We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel in the middle of nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haikko Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Haikko Manor to your Saves list
Hotel Haikko Manor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haikkoontie 114, Porvoo 06400, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Porvoo
Limmen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“very nice hotel in the middle of nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A beautiful hotel situated in a beautiful nature surrounding. visiting in low season, so a bit silent but still a very nice place for walking/hiking or sailing. Pool is a bit small for real swimming. The service is good, breakfast is excellent, rooms are small, but certainly sufficient (only thing missing was a coffee machine). Hotel seems less suited for families with young children, but maybe in summer more things are happening in the hotel. porvoo is nearby, nice for a visit. own car is recommended to go around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
47
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent two days at this hotel and spa. The rooms in the manor have been recently renovated and match well with the historical atmosphere. Adults and kids alike enjoyed the spa and although it was sometimes crowded during our Easter weekend, everything worked smoothly. The special Easter menu was well balanced with the selected wines. The staff was attentive and paid attention to the kids' needs as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed only a couple nights on a work visit, but had a pleasant experience.

The rooms are smallish, but well designed and comfortable.

Breakfast is served in the old part of the hotel which is very pretty. The food is clean and there's decent variety of meats and cereals. Didn't have time to try lunch or dinner at the hotel.

The grounds of the hotel are a beautiful place to take an evening walk.

Would definitely hope to stay again on any future visit to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel spa is for senior citizens only. The pool is not big enough for grown-ups but it is too big for children. Sauna is very good but the pool department is almost like a joke. Service is excellent and breakfast is really good. Surroundings are beautiful and quiet. There is no children`s play room. If you are 70+ this is for you but not for families with children. The manor side with nice Edelfelt paintings is better to stay than the spa side.

Room Tip: Take the manor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haikko, General Manager at Hotel Haikko Manor, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa. We truly appreciate all feedback as they help us to develop our products and services. According to very recent study 78% of our Spa guests are in active working life, so your assumption that our spa is for senior citizens only isn’t the case.

It’s true that our Spa isn’t a “wet’n’wild” type of family water park - a reason why so many of our adult customers choose us as their favorite place to relax.

During school holiday breaks we arrange a wide variety of activities also for families with children, please follow up www.haikko.fi

I will forward your positive comments to our staff referring our premises, breakfast and service - that will definitely empower them!

Yours truly,
Juha Mähönen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The manor and our room were nice, even though the TV didn't work. Service at the hotel was terrible or more correctly nonexistent. (The hotel advertised a butler-style service.) After the stay I wrote a letter to the hotel about the lack of service, but they didn't reply. The spa doesn't quite fit modern standards and there's were few pampering treatments available. (Don't believe the list of treatments they give you. Only a few of the treatments on the list are actually available.) The food at the spa was terrible. The restaurant at the manor offered edible food, but at a extravagant price. As the manor itself and its surroundings are pleasant, the hotel isn't hopeless, but with the hotels price level it's really poor quality for your money.

Room Tip: Don't get a room from the spa. They are terrible. The rooms at the manor are better. For even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaikkoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Haikko Manor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments as it is a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which we may utilize in an effort to further develop our hotel and it’s services.
We are happy to see your positive comments regarding our Manor House facilities in general and especially it’s rooms, where you were upgraded to Imperial room.
I apologize that one of the two TV’s in your room didn’t work, and that our Butler couldn’t get it fixed during your one night stay due to the winter holidays.
You wrote us an e-mail complaint on Feb 20th at 23:24, on which we replied on the following Monday at 14:26, and further with a complete explanation the day after.
Therefore we find it somewhat strange that in your review you state that we did not reply.
All Spa treatments listed are available when booked in advance. We understand and emphasize your disappointment when you didn’t get very wide variety of pampering
treatments to choose from, as you didn’t book anything in advance but simply walked in. In our web-site we strongly recommend our guests to reserve well in advance to
ensure the requested treatments.
We are sorry that you didn’t like the food at our Spa Bistro, which is a very casual self-service outlet for our Spa customers. We will definitely take action to improve the
variety and quality of food there.

Sincerely Yours,
Juha Mähönen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our stay was good, excellent even, but the restaurant dinner was a big minus. Had mushroom soup (kitchen's greeting) and reindeer (starter), both excellent. Unfortunately, the main dish (pike perch) and dessert (lime marang cake) were a huge disappointment after the expections set by the first courses (and the prices). 32+12,5 euros for bland, greasy dishes, the fish accompanied with a poor choice of recommended Chardonnay was much less than expected. However, the service and breakfast were very good, spa and gym rather small but cozy. Would stay there again but definitely drive to Porvoo for dinner (and dance, as the bar obviously did not have a dj but songs would start and stop rather weirdly).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have been to Haikko Manor a couple of times on meetings. It is a nice hotel not to far from Helsinki. The rooms I have stayed in is not the most modern but nothing to complain about. The surroundings are ideal for outdoor activities. Good food and friendly staff. Love the sauna by the lake!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haikko Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haikko Manor

Address: Haikkoontie 114, Porvoo 06400, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Porvoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Porvoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haikko Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Haikko Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haikko Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.