-priced and under-cooked. Went here for 10 yr wedding anniversary... Heard this was "the nicest in town". Waitress and ambience were good, but the food was not. Scallops, 3 of them for $11, were ice cold in the middle as was the fish in the night's special, some hawaiin deal for $36. Lamb tasted good but again, seemed luke warm, $35. The waitress was helpful and willing to "fix it" but when you charge so much it should be done right the first time. It also took a very long time to get our entrees even though it was not busy and we are familiar w/ normal wait times. They tried to offer a free dessert to make up for their mistakes, no thanks...check please. Every other place we've eaten at in E.S. has been amazing but this place was a real disappointment. Will not recommend or return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at The Grand Taverne, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for the review. I would like to apologize for the disappointment. Our scallops are very popular and the Escolar from Hawaii is a requested favorite. Not sure what happened but it is totally out of character. I will bring it to the Chef's and staff's attention in hopes to avoid this from happening again. We wish you all the best in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Dustin
Grand Taverne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Taverne also viewed

 

Been to The Grand Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Taverne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.