We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge

Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
239 Turpentine Creek Lane, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
479 253 5841
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "With over 130+ exotic cats and other wildlife on display, Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is one of the largest big cat sanctuaries in the United States. The non-profit USDA licensed refuge, founded in 1992, has grown to become one of the Top 10 attractions in Arkansas and the most popular in Eureka Springs. Lions, cougars, leopards, tigers, and bears are displayed in large natural habitats surrounding the main compound enclosures and gift shop. Each animal has its own story/history plaque for self-guided tours and over night accommodations are available via the Safari Lodge, RV park, and camping facilities. Guided tours available and popular daily feeding times are 4 p.m. (winter) to 5 p.m. (summer). The refuge is open year round (except Christmas Day) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.."
Muldrow, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

To me it was neat to see maybe one time but way overpriced. To read the stories on the animals was neat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottesmith, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
See February 26 post, "Worth the money!" We do everything we can do to keep the refuge running. If you plan to visit frequently you should buy a Family Pass, which is good for one year and is just slightly more than visiting once, $90. We feed over 1000 pounds of raw meat each day and to do this we have to charge what we do. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    105
    30
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first time to the refuge and we will definitely be back! We went on the 2pm tour and stayed around for 4 o'clock feeding time....it was amazing! The stories about some of the rescues are unbelievable! Loved it all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Favorite Spot in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

As always, loved the behind the scenes tour where you can see the ligers. Everyone is super friendly. Long talks with the keepers about every cat and bear.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Lots of big cats to get close to and interact with ... interesting stories of rescue, how the animals are cared for, and how the refuse has evolved over the years.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lions and Tigers Oh My”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Loved the beautiful white tigers, ligers, tigons, and lions. Will absolutely visit again. It rained a little bit, but it was a warm rain so no big deal. The gift shop was fun and the tour guide was excellent.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Eureka Springs, AR
 

Been to Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.