We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corvette Weekend 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1876 Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1876 Inn & Restaurant
Save
You added 1876 Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
2023 E Van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Justin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Corvette Weekend 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was our 3rd year attending the Eureka Springs Corvette Weekend (ESCW) and our 1st year at the 1876 Inn. The facility is older and could use some sprucing up, but the room was clean and the innkeepers were very personable and helpful. Price was great compared to other hotels in the area. Had a memory foam mattress that was VERY comfortable. Had a room overlooking the canyon where the pool is. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the inn, away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1876inn, Owner at 1876 Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
I am glod that you enjoyed your stay and our memory foam beds! Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    3
    7
    11
See reviews for
8
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The breakfast buffet at the 1876 is one of our favorite stops when we visit Eureka Springs. A good variety of food to choose from like eggs, ham, sausage, bacon, grits, oatmeal, biscuits & gravy, potatoes, fruits, and a waffle bar with delicious toppings to choose from... personal favorites are the strawberry and the blackberry. (Or try a little of everything...lol) Then we're too full to climb on the bikes....lol.... Say "Hi" to Chet ... he's great too...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I am a little baffled at the mixed reviews on this property, Yes....It is in a nice location, unique and quiet grounds and a beautiful wooded view from the rooms. They have a very nice and friendly staff. But clearly the property is unkept in areas and the furniture very out dated. We had to wear our flip flops in the shower as the bath mat was dirty. There were old mattresses and furniture piled up outside. The pool very nice from a distance but old signs laying around needed to be cleaned up and lots of pealing paint. If the junk was picked up and put out of site it would be much more pleasing to the eye. The property has a lot of potential but as is I cannot rate it more than average as I do not want to mislead guests. For a hundred dollars a night it was just average. I was a little disappointed. After reading the reviews I expected more.

Room Tip: Ask for a wooded view for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1876inn, Owner at 1876 Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We are in the midst of a remodel. As in a remodel there is always evidence of construction items and in our case old furniture that was slated to go to a group that helps those in need with furniture. Unfortunately they depend on volunteers to pick it up and they sometimes run behind. I agree our pool retaining walls need painting, however, the pool has to be empty to paint them. Perhaps in Octobor. As to the mixed reviews, others that left good reviews were apparently here in between the chaos. I am sorry you were disappointed. We have about 20 rooms left to reno and hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was my family's first visit to Eureka Springs. We found the hotel clean and the staff friendly. The waffles at breakfast were out of this world! Our kids had a great time in the pool. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ar
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Value is much more than a word at this hotel. The restaurant was clean and well lighted and the food was varied and plentiful. (especially the waffles) My room was spotless and my extras were more than adequate. I would recommend this to anyone travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are "good rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We booked our trip online seeing this hotel had good reviews. Our expectations were lowered quickly after arriving to the site. We would have immediately changed to another hotel but being a holiday weekend, every placed we checked had no vacancy.
The main observations is this place needs major renovations and maintenance!

The positives about this property is that it is a good location and the staff is very friendly. There is a restaurant on site but cannot comment because we did not dine there.

I would not stay there again or give a recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1876inn, Owner at 1876 Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
I wish you had brought your concerns to our staff. They would have explained that we are indeed in the midst of renovations, hence all the construction items you mention. I agree parts of our building are somewhat ugly, however preparation for painting and repairs does not leave us wearing our best face. I see our renovations as a positive, not a negative. I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka Springs hotels

Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We've stayed here several times with both family and friends over the past seven years, but we won't be back. We've given them several chances due to past good experiences and the friendly staff, but after this weekend, we're done! The past two times, things were a little dodgy - missing lightbulbs on the walkways outside the room, trash still in room trashcans, full ashtrays in the room at check-in, missing towels, etc. This time, we were grateful to get a room without a reservation on a busy holiday and Hogs football weekend, but a bed with only one sheet, a poorly working toilet, a backwards shower control and missing lightbulbs are too much to put up with for $89 a night. An electrical problem was dealt with quickly by a very responsive staff, and the other problems would probably have been addressed by management if we'd given them the opportunity, but added to past experiences, we were fed up by the time we discovered them late that night and did not report them. If the town is sold out and you have no other option, it is a safe, relatively quiet place to lay your head, and we still find the staff to be friendly. Just be forewarned and keep your sense of humor. If you have time to plan in advance, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1876inn, Owner at 1876 Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Queenhag, all I can do is appologize for any housekeeping problems you had. We do not sleep in the rooms so if we have a problem in those areas, we don't know unless you tell us. As for the backwards shower controls, our property is 35 years old. The controls were installed that way, and we would have to destroy the wall where the controls are to fix it. We have elected to wait until we have to do maintenance in that area to do destructive work. Most people can figure out that is is backwards and make the adjustment. I had management check your room, there were two sheets on the beds, they were tucked in the sides and the top sheet was not pulled down. I appologize that you did encounter problems, and wish you had given us the chance to correct them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1876 Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1876 Inn & Restaurant

Address: 2023 E Van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1876 Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.