We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Messey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau de Messey to your Saves list
Chateau de Messey
Lieu Dit Messey, 71700 Ozenay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ozenay B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

In the heart of Burgundy/ Bourgogne
If you want to experience a stay in a real country chateau, Chateau Messey is a lovely warm environment created by the owners – Delphine and Markus Schaeffer. They provide very personalized attention. Do have dinner cooked by Markus as often as you can. Delphine was a great source for exploring the area. We had 5 wonderful nights here, using it as a base to explore the wine areas around us – Pouilly Fuisse, Pommard, Mersault, Puligny Montrachet, etc. MUST SEES – Chateau de Pommard, the chateau and gardens at Cormatin, the Monday market at Louhans, and for a great view,do walk up La Roche near Pouilly Fuisse. They speak French of course, and perfect English and German.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Nestled in the rolling hills, the vistas are never-ending. Imagine yourself living hundreds of years ago in a large chateau with a stream flowing by, and Rapunzel's tower, huge plane trees, ancient rock tables, gardens, sheep and cattle completing the scene. This is the perfect place to explore many interesting villages, markets, churches and historical chateaux in the area. Delphine and Markus are delightful hosts. The breakfasts are wonderful,,,a large buffet of fresh farm eggs, fruits, homemade yogourt etc. The rooms are massive with plenty of seating room. The evening dinners were delicious (not served every night) and the Chateau's own wines great....especially the Cremant (champagne)! Delphine will help you plan your days.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We found Markus and Delphine to be charming hosts who welcomed us with perfect English and a lovely glass of sparkling wine on our arrival. Things only got better from there. Chateau de Messey is way out in the country in one of the most idyllic settings I've ever seen. The chateau also makes delicious regional wines and Marcus and Delphine are fabulous cooks. We had dinner at the chateau twice (on request) and were delighted with each meal. I appreciated they could accommodate my not eating meat with a succulent fish dish. We opted for an apartment and were delighted at the extra room for a very reasonable price. The only down side was that the shower was barely tall enough to stand up in and it was a hand held nozzle. We ate breakfast (an extra few euros) at the chateau instead of cooking for ourselves. Dauphine served croissants, fresh bread, her own home made yogurt and jams, soft boiled eggs, fresh fruit and cereals. Oh my. There are plenty of country roads to amble on and if you're into wine you will find some of the best in the world in this region. We travelled in France for a month and this was absolutely my favorite chateau stay.

Room Tip: There are very reasonably priced charming apartments attached to the chateau in which you have a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We loved our four day stay at Chateau de Messey. The buildings are very old and in beautiful condition, surrounded by a farm with lots of animals of particular interest to children, and vineyards. Lots of fabulous chateaux and scenery in the area. OUr hosts Delphine and Markus were extraodinarily helpful, not just to usbut to other guests-- in many ways, including offering to lend a car to guests who had difficulty getting their rental car repaired. Our room was spacious and airy, with a great view over the pond and the fields. The breakfast included much more than most French hotels, with fruit, eggs and cheese. The table de hote was excellent, as were the restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Our second stay at de Messey, and we can't get enough of this wonderful, quiet, charming place. In fact, for this trip through Paris, the French Alps and Burgundy, we arrranged it so that we could specifically return to de Messey, having enjoyed it so much the last time. The entire grounds, consisting of several old and historic buildings, are terrific. A lot of quiet, scenic corners to explore. And the tables and seating area along the stream is the perfect place for breakfast or to enjoy the terrific de Messey-produced wines.

The rooms vary from singe B&B rooms to gites of various sizes. We've stayed in the same one-bedroom gite both times and have enjoyed the location, space, and ambiance. It has a living room, dining area/table and small kitchenette on the first floor, and the bedroom and bath upstairs.

Most of all, the operators, Delphine and Markus, are terrific, kind and helpful hosts. They make you feel right at home and never seem bothered by requests for information, assistance or another bottle of wine.

We're already talking about return plans. We can't wait. thanks for a terrific return visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The setting of the chateau and its surroundings are breathtaking and a visit may be worthwhile for that alone. But DONT ARRIVE MONDAY when the kitchen is closed. We had to bundle kids back in the car after a long drive to go a further 14 km (not 7 as we'd been told at the chateau) to find dinner - the only restaurant nearby (at 2 km) was closed. We were given the same room in the chateau as one previous reviewer (La Tour) and were similarly disappointed. The room could do with some refurbishment and didn't have much charm, and the bathroom was of a poor standard. Other rooms were certainly much better, so be selective. The shower, like the whole experience, had occasional warm moments but left us feeling cold. Breakfast was served on a lovely terrasse but the croissants were unworthy of France. It was the least comfortable night of an excellent 14 day tour - but in a different room on another day, had we seen any of the hospitality we have heard about, we would no doubt have felt otherwise. Go as the setting is beautiful, but book with care.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We had the opportunity to stay here this past March. It happened to be beautiful blue sky weather, at a perfect french country side Chateau. I wish I was there right now!! The dinner prepared was WONDERFUL. It is a great location for the wine area. We were there for 3 nights and could have stayed forever.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Messey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Messey

Address: Lieu Dit Messey, 71700 Ozenay, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Ozenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ozenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Messey is located 8km from Tournus on D14 before Brancion (4km). The spot is quiet and immerge in a beautiful landscape, ideal for a restful stay. In this B&B you will find beautiful rooms furnished with antics : they are all different but charming and comfortable. We will offer you to taste the wines of the Chateau. Breakfast is served on the terrasse when the weather is warm enough. You may book ahead your dinner at our Table d'hote. Everything is homemade, seasonal, and purchased from local producers in priority. For a longer stay, we offer apartments to rent, with kitchnette and living room, for 2, 4 or 6 persons. Also we rent the whole house for big family or friends meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Messey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Messey Ozenay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Messey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.