We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new yearly trip for our family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging
Save Saved
You added Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging to your Saves list
239 Turpentine Creek Lane, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Lee's Summit, MO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A new yearly trip for our family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband surprised me for our 4th anniversary by taking me to TCWR and it is my new fav! I love animals so we stayed in one of the adults only rooms that was a great idea for the middle of Arkansas. We couldn't see the cats at night like the family room but you can hear them none the less. We had an open pass to come and go as we pleased before and after hours. All the staff was so great to talk to us and let us know their daily routines. And the best part is that all the money with the exception of small amount of utility cost goes to the animals. Even if you can't stay it is a beautiful place to take your family and friends so they can be educated about the different kinds of animals. Definitely try to go around feeding time to see the difference in their demeanor! Great place and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at TCWR for 2 nights in June 2009 visiting 4 cats I had previously worked with at a zoo in upstate New York. When the owners retired, TCWR came and took our two leopards and two tigers in May 2008. I stayed in the "green room" and got to watch several tigers up close outside my window. The room was great and had everything I needed. The hospitality of the staffers was fantastic but the best, besides visiting my cats, was the singing of the lions and tigers at dusk. A few would sing in the morning but they were very vocal as the sun was setting. And Cheyenne, the coyote, did a bit of singing herself. I couldn't have asked for a better vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We visit Turpentine Creek at least once a year and have long wanted to stay overnight. We spent two nights in November in the Blue Room. The room is nicely decorated and has a mini fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. Just outside our front door were Cheyenne the coyote and Kitten the tiger. Three lovely lady tigers live next to the green room, at the other end of the porch. And next to them is our favorite senior male tiger - Sherman, a huge Siberian.

It is an amazing experience to walk out the door in the morning and be greeted by a tiger! And we will never forget hearing the animals "talking and growling" at night. Incredible! We cannot wait to go back. The staff at Turpentine Creek do a wonderful job. Be sure to take a tour of the habitats when you visit. A great thing about staying at Bed and Big Cats is that you get to wander around the habitats and compound at your leisure (except at night of course). Stay in the Blue or Green room so you can hear and be closer to the animals.

We cannot say enough good things about Turpentine Creek. Be sure and visit them on the web and watch the podcasts!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We recently stayed two nights at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge for my mom's birthday and it was great. We stayed in the blue room with our 2 young kids and given the amount of crying when we left affirmed we had made a great decision to stay there. Cheyenne the Coyote and Kitten the tiger were right outside our door and were great to watch. We took the tour and it was great as well. Make sure you stick around until 4:30 or so to watch the feeding.

The staff was gracious and very appreciative of our visit. It's great to stay somewhere and know that your money is going towards helping these animals.

Room Tip: Stay in the green or blue room if you want to hear the cats at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My friends and I stayed in the Congo room for one night during a trip to Arkansas. The accomodations were exactly as billed on their website. It was beautifully decorated, had all ammenities a traveler could want, and the bonus was hearing the animals at night. As guests we were also allowed to walk part of the property near the animals. We sat on a bench and just listened up close for about a half an hour and then returned to the Congo room where we sat on the back deck enjoying the sounds and sights of a storm rolling in. If I return to Arkansas, I definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottesmith, Owner at Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you so much for the reference "Africa in the Ozarks". We are using it on our billboards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Visited there many times and have many nice pictures of the beautiful Tigers and other animals. So grateful for a place like Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge for animals to be rescued. What a great place for them to live and be well taken care of. Good job everyone at Turpentine Creek!!!

Have not been fortunate enough to stay overnight yet but hope to do so someday.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonville, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

What a great place to stay! Our 11 yr old daughter loved staying in the Treehouse at the refuge. The people were great and very informative about all the animals. Listening to the lions and tigers at night is something to experience. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging

Address: 239 Turpentine Creek Lane, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is a walk through facility is open at 9:00 AM every day of the year (except Christmas Day). We now have twenty-seven natural habitat areas, where our 6 black bears and many of our cats can run and play on the grass and under the trees; this is our ultimate goal for all of our Big Cats. All of our cats are beautiful, special and loved very much. Each one has his/her own story to tell and you are sure to find a favorite or two among them. Our prices: Adults - $15.00. Children 4-12, seniors 65 and over, and veterans - $10.00. Children 3 and under admitted free of charge. Our group rates are: Bus Drivers and Guides are always free. Groups of 6-10 / $1.00 off each admission; groups of 11-20 / $2.00 off each admission; groups 21-30 / $3.00 off each admission; groups over 30 / $4.00 off each admission. Your admission is good for all day, and includes a walking tour of our newly opened natural habitat areas as well as a self-guided tour of the cats in our main compound. The time you spend in the main compound can vary from 10 minutes to over an hour, depending upon how much time you spend in front of one cage or another. The walking tour of the habitat areas is about a 30 minute guided tour and they are scheduled every hour on the hour from 11:00 a.m. - 3 p.m. The self-guided portion is all walking, but there are benches throughout to rest. We do have a wheel chair to borrow if needed. The guided tour is also walking, unless special assistance is needed and we can accommodate people with a riding tour on our cart (which carries five maximum). For large groups we will be happy to put one of our staff on your bus to give you a guided tour of the large habitat areas upon special request. Most of our staff are Biologists or Zoologists that come from all over the world to learn how to work with the Big Cats. Our tree house bungalow rents for $150/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 5 or older. It sleeps two on a "clicker sofa" downstairs, and it has two twin beds tucked under the eaves in the loft. Generally, it is comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children. Although small, it also has full kitchen facilities, a wrap-around deck and is quiet and secluded. The cats are located only a few yards away in some of the larger enclosures. Children under 5 years old are not allowed in Tree House due to TCWR's safety policy. Our two Bed & Big Cat suites can accommodate up to four people, with a queen size bed and fold-down clicker couch. Price is$150.00/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 3 or older. Babies are welcome at no additional charge. Both rooms have cats right outside the window, and are open year-round. The Safari Guest Lodge (adults only) is now taking reservations to complete your adventure at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge. Each Room is designed for 2 adults and rents for $150.00 per night. Overlooking the sprawling Eureka Springs Valley, with beautiful sunrises and magnificent sunsets and the caroling of the Big Cats. There are five unique cabins. Rent one or all five units if available. They are perfect to accommodate small groups if you choose to spend time with friends, family, small business retreats, workshops and wedding parties. Each room has an exceptional personality, along with snugly spa robes, luxurious bedding and linens, coffees and coffee pots, continental breakfast, color TV / DVD player, refrigerators and microwaves and clock radios. For rainy days or after hours, the rooms also have their own collection of favorite games and books. Cast iron fireplaces and air conditioning keeps you comfortable during the changing seasons too. Each room is also furnished with African Drums for those who care to start a drumming! Along with the spacious hot tub, the units share a 40' Octagonal Deck, complete with a charming covered Gazebo and Fire Pit. Tables and chairs surround the area for comfortable relaxing or light dining. These units are intended for adults only due to TCWR's safety policy. The price of your overnight visit includes unlimited access to our main compound during daylight hours for the length of your stay. We also have a small RV Park that can accommodate up to 7 recreational vehicles. Rates are $25.00/night plus regular admission to the Refuge on a daily basis. Or, a Family Membership may be purchased for $50.00, allowing unlimited visits to the Refuge throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge Bb Hotel Eureka Springs
Turpentine Creek Bb Arkansas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.