We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porvoo Old Town

Porvoo Old Town
Jokikatu and Mannerheiminkatu, Porvoo 06100, Finland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Porvoo
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My experience of Porvoo Old Town is limited to a brief, semi-guided tour en route to dinner at one of its many restaurants but I found it enjoyable to stroll around. The cobbled streets were clean and the buildings well looked after. There looked to be some interesting shops too but, unfortunately, they were closed by the time we arrived. Several reviewers have already used the word quant but I have to do so again myself as it's wholly appropriate.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We were slightly disappointed when we came here a couple of years ago for reasons we really couldn't put our finger on.

However we gave it another go recently and really enjoyed our half day out whilst staying in Helsinki.

I can only steal the words of previous reviewers and say that Porvoo Old Town is very quaint and picturesque. A real trip back in time looking at the old houses along the riverbank and walking down the cobbled streets.

One reviewer has said that it is not worth the time and expense visiting here from Helsinki. We think it is worth it however they do have a point that it certainly isn't cheap and you will have to use your own judgement whether the journey time there and back is worth it to you. (Assuming you are travelling from Helsinki of course).

There are some beautiful shops selling hand made souvenirs (often made on the premises) one notable one being Ihania Design. Here you will find unique gifts and jewellery at very reasonable prices.

On the downside as you walk along the river out of The Old Town there has been a lot of building work going on and a pretty big housing area has sprung up. The houses have been designed and coloured sympathetically to try and blend in however it is a concern as to how many more will be built to the detriment of The Old Towns appeal.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of Finland's Gems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I love this town at any time of year. The buildings are lovely & the little cobbled streets, restaurants, shops & cafes make it one of the nicest towns I've visited in Finland. It's small enough that the young kids didn't get fed up too quickly. I've been in Summer, Autumn & Winter and would say it's well worth a visit any time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pictoresque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A great place for taking pictures of the old maritime port buildings. Many outdoor restaurants in the summertime.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Small quaint town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We took a bus trip from Helsinki and were surprised how small and beautiful the town was. It had some very interesting architecture and antique shops and a number of small tourist shops.. The homes we saw were very small, however had a great spot on the river. The locals had a market in the square which also sold some interesting items. The cobblestone street made hard walking. Particularly when you are not use to it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porvoo Old Town also viewed

Porvoo, Southern Finland
Porvoo, Southern Finland
 

Been to Porvoo Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porvoo Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.