We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Central Hotel
37 North Main Street, Eureka Springs, AR   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 hotels in Eureka Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

The high ceilings, furnishings, and atmosphere makes us want to come back. The Bed was very comfortable and the little kitchen was a pleasant surprise. If want modern hotel don't come here. If you Want pleasant and helpful staff and old Victorian atmosphere, then this is your place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Love staying in Historic Hotels. This one is right in the heart of the old section of Eureka Springs. Building and Lobby carry that Historic theme. Very nice restaurant on the first (lobby) level. Staff nice & efficient. We had a good stay - but - our suite left a little to be desired. The older construction & sloping floors are what we like about staying in a building over 100 years old. But somewhere/someone must have decided that the sitting room part of the suite needed a full kitchen? Understandable? Maybe if the market dictated extended stay and a family Hotel? This was neither. And the inexpensively installed circa mid-80's oak and laminate with harvest gold appliances - well - just didn't fit. I hope somewhere along the way someone sees fit to remove the kitchens, upgrade the bathrooms (similar off-period finishes) and return this to the Historic property that it's meant to be. Then it would be highly recommended and a "Grand" stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry Suite 306 didn't meet your expectations. We have made several upgrades in the past couple of months since your stay, but the layout is pretty much set until a major renovation. Our housekeeping gets rave reviews so we know the room was immaculate and most people are completely happy with the layout. The fixtures and finishes are consistently being upgraded always with aspirations of Grand. We hope your experience overall was pleasant and that this particular and all future visits to Eureka Springs are enjoyable.

All the best.

Dustin Duling
Manager
Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We slipped away for a couple nights stay in our favorite getaway spot - Eureka Springs (AR). This was our first stay at the historic Grand Central Hotel. Loved the high ceiling and creaky floored room. Our suite was exceptionally large. This property is purely authentic feeling like you have enter the past. Nicely coupled with the historic is the modern spa and salon - you receive service second to none experienced in any given prominent travel destination. You will not want to miss the Grand Tavern Restaurant - exceptional and nicely priced. Your hosts will make you feel like welcomed friends... this is a must do to be put on your list.

Room Tip: The Hotel web site give an accurate deception of each room type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The location is perfect; we will always stay in the downtown area now that we realize how much fun this provides. We did not need our car any time during the stay….the free parking was very convenient.

The decor is charming. Probably about 50% of the furnishings we saw were repros, another 40% were less expensive antiques and 10% were very nice pieces. It all came together (with the flowery wallpaper to be very charming). We were in Room 205 and loved it. It's huge--a separate sitting room, hallway leading to the bedroom, one room for lavatory, another for the Jacuzzi/shower. The two televisions were old, but we never considered turning one on. We were way too busy! We would be bummed if we had time to watch television on a trip out of town.....when we get out of town, we like to stay busy until bedtime….and one can easily do that in downtown Eureka Springs.

We loved the ambiance, our meal at the hotel restaurant was perfect, Gracyn (the owner's dog) is tooo adorable. Dustin, the seems-to-lots-and-lots-of-things around the place was a top notch concierge. He gave us spot-on advice on where to go and what to do. He went out of his way to be helpful.

Tip: pick up the "6 Historical Walking Tours in Eureka Springs" from the desk. We went on two of them and saw more fascinating Eureka Springs than we have ever seen in previous visits.

The downstairs spa was a good experience. The clinician was friendly; in fact, she was great. One of the hotel owners was quite involved in the hotel operations while we were there. She came across as very upbeat and maybe a bit quirky --- in a good and friendly way. : >

We highly recommend the Hotel Grand Central---the coolest place we have stayed in Eureka Springs --by far. We loved it so much, we are gifting half the expense for our daughter to stay here on her next visit. We know she will enjoy this.

Loved Grand Central Hotel and wish we were still there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Mo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

In-room guide gives extensive history of hotel, culminating in a massive renovation in 1987. Little has been done since then.

Charming exterior, _excellent_ location, gourmet restaurant and high-class spa services in the basement cannot hide the dated nature of the furnishings and decor in the rooms. It is not furnished with turn-of-the-century antiques as much as what-passed-for-antique-reproductions-in-1987.

I enjoy getting away from civilization when I am on vacation. But the Sylvania TV's were from 1989 (I googled the model number). Wi-fi hotspot is also advertised, but our devices did not detect any signal.

We visited under a Groupon deal, and I was satisfied overall with the price and value. I would have been sorely disappointed, if I had paid rack rates for the advertised luxury and historical nayure, and stayed in our "royal suite".

Again, great location, especially if you can get a deal.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have made several upgrades to the TVs, however there are much better things to do in Eureka Springs than watch TV. The building was built in 1883 and we do an excellent job of keeping it up. The rooms are complimented on daily. Bill and Ted would have definitely loved it and we would love having them, especially if they brought some friends from the past. The WIFI works fine, and is checked on a daily basis. At over a 50% discount, the Groupon Getaway was an incredible value to you. Meh. Not exactly. Once again thank you for your review and we hope you find a most excellent lodging option in the future.

All the best.
Dustin Duling
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

The place was great. The antique feeling along with the history was wonderful. We arrived. Just in time to watch the christmas parade and love it. The place was clean and the staff was wonderful. We can't wait till we get a chance to come back. Close to everything all thre shop were great. I would highly recommed this place to all.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Room decor nice, horrible bed, they need new maid, thin walls/you can hear all of neighbors conversations, not for romantic getaway, owner rude, massage sucked, convenient location & parking.

Room Tip: Royal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 37 North Main Street, Eureka Springs, AR
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#14 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Central Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown within easy walking distance to shops, galleries and restaurants. The award winning Grand Taverne Restaurant and Lounge are located on the lobby level. We offer a full service spa and salon located on lower level. Onsite parking. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Central Eureka Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list