We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven in Eureka Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lookout Lodge to your Saves list
Lookout Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3098 E Van Buren, Highway 62 E, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven in Eureka Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The owners are very friendly, very accommodating, and very communicative. We received several emails from them prior to our stay, reminding us of our stay and asking if we had any requests. Even though the lodge is on Hwy 62, it is difficult to hear the traffic while in your room. The lodge has a little "atrium" area where you can sit and enjoy the other guests, or just relax and drink your coffee. We were traveling with two 11 y/o and one 8 y/o, and the lodge was perfect. We will definitely try to come back again the next time we are up in Eureka Springs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    84
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
72
187
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Not only does this place have the BEST view (ask for the adult-only floor facing the forest), the jacuzzi suite was spacious and SUPER clean, the hot tub was amazing (especially after hiking all day), and Sonja and Robert were incredibly sweet and gracious hosts! They were very helpful with recommendations on places to go, where to eat, etc. - we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The Lookout Lodge is a very nice play to stay. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The added bonuses of a hot tub and sun porch are nice additions to the stay. The staff are very nice and welcoming and really helped with some pointers for places to eat at in Eureka Springs. The Lookout Lodge is much more than a standard hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We picked this hotel based on reviews on another site. The owners are so friendly, calling me by name all week. The place is extremely well kept and the owners are around to help with anything you need. They have a large assortment of DVDs you can borrow for free. The continental breakfast is small, so if you need a big breakfast, do what we did - bring your own extras! Comfy beds and soft towels. And we LOVE the hardwood floors - they seem so much cleaner than carpet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ends of the second floor. We spent lots of time on the balcony watching the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The owners were as nice as could be. Helpful and polite. Rooms were clean and orderly. No problems with noise. Other comments on this page have stated that they were told to keep the noise down. Personally I think if someone was told to be quiet they would have to be making a ton of noise. It was very quiet and relaxing during our stay. Well priced and resonably located. Forested area behind the hotel was great to look at and the pool was well maintained. Would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: If your not able to climb stairs just ask for a down stairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Rode our motorcycle down for an over night stay on our way to Mountain Home. Got in at 8:30. Sonya checked us in and showed us our room . Our room was a jacuzzi room and was super nice. She told us places to eat but warned us that they would be closing soon. A little later she called to tell us of a couple other places that we could try that would be open later. Thought that was super nice as she knew we were hungry and hoping to have more than fast food. Only thing id complain about is itd be nice to have an outside vending machine for pop. Not a huge deal though. We loved our short stay and would like to visit for a longer time and would definitely stay at the Lookout Lodge again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I will give them the credit that it is a very clean motel. Three of us girls met in Eureka Springs for the July 4th holiday. On Thursday, July 3rd, our date of arrival, we were just sitting outside on the provided balcony talking and having fun. We did have a few drinks, laughs, etc., but in no way were having a "party". He came to us first at 10:15 pm that we were too loud and guests were complaining, we were on the end and the room next to us was unoccupied. A little time later our light weight girlfriend went to bed. So just two of us sitting and talking. At a little after one he called the room and said "shut it down". My friend and I stayed outside and continued to talk. I moved directly next to her so we could whisper. At 0230 in the morning he came back up and threatened to call the police if we did not go inside. We were actually having a serious conversation that in no way involved laughter or partying at that point. I asked him a few questions about his noise policies and why they weren't posted as to total silence after dark. He was threatening in his approach to call the police. He stated that in all of his years being there we were the worst guests ever and if we made any noise the next night, the 4th of July there would be no warning, he would just call the police. We are three female guests just wanting to relax and unwind, I happen to smoke so that is why we were outside. We were in no way partying or loud, he just wanted total silence because our room was directly above the office/their living quarters. I see the opposite reviews on here, that he did nothing about the noise complaints. Just stay in unit 26 and you will be expected to be mute. I am expecting a firm response from the ones I have already read. Please advertise on your website that absolutely zero noise is tolerated after dark. We stayed an additional two nights that were prepaid and made no noise, he did not call the cops.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertandSonjaS, Owner at Lookout Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We were really hoping not to see a review from these guests, but they had to write one.

It was actually 11pm when we reminded Ms Kelly B and her friend the first time to cut their voices down, since they were pretty loud having a conversation outside their room. Sure, it was a wonderful evening and there were several other guests sitting outside earlier that evening talking and having fun, but all of them went back to their rooms around 10.30pm, except the three ladies. We thought, it would be common sense to be quiet in a hotel after 10pm until 7am and be respectful to other guests.

Around 1.30am I got awake by a phone call from one of the other guest rooms, complaining that they were unable to sleep, because there were people talking and talking all night long. I could hear them even in our bedroom (located 2 stories lower than the room 26, which is on the top floor). So I called the room and let them know, that it would be really time to go to sleep. At 2.40am I got awake another time because I could hear these two ladies still talking louder and louder. Finally, I went upstairs to clear the situation. It is absolutely unacceptable, how disrespectful these two ladies (Ms Kelly B and her friend) kept other guests awake. We asked the ladies to go inside and sleep, or we would have to call the cops to have them removed from the property. Ms Kelly B appeared to be pretty drunk, and there seemed no other way to quiet them down.

On the next morning, when we were cleaning around the motel, we found an empty box with 20 beer cans (almost 2 gallons of beer!) in the trash, which belonged unquestionably to that room. Obviously, they were having a party and they didn't realized anymore, how much noise they were making.

At the check-out, the sister of Kelly B came to the front desk apologizing for what happened the first night, and she said, that she felt very embarrassed about the behavior of her sister, and she would probably not travel with her anymore. She was very friendly, and we understood her very well.

Robert and Sonja Schmid
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lodge

Address: 3098 E Van Buren, Highway 62 E, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lookout Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lookout Lodge™ is a 16-unit boutique hotel in Eureka Springs, Arkansas with a unique, rustic lodge atmosphere. All 16 units offer private entrances and are tastefully decorated with a comfortable, rustic, log cabin lodge decor featuring Pine Log siding, log cabin quilts, and cabin throw rugs, accented with a whimsical bear theme. Lookout Lodge™ is Swiss owned and operated. Our rooms are well known to be extra clean, we call it "Swiss clean". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lookout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.