We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge

Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
239 Turpentine Creek Lane, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
479 253 5841
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "With over 130+ exotic cats and other wildlife on display, Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is one of the largest big cat sanctuaries in the United States. The non-profit USDA licensed refuge, founded in 1992, has grown to become one of the Top 10 attractions in Arkansas and the most popular in Eureka Springs. Lions, cougars, leopards, tigers, and bears are displayed in large natural habitats surrounding the main compound enclosures and gift shop. Each animal has its own story/history plaque for self-guided tours and over night accommodations are available via the Safari Lodge, RV park, and camping facilities. Guided tours available and popular daily feeding times are 4 p.m. (winter) to 5 p.m. (summer). The refuge is open year round (except Christmas Day) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.."
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a wonderful place. We will return! The people were very friendly. I have told everybody about it and even added their FB page.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    105
    30
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dittmer, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SO AWESOME! Go at feeding time, totally worth it! We spent hours there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited on October 1st, 2013. We were spending a part of our honeymoon in Eureka Springs, AR, and my husband really wanted to go after seeing all the signs, so we decided to take an unplanned trip over there. We went an hour before feeding time so we were able to go on the trolley tour. It was so neat to hear about each individual animal and their stories. The 2 male lion brothers really suck out to us. One was blind, and the other brother took care of him. Our tour guide was a heavier set red-headed intern. I cant remember her name, but she was SO knowledgeable and could distinctly tell each animal apart by name just be looking at their striped above their eyes. She even had whiskers and claw shreds that she let us feel. She was great!
We spent a lot of time their watching them feed all of the animals, and it was truly an experience. Nothing can get your hair standing more than being 5 feet away from a full grown male lion who was roaring for his dinner! I got videos of it, and they are SUPER neat! All of the animals seemed very happy and well cared for. The bear seemed like he was having the most fun in his swimming pool with his giant beach ball. My husband loved him! Zeus was awesome to see, he was SO big!! We had a blast and cant wait to return!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is very cool to go to, especially later in the afternoon when the cats are more active and about the be fed! They have quite the collection of cats and a very cute bear!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We came between tours, so we walked around by ourselves. It was really cool to read the stories posted of the animals, and see them so close. We got lots of cool pictures & they have very nice employees.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit for Animal-Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I believe myself to be a big animal-lover, and so this was definitely a fantastic place for me to visit. If you are interested in the protection and rescue of animals, this is a definite must-visit for you. It is a large area, with the majority of the large animals able to live in enclosures with grass and trees. There is an area up front with animals that are in temporary cages until larger enclosures can be built for them to live in. This wildlife refuge for these large animals relies on the contributions and donations of its visitors and other kind people. It is an amazing place that prides itself in saving the large cats, bears, and other animals from horrible situations. It is the type of place that makes you feel good about the money that you spend ($15) to see the animals inside the refuge. There was a walking tour to see all of the animals- the walk was on a gravel road for about a half-a mile, filled with information that the intern will tell you as you see the animals. There is the option of taking a trolley around the enclosures to see the animals for an extra $5 charge. It was a good afternoon trip to take- and next time if I come back, I will probably come back around feeding time, due to the fact that at the time I visited (Noon) most of the large animals were napping in the sun. (All except for Bam-Bam the brown bear- who was the highlight of the tour!) This place is great to take children, although the walking tour would not be good for kids due to the fact that the majority of the animals are hard to see and the information may not be interesting to young kids. There were no children on the walking tour through the refuge that we took. Overall I am glad that I visited the Refuge, and would definitely recommend to anyone who loves animals to go and visit. The only reason that I rated the refuge "Very Good" instead of "Excellent" is due to the fact that they are still currently in the middle of trying to build onto the existing area for the animals that they have so far.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.