We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Eureka Springs for the fall colors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lookout Lodge to your Saves list
Lookout Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3098 E Van Buren, Highway 62 E, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trip to Eureka Springs for the fall colors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great weekend, and enjoyed our stay at Lookout Lodge. It is in a very beautiful setting in Eureka Springs, close to everything, but quiet. The bed was great, and very comfortable. The furnishings were like a cabin, which I love! The hosts were very helpful with directions to various sights around town, and well as the best food and restuarants. We only stayed 1 night, as we had a short weekend, but we would definately love to stay longer. The next time we come to Eureka Springs, we would book this place, but call ahead, as they are a popular place. The only thing I'd say on the negative side is that the drapes don't keep out the light. But since I always take my eye blinders wherever I go, that was not a problem for me. We stayed on the 1st floor facing the road, and didn't hear a sound. I would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    86
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
73
196
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumelle, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed in many places in Eureka Springs over the years and Lookout Lodge is one of the best. Sonja and Robert were very helpful with recommendations and making sure we had all the info we needed. The room was immaculate! I've never seen a cleaner bathroom and the laminate flooring immediately gave you a sense of freshness and cleanliness. The pillows were big, fluffy, and plentiful; the bed was comfortable with a lovely quilt instead of one of those atrocious polyester "hotel/motel" covers. I also loved that all the windows could be opened allowing a nice fall breeze on the warm afternoons. The cleaning staff was also very friendly and we heard very little noise from the other guests. The lodge was right on the trolley lines so we could park our car and just enjoy Eureka. I also liked that the owners are environmentally concerned and provided green products in the rooms and recycling bins for the guests. I highly recommend Lookout Lodge and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room directly across from the atrium - it helps block any highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Would definitely stay here again. Beds had new comfortable pillowtop mattresses and rooms were kept spotless. Couple who own this establishment are very friendly and helpful when asked for advice about Eureka Springs. There was a large assortment of movies available for you to enjoy since a DVD player was provided in each room and outside seating which was perfect for our game of cards after a long day of walking through the quaint town. There is a forest behind the motel and a hot tub available to soak away your aches and pains after a long day of walking the hills. Almost directly across the street is a family owned restaurant which serves the best catfish, nice and crunchy. Refrigerators were in each room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights with the wife. Easy to find, right off the main road. Check-in was easy - the Swiss couple that run this place is really friendly and man, do they keep the rooms clean. I also like that they have recycling! The room was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable, the bathroom just a little small, and the shower had an older, basic head with OK water pressure. Continental breakfast is basic, although I like that they had Little Debbie Oatmeal cream pies, not really breakfast food but I like them anyway. A good deal for less than $100/night, and a very good launch pad for the area. Almost 5 stars, almost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new mattress (serta something....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my first visit to Eureka Springs and it was a great one! Lookout lodge was in a good location, next to plenty of restaurants and close to main street- where all the shopping is done. My boyfriend and I didn't plan an itinerary and decided to "wing it" when arriving. Lucky for us our innkeeper Sonja was there to suggest plenty of activities and restaurants worthy of trying.
It rained one of the nights there, which I still enjoyed, but I'm very glad we stayed in a comfty room with cable and wifi, made it easier to enjoy the day. The room was very cute! And right in our price range. Overall I felt lookout was the perfect "feel" of Eureka- very homey!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a nice hotel, with good decorations, and it was very clean. Also reasonably priced and in a good central location to the area.

I do have two complaints - First, no mini fridge in the room. Not a huge deal, but I was bummed I couldn't keep some cold beers in the room.

The other complaint is that we felt a little like we were unwanted house guests. We drove ten hours to get to Eureka Springs and arrived earlier than we expected, a few hours before check in. We decided to check with the office to see if we could check in early, something we've done before in other places. When I asked the owner, he looked at me like had just insulted his mother or something. He told me that the room wasn't ready, but he didn't smile or appear to be friendly at all. No big deal, we went to eat lunch and then came back to check in.

