We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, located close to the old city of Ribe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ribe Byferie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ribe Byferie to your Saves list
Ribe Byferie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damvej 34, Ribe 6760, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ribe
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, located close to the old city of Ribe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments in the Easter 2014. We used this place as an starting point when we visited Legoland (a few minutes more than one hour drive if you drive the alternative roads), we also went to the beach of Rømø to watch the beach and all of the people flying the kites.
The apartments was nice for us. We just wished there had been a microwave oven in it. The flooring between the kichen and the living room area was quite noisy, I am not sure if the couple staying under us was bothered when we walked between the areas. My daughter enjoyed the playground outside the apartment a lot.
We enjoyed the areas around the center a lot. It was nice to just walk around in the area around the vacation center and into the Ribe city.
There was free entrance to Ribe swimmingpool, and the Esbjerg waterpark but we did not manage to find the time to use these facilities at this stay.
We will come back an other time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co down
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here with work - what a great place and lots of room space.
each apartment has one bedroom, one bathroom and a kitchen/diner with a small hallway.
Has all of the usual self catering acoutrements......in the kitchen fully equipped but no microwave. Bathroom has basically got hand wash gel and hairdryer provided. Rooms and area are well lit. Large TV in sitting area has CNN in English the rest of the chanels are local or German. Shower has good pressure.
All adds up to a lovely relaxed place. Just sorry I did not get to explore the local area a bit more. Ribe is a really old town with an impressive Viking heritage. We had a packed breakfast during our last stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We selected Ribe as a destination point for many reasons. It was the start of our summer family holiday and we needed somewhere between Hamburg (Germany) - which was our set-off point, and Legoland in Billund. Ribe is described as Denmark's oldest towns. It is in fact very sweet - but very quite for those who prefer more activities. It has a very sweet small inlet harbour and a main road lined up with a good selection of shops. The town square is charming as well as the houses around it. The Ribe Byferie was our accommodation for 3 nights. Situated within walking distance (10 minutes max) of the town centre, it is made up of a series of apartments in the shape of upper and lower level. The blocks are aligned along the Ribe stream and I honestly cannot find anything but praise for the setup. We are a family of four, including 2 kids, and our apartment had a kitchen, a living room, a bathroom and an additional bedroom. Being a ground floor, we also had a very comfortable back yard. Amply spacious, modern and clean - an excellent base for anyone. The main block houses the reception area (which is open until 6pm daily). Here one can avail himself from free hot drinks, apart from a very well-equipped games room with Table-Tennis, Table-soccer, Playstation and Xbox, other board games etc. It is a fantastic way of spending an hour or so after having been out in the morning and before planning to go out again at night. Breakfast can be ordered from the evening before. The basic breakfast comes in the shape of a paper bag with a selection of aroud 5 different breads, jams, butter, cheese and a fruit juice. Other things can be ordered but I am not sure what these are. There is also a launderette, and fantastic outdoor facilities for warmer summer months - such as a playground, a football pitch and a BBQ area. There is also a safe enclosed parking area for those who like us had a car. By the way, you can take your own linen (sheets and towels), or else you need to rent these for the duration of the stay. Beautiful place and I seriously recommend this setup to anyone planning a visit to this part of Denmark. From this spot we were 90 mintues away from Legoland and 15 minutes away from the island of Mondo. Try it, seriously.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a room facing the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Being world travelers, the Ribe Byferie is one of the best places we have ever stayed. We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground level that was fully equipped with a nice patio for our 4-day stay. All the modern conveniences you could ask for was there, except a microwave. Staff could not have been more friendly. When booking, be sure to include the morning breakfast. Breakfast every morning was awesome with rolls, yogart, cheese, butter, jams, and orange juice and plenty of it. Ribe Byferie is conveniently located to the point you don't need a vehicle to go into town. With the exception of traveling around the area, our car stayed in Ribe Byferie's gated parking lot. While this is a great family oriented place with many things to do on the premises, it is also a great place for couples. Can't say enough about this location!

Room Tip: I can't think of a bad room you could get here. The facility is off the main road. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed only one night in a one of the smaller apartments (A1) with two little kids. Ribe Byferie is really close to the old town and in good walking distance, this was actually our main requirement and fully fulfilled.

The apartment was clean but everything looked a bit 'old' especially the bathroom / shower. Also the small river outside was a bit smelly. This is complaining on a high-level, but what really annoyed us was that you could hear everything going on in the apartments next to ours.

I think it is a good choice for a larger family group that is staying for a few days and is going to some north sea safaris. However for a small family staying only one night and looking more for a hotel this is maybe not the best choice as it is also quite pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here for five nights with my family and a couple of friends. We were in a two storey apartment (nr. 14), that consisted of a combined kitchen/livingroom, one