We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peabody House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peabody House
Save
You added Peabody House to your Saves list
7 Armstrong St, 3 Armstrong, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmond, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife and I went to Eureka for a short getaway and couldn't have selected a better place to stay. Private, great location and wonderful hospitality. We will be back.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
104
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, OK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Not sure what the problem was for those who gave the Peabody negative reviews, but my wife and I found the inn amazing.

If we go back to Eureka then we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKLAHOMA CITY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

The inn looked great on the website but the suites were smallish.
Dashwood Bed Chamber where we stayed in had some minor issues
It was dusty and in the sitting room it smelled musty.
Apparently from some water issues to the structure.

I wouldn't bother to book here again but I admit I am picky

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — must lack of space
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddymellon, Owner at Peabody House, responded to this review, April 23, 2008
This person did not stay with us - they arrived at our front door, and due to circumstances I will not detail here, I asked them to leave before they could even enter.

I confess that reviews such as this break the hearts of many, many innkeepers, myself included. We work incredibly hard at what we do because we love our homes, and we love our guests. We take everything about our homes personally, because it is personal, or we would not have such wonderful places to share with our wonderful guests.

Please come and visit our Inn or any of the other fine Inns in our adorable town. The most important thing to me as an innkeeper is for people to choose the right place to stay that works for them, to make their experience in Eureka Springs special, whether we have what they want, or our neighboring innkeepers. Just come and enjoy our great little town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Mo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We just returned from our AMAZING 5 day honeymoon to Historic Cottages and Peabody House in Eureka Springs, Arkansas. We married on 7-7-07 and began our love travel on 7-8-07! To say the least, we only had to travel 1 1/2 hours from home to experience a vacation that was as good or better than being on a tropical island. And, 80% of this is owed to the OUTSTANDING hospitality we received from the Innkeeper for the cottages, her name is Faryl. On our 1st night staying at the quaint, cute, soooo "homey" and original Gingerwood Cottage, our AC malfunctioned, causing the AC to not work properly. We called Faryl to notify her of the problem, expecting to have a worker come fix the cottage the next day or something, because even without AC it was tolerable in the cottage. But, above our expectations, Faryl immediately moved us 10 steps away next door to the upscale, contemporary, gorgeous, ROMANTIC KingFisher cottage no questions asked. It was complete with a separate Jacuzzi Room with a fireplace, full kitchen, lovely deck with a bbq grill, and a very comfortable king size bed with a down comforter and high thread count sheets. Within 24 hours our AC was fixed, but still she allowed us to stay in the KingFisher an extra night so we wouldn't have to keep moving our stuff around. By this time, we were so impressed with not only the gorgeous views, romantic picnic on the lake provided by cottage, serene atmosphere, and the fact that we were allowed to have our precious beagle-mix dog with us the whole time to share in our joy, we were ready to stay an extra day. So what'd we do?? We called Faryl! Said "Faryl, can we stay an extra day we love it so much!" Unfortunately, the Gingerwood was not available for that night, it was already booked. So Faryl arranged for us to stay in town at the Peabody House, which is a 100+ years old mansion that is so beautiful! (it might have been our favorite, but it is very hard to choose favorites when they all were perfect!). With attention payed to EVERY SINGLE DETAIL in the mansion, it was breathtaking. I hope to place pictures on here soon from our trip so you can see for yourself its beauty and maticulous works.
So, to wrap things up with this BOOK :), I have to say, above all, I have only been to Eureka this once, but will never stay anywhere dfferent and will recommend the Peabody and Historic Cottages to all my friends and family. My husband and I plan to bring our family to stay in the cottages around Christmas.
So, Faryl, look so forward to seeing you again soon (as does Saydee!), and again, THANK YOU so much for your superior hospitality, hope this review brings you great business because you deserve it!
go to: [--] -or- [--] and see for yourself its beauty!

  • Liked — the attention paid to detail and the wonderful hospitatlity
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay longer!!! :)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrilton, AR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

The Peabody House in Eureka Springs is a dream. The suites are unbelievable. They are so wonderful that we stayed in more than we went out to enjoy the ambience. The suites are very large and decorated beautifully with antiques. There are gourmet coffee machines in each suite and they supply pastries made fresh daily. They also supply sodas and a good variety of snacks. The innkeeper Faryl is great too. She gives you privacy but is as close as a phone call. She keeps a variety of movies that you can watch in your room as well as books to enjoy. She is very helpful with information about Eureka and can recommend local restraunts and attractions. I don't think we will ever stay at a different B&B in Eureka. The Peabody is perfect. No need to look any further.

  • Liked — the location and decor
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCPHERSON
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

We recently spent two December nights at the Peabody in Eureka Springs and enjoyed every minute. We loved the Cheshire Room and it's stained glass windows above the picture window overlooking the downtown area. The sitting area was complete with two chairs, a small table, plus a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee/hot water machine. We loved having breakfast there, after the innkeeper left fresh pastries on the table in the hallway outside our door each evening. The bathroom was huge and comfortable, with a separate water closet room. One evening we borrowed a video to watch in our room. The chairs on the porch provided a lovely spot for bird watching one warm afternoon. Downtown was easy to walk to for one dinner out. The second evening we enjoyed the casual atmosphere and gourmet food at Cafe Soleil, a short drive away. We'd stay at the Peabody again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Quiet and private. Great views.
  • Disliked — Two flights of stairs.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

The historic Peabody was immaculantly decorated and very romantic. We celebrated our anniversary in the Chesire Suite and enjoyed our two day stay. Ferryl the inkeeper is so helpful and friendly. We chose this place because it isn't a typical B&B...you don't get up in the morning and have breakfast with total strangers. Instead, Farryl delivers yummy baked goods right to your door. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — luxurious decor
  • Disliked — parking is limited
  • Tips/Secrets — Chelsire suite faces the cresent hotel for a great view.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peabody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peabody House

Address: 7 Armstrong St, 3 Armstrong, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite Downtown Eureka Springs Historic Inn. All spacious bedchambers and cottage include private bath with spa tub for 2, private entrances, mini bar, antiques, views, off street parking and other surprise extras. Rest easy on the veranda of our Victorian mansion. The Peabody will spoil you with privacy, luxury and convenience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peabody House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.