We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home "Sweet " Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins at Sugar Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cabins at Sugar Mountain to your Saves list
Cabins at Sugar Mountain
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   78 CR 116, Sugar Mountain Road, Eureka Springs, AR 72631 (Formerly Sugar Mountain Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home "Sweet " Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On a recent cross country trip, it was a last minute suggestion to stop in Eureka Springs. Our arrival was unexpected and already nighttime. Our host Stephen, was welcoming and most accommodating, meeting us in town and leading the way. Much to our surprise a beautiful, spacious cabin awaited us. Our dog was welcomed like part of the family, there was nothing overlooked. Fresh coffee beans, bottled water, maps, and a packet of where to dine and things to do, were thoughtfully provided. The room boasted a jacuzzi tub and incredibly comfortable bed, but most importantly was impeccably clean. Awakening to the sounds of nature was just what these weary travelers needed, yet only a short drive to the lively energy of Eureka Springs. A great balance for the senses. One night wasn't enough we opted for a second. Not familiar with the area, Strephen was always just a call away and answered all our questions! This will definitely be our "home" when we return to Eureka Springs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Found this Lovely Resort on Last Minute Labor Day Weekend. Was a beautiful rustic Cabin like atmosphere. I believe our Lodging room had 2 or 3 other rooms attached to it. All wood interior, Jacuzzi tub, large bathroom and shower, patio area, large tiled flooring and most of all exceptionally Clean. We were able to bring our little Yorkie with us which it is hard to find nice places to stay and bring your pets. I would highly recommend this lovely resort in Eureka Springs, Arkansas. We loved it also because we always take a white River canoe trip when we go and this was only a few miles from the River Trip. Only complaint I could say was not on the facility or the owners, but our neighbors were a bit inconsiderate on there late night partying next door. Kept us up till nearly 2AM.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed three nights at the Sugar Mountain Resort in late May 2013. We rented the #3 unit, this unit is larger than the other four units. The unit was very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen area was just perfect. The full size refrigerator, microwave, grills, and coffee pot were perfect for a vacation unit. We enjoyed the private porch and beautiful yard. The jacuzzi tub was a welcome amenity. We spoke with the owner on our first day there and then were provided the privacy that we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were looking for a last minute weekend getaway and after some research decided on Sugar Mountain Resort. We had stayed in another cabin on the other side of Eureka Springs in the fall, which was nice but wanted to try another location. Sugar Mountain Resort was VERY reasonable and based on other reviews, we decided this was the one. The location is secluded and nestled amongst the trees. There are actually only 2 buildings that house five units. They are really lodge type rooms not cabins...I will start with the only con...the walls are thin and if there is someone in the adjoining room, you can hear everything...and I mean everything. The owners haven't overlooked anything...the odd thing was, we never saw any staff the entire weekend. We called upon arrival and was told which unit we were in and to call if they could help with anything. It was like home away from home! We were greeted with a personalized welcome sign on the door. The decor is absolutely beautiful and there hasn't been anything overlooked. The bed was amazingly comfortable! Amenities included a fridge stocked with a few bottles of water and juice, coffee pot with coffee beans and grinder, microwave, jacuzzi tub and walkin shower. Outside there was a firepit, and both a gas and charcoal grill. There was AC, a fan and French doors with a screen so you could open and enjoy the outdoors from inside. We had the opportunity to wake up and see deer playing right outside our door and listen to birds chirp...it was simply amazing.

I still can't believe it's as inexpensive as many hotels. We intend to return and highly recommend to any couple.