The other interaction i had with the other owner, a woman, was a little worse. In the morning I was playing with my two young boys (3 and 1) in the atrium area while my wife was getting ready. My son got a small plastic cup of orange juice from the continental breakfast. He drank it, then he smashed the cup up while he was playing with it. I was chasing after my 1 year old when my other son threw the plastic cup on the ground. I'm not the type of person that would leave trash around, but before I could correct my son about the plastic cup, the female owner noticed it and chastized him and told him to put it in the trash can. She was kind of rude about it, and even when I apologized she didn't even look at me. Its common courtesy in this country to acknowledge someone when they are talking to you. I probably had two or three other interactions with this woman and she never smiled once. I got the impression that she was either angry, didn't like her job, or didn't want us there. Robert certainly warmed up a little bit when I was trying to make some movie selections, but all our interactions with both owners seemed awkward, forced, and just did not make us feel welcome.

Oh, and they'll also threaten you left and right in their literature about breaking stuff and paying for it, and also threaten you about stealing their stuff. Kind of insulting and added to the unwanted house guest vibe. We're hotel guests, not wreckless thieves.

In the grand scheme of things these are fairly minor complaints I suppose. But if we ever go back to Eureka Springs, we'll look for a place with friendlier service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonrob_es, Owner at Lookout Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and sorry that you were not completely pleased with your stay.

For every story there are two sides of it. It is always not understandable for us, why guests are disappointed not to be able to check in several hours before the regular check in time, which is actually 3pm. There is a certain reason to have 3pm set. Everybody expects a clean room, so then give us the time to clean it and usually we have several rooms to clean each and any day. If you arrive many hours before the time you have said when made the reservation and did not called ahead to check for an earlier check in, please don't complain! At the Lookout Lodge, we, the owners clean our rooms most of the time, because we like to make sure, that our guests get the cleaniest rooms in town and that's what they do! This work is exhausting and if we are not always smiling, please excuse us - we are only humans and not robots!

We guess, every parent knows, that it is not easy to control kids all the time and we understand that. But if your child makes a mess, we really appreciate, if you help us cleaning after it, because we have enough work keeping our place clean. In this situation, the guest didn't showed any intention to clean up after his child, and that's why Sonja, not just "a" wife - she's one of the owners, called the boy up to pick up after him in a friendly way. If that is rude, then we really failed beeing friendly and we do appologize.

It is common sense in the whole world, that if you break stuff or steal it, you have to pay for the damage and this is, what we are pointing out in our Guest Service Directory. We have decided not to bold everything down to let you feel like you would be at home, but as a business owner, we have to set some rules in case, something happens. And this is not a threat, it is just a common rule you will find in any public place around the world. Once again, we know, we can't please everybody's desires, but we work very hard every day to make our guests feeling happy while visiting Eureka Springs.

We invite Kris and his family to join us again on his next visit to historic Eureka Springs so that we may have the opportunity to serve and meet his expectations. We look forward to this opportunity.

Robert and Sonja Schmid
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Basic amenities in very nicely decorated rooms. Cleanest motel room ever! We stayed 3 nights. Owners bent over backwards to make sure we felt welcome, suggesting restaurants and activities, all of which were spot-on. Three resident kitties provided evening entertainment in the unique outdoor common area. Complimentary DVD movie library was a nice touch. On the flip side, room did not have iron/ironing board or alarm clock. Continental breakfast offerings -- packaged muffins, cereal, OJ, coffee -- were very modest. Bright lighting gave the parking area a sense of security but kept our room brighter at night than we would have liked. A shower valve problem our first morning there was fixed very promptly. Overall, a quite pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Each room is pictured on the website and are exactly as they appear. We chose a main level king to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lodge

Address: 3098 E Van Buren, Highway 62 E, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lookout Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lookout Lodge™ is a 16-unit boutique hotel in Eureka Springs, Arkansas with a unique, rustic lodge atmosphere. All 16 units offer private entrances and are tastefully decorated with a comfortable, rustic, log cabin lodge decor featuring Pine Log siding, log cabin quilts, and cabin throw rugs, accented with a whimsical bear theme. Lookout Lodge™ is Swiss owned and operated. Our rooms are well known to be extra clean, we call it "Swiss clean". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lookout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.