We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, relaxing, freedom & old-meets-design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Perreux - Amboise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Perreux - Amboise to your Saves list
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
36 rue de Poce, 37530 Nazelles-Negron, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nazelles-Negron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fantastic, relaxing, freedom & old-meets-design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A true find.
Not the oldest of castles (200 years), but home to the Popys (for us >40years) once.

Francois, the manager, does all in his power to make it to your liking. From wine-cooler to dining advise to tour of the chateau. Actually you are free to discover the chateau and the immense grounds.
The pool is just fantastic, on the characteristic ground of a chateau (as it should be), it lies off the terrace, where a nice wine and cheese can be enjoyed at days-end. Heated and suited for doing laps, as well as entertain the kids.
The room (we had a family room; so actually 2 adjacent rooms) was great. Great beds (1 big one for us, and 2 for our kids), and excellent lounge chairs for pre-bed reading of sorts. Newly renovated bathroom stylish and comfortable, with rainforest shower and authentic details.
Amboise and many other great places really nearby. One word: excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our two days in the Chateau. Our room was very spacious, clean and well designed.

Everything about the stay was perfect.
If we ever visit France again we would most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Approximately ten minutes drive the Amboise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week with our six year old daughter. The first impression is quite amazing as you approach on the driveway and get a full view of the building.

As many others have mentioned, the property manager, Francois, was absolutely wonderful. He was extremely personable and helpful (so much so that even our daughter commented about it). The property itself has been nicely renovated, but they have still managed to maintain some of the historic charm. Our room itself was large (a family room with two separate bedrooms) with a large bathroom.

My daughter and my husband did make it to the pool, which they enjoyed immensely, especially the fact that it is a fresh-water pool (no chemicals).

The only thing we would warn others about (and this seems to be a theme for our reviews from this trip) is that the floors seem to be very sensitive. Both of our nights there (especially the first night) were filled with listening to the family above us wander about their rooms. We became very paranoid that the people below us were experiencing the same, so we tried to walk as gently as possible (though some areas of the floor were so creaky there was no way to be quiet).

Other than that, this property was wonderful and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best if you don't like to hear those above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A small and charming chateau near Amboise. Authentic experience, comfortable and clean accommodations. Francois, the manager, was very friendly, spoke fluent Englisg and showed us the various sections of the building and gave a glimpse as to what life was like when it was built 200 years ago. And then there was this lovely little cat - "Klak". Cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A beautiful scenery for a magnificent chateau includes lush greenery, fresh air and big space for all kinds of activities. That's what Chateau de Perreux have, but more! A friendly manager, Francois, wonderful service, hotel rooms in good condition with a comfortable and snug bed that keeps me warm, you can bet it's one of the best hotel I have been to, not to mention a clever cat for a companion! Breakfast was delicious: croissants, yoghurt, chocolate bread, hot chocolate or milo, juices and more! What I especially love about was the expanse of the nature in this chateau. The small woods great for playing games, especially hide-and-seek. There was a big flat 'garden', with a round pond in the centre. The pond was full of insects and dirt; it was really dirty that I could not see through. They should have tried to clear it up and perhaps put some fishes in it, to add in more liveliness. behind the woods, they are constructing a swimming pool. What I can tell you is that, the chateau is really big; with a mini 'dungeon'. Part of the chateau was carved out of rock, while there was a secret passage way in the rock, ( but the temperature decreased in there), and there is another passage where you could drive your car in there, then bring your luggage down to collect it using this way, it's easier than dragging the heavy luggage and suitcases down the steps, cross the gravel path and into the car park. Quiet and peaceful environment, good for sleeping. If you ever stop by Amboise, make sure you come and check out Chateau de Perreux!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just perfect, Francois, the manager, came across as more of a friend.
We loved everything about it.
The rooms, the entrance, the garden, the greenhouse, the caves.
Far enough away from town.
Left the windows open all night, you could hear the owls and nightlife to go to sleep to, and no traffic noise.
Excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our family, with two children 11 and 13, had two wonderful nights at the Chateau de Perreux. Francois, the manager, made us feel very welcome and he provided maps and lists of recommended restaurants in Amboise (a ten minute drive).

The chateau looked magnificent in the evening, driving up the drive. Inside, it was amazing to see the rear wall of the lower ground level was built into the rock. Our second floor family room overlooked the park and was warm, with a modern bathroom.

This accommodation would not be suitable without a car, but most visitors would have a vehicle to explore all the fabulous chateaus in Loire. Parking is provided on site.

The Chateau is within 10-15 minutes drive to Vouvray, where there are number of wine tasting outlets. Our favourite was Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray. The lovely girl, providing the tasting, spoke perfect English and she was very knowledgeable about all French wines.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Perreux - Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Perreux - Amboise

Address: 36 rue de Poce, 37530 Nazelles-Negron, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Nazelles-Negron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nazelles-Negron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Perreux - Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Perreux Amboise Hotel
Chateau De Perreux - Amboise France/Loire Valley - Nazelles-Negron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Perreux - Amboise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.