Room Tip: Sugar Shack #2 is closest to the woods ..definitely recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised with Sugar Mountain Resort, with the location being out near Beaver Lake it was secluded enough & not in the middle of the arts & crafts traffic. The issue we encountered was very courteously handled by the owner to our satisfaction. These are lodge type rooms (adjoining others) & not cabins so don't expect one, but the arrangement and worked well for us. We'll definitely go back & will recommend...especially at the price value.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4, in between 3 & 5 and weren't really bothered much by those around us. Took a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 8th anniversary by staying at Sugar Mountain Resort. We stayed in the “Sugar Shack”, the honeymoon suite of all of the cabins. What a great cabin! I have many pictures that you can view to see how nice the cabin is. KITCHEN: The room was equipped with a kitchen with most anything you would have in your own kitchen. Plates, glasses, silverware, pot, pans, cooking utensils, paper towels, salt, pepper, dish soap, slow cooker, microwave, full-size refrigerator and many other things that I have forgotten to list. A small kitchenette set is provided to eat inside of the cabin. PATIO #1: Off of the living room area, you also have the option of grilling – with a choice between a charcoal grill, or a propane grill on the patio. You do not have to share the grill with other cabins and there are grilling utensils available, as well. You will need to provide your own charcoal and starter fluid. There is a table and chair set on the patio to enjoy the fruits of your grilling labor. PATIO #2: This area is outside of the bedroom area and also features a table/chair set. There is also an area on the ground to make a small camp fire with wood provided. We didn’t start a fire since it is a hot summer. LIVING ROOM: Furnished with two couches, coffee table, and a television with satellite TV and DVD player. There is a small notebook on the coffee table where guests write their thoughts about their stay at Sugar Mountain. BATHROOM: Very nice arrangement and roomy. Shower was nice and the bathroom was very clean. CLOSET: Had a variety of things that a guest may need during a stay to include an ironing board and iron, etc. JACUZZI: Plenty of room for two people – very nice and clean. BEDROOM: Best bed that I have slept on in all of my travels. CABIN: Rustic furnishings, pine wood walls and ceilings, remote control HVAC, two remote control lights/ceiling fans. CAT: You may encounter a gray tabby cat with a skittish side to him (her?). The cat kind of freaked me out the first time I saw him when he came off of the roof of a cabin, landed, then ran like his tail was on fire. I expected a bear to be chasing him. The second encounter was on the patio while I was grilling. The cat loves to be petted and is very friendly. THE PROPERTY: One thing that was quite unique was the giant chess set. There is also croquet and horseshoes, as well. The property is maintained quite well. Although we didn’t meet Stephen during our weekend, he was quite helpful over the phone when our GPS and Google map steered us wrong. We will stay again whenever we are in the Eureka Springs area.

DIRECTIONS: This is important as your GPS will get confused and the location is incorrect on Google maps. When following US 62 East toward Eureka Springs, DO NOT take the first turn for State Highway 187 - there is another turn approximately 4 ½ miles down the road. State Highway 187 crosses US 62 twice. Turn right on the second intersection with State Highway 187 (Exxon station on SW corner). Drive South for approximately 1 mile and look very carefully on the East side of the road for County Road 116 (small blue sign with yellow text). The road will look like a driveway and is easy to miss. The cabins are about 80 yards from the last turn that you will make.

TIP 1: Bring things to cook and/or grill. If you need to buy groceries, drive East through Eureka Springs and go to the Wal-Mart in Berryville.

TIP 2: The food and service at the Pizza Hut was not good when we visited. I recommend that you find somewhere else to eat.

TIP 3: The Exxon station that you pass on the way in is the cheapest place to purchase gasoline.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently were married in Eureka Springs, and chose to stay at Sugar Mountain Resort for the week we were in town. The property was beautiful! Even in the hottest time of the day, the shade from the large and beautiful trees kept us cool when outside. The air conditioning of the cabin was crisp and cool, and the modern ceiling fan was a nice touch in the hot weather. The resort location kept us away from the bustle and traffic of town, but we were still close enough that it took only minutes to return to civilization.

We stayed in Cabin 1, which was modern, beautiful, and spacious. The room was very clean, and we appreciated the complimentary beverages and snacks provided. There was a decent size (not full size, but bigger than a "mini") fridge/freezer, and the television/dvd player were new and modern. The bathroom was large and clean with a modern shower and double vanity, and we loved the jacuzzi tub--especially that it was located so that we could watch a movie, have a glass of champagne, and enjoy the tub all at the same time!

We hope to stay at Sugar Mountain again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabins at Sugar Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins at Sugar Mountain

Address: 78 CR 116, Sugar Mountain Road, Eureka Springs, AR 72631 (Formerly Sugar Mountain Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabins at Sugar Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Mountain Resort has Romantic Boutique Luxury Cabins for your perfect romantic vacation destination, we are located in a landscaped clearing just off highway 187 only 10 minutes from Eureka Springs, Arkansas and only 5 minutes from Beaver Lake. Your cabin is fully equipped and has Heat/AC, luxury linens, jetted tub, gas and charcoal grill, covered patio, cutlery, crockery pot and pans, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer. Coffee, Tea & condiments supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Cabins at Sugar Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabins at Sugar Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.