We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matterhorn Exceeds Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Matterhorn Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eureka Matterhorn Towers to your Saves list
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
130 W. Van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Muskogee, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Matterhorn Exceeds Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been visiting and lodging in Eureka for 15+ years and have stayed at many different locations. I however stay exclusively at the Matterhorn. The jacuzzi suites on the lower level are always wonderful rooms with exceptional relaxation afforded via the large and relaxing hottubs. The staff is always on point, friendly, accomadating, and go above and beyond to ensure the best experience possible. The penthouse is amazing and highly reccomended to all. Beautiful furniture. Nice pool for those hot days. Beautiful grounds and building. Free continental breakfast always enjoyable. Jeremy Mustain, Muskogee, Oklahoma

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    14
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great service and location. If your like us your not really spending time in the room except to sleep. It is definately in need of a few renovations but its a landmark in Eureka Springs. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We randomly stopped in here solely because of the landscaping and building design. It's so uniquely built and unlike any other motel in Eureka. The proprietor was so nice great to us! He made the extra step to satisfy us and make our stay great! They have a sweet dog named Bailey that patrols the motel and is very eager to meet guests! We will return in the future! Thanks Matterhorn!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in ES and stayed at the Matterhorn. I chose this hotel based on the mostly favorable reviews, but we were extremely disappointed. We were in room 505, a jacuzzi suite with king bed, coffee maker and mini fridge. The best thing I can say about this room is the location was great.

The entire room needs to be gutted and completely re-done. The carpet is hopelessly stained, the drapes are outdated and the bedspread/pillow shams are extremely worn and thin (and kind of smell like a wet dog). I don't know that everything is necessarily dirty, but because it's all so old and the carpet so stained, everything just "feels" dirty.

The jacuzzi tub did work, but there were two knobs that were broke so I'm not sure what they were supposed to do. Also, the carpet that covers the front of the jacuzzi is molded from getting wet.

There is a separate shower but it's so small it's comical. I'm a small person (5' 120lbs) and I could hardly fit in it. Once you're in, there's no turning around or getting out of the spray of the water. And, ladies, don't even think about trying to shave your legs! The door also doesn't seal tight (or maybe it just got bumped into too many times when I was trying to move around) and so there was water all over the floor when I got out.

The matress on the bed is very old and worn and we could feel every spring in it. The pillows were way too hard for our taste but I'm sure some people like that. I resorted to using the "decorative" pillow because it was more comfortable, however, it was the one that smelled like wet dog so it wasn't much better.

I understand that it's expensive to run a hotel and even more expensive to update it but this room and hotel are in serious need of updating.

I can usually look past out-dated curtains, bedspreads, etc. as long as I feel like the room is clean. I did not feel like it was clean.

Hopefully Chris will be able to do some updating to this hotel as it's in a great location. Until then, I will not return and I will not recommend it to anyone I know.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The price was great and the location was perfect, very centralized. The breakfast was light but always fresh. The carpets could use a good cleaning or just replaced all together (wear socks or flip flops). The bed could also use a good updating. Other than that it was great for a place to crash every night. The price of course was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Chris McCoy, Owner/Manager, is friendly, helpful and really cares about his guests and property. He offers a 2 bedroom 2 bath fully furnished Apartment/Penthouse with private access via elevator. It's great for families and/or 2 couples. An additional 3rd King bed is at one end of the apartment as well. It's clean & comfortable...welll, except the pillows but we (2 couples) slept well. It's across the stree from trolley station so for downtown visits, leave your car at the Matterhorn. Breakfast snacks are available in the homey, warm lobby. Hotel is completely non-smoloing but the PH has a "smoking" outdoor balcony. We loved it. The best time to visit ES is during the week in the "off season" when the crowds are smaller. Neat community.

Room Tip: Choose the Penthouse if you can. We didn't see the individual rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Chris was very accommodating for our group. He upgraded us to a suite which was a nice gesture. This motel just needs updating bad! I'm sure once he finishes all the updates (he is suppose to be in the process of updating now) it will be great and we will try it again. I know that is something that takes time and money! It wasn't the cleanest either. Flies, some dead some not. But no other bugs.

It was a cold and rainy weekend unfortunately. We were there for the Corvette Car Show. On those kinds of days you just want to go back to your room and cuddle up but we really didn't feel comfortable doing that here.

Chris if your reading this....hurry and do your updates so we can try it again!!

Room Tip: Choose the Penthouse Suite, it looks nice! I think it has already been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eureka Matterhorn Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Matterhorn Towers

Address: 130 W. Van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian inspired lodging. Located in the historic district near the corner of the two most visited streets in Eureka Springs. Main Street and Van Buren. Across from the Central Trolley Station and Headquarters.The Matterhorn Towers has a plethora of rooms from standard Kings and Doubled bedded rooms to suites with two-rooms or jacuzzi suites. Antique furniture rooms. artist designated rooms and of course the classic penthouse. Occupying the entire fifth floor with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, kitchen, dining room, California King nook, balcony and private elevator access. The rooms are smoke free and a few are designated pet friendly.Gentle sloped ramps and an elevator supply easy access to all rooms without the need for the use of stairs.(Though our towers do offer a unique overlook) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eureka Matterhorn Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eureka Matterhorn Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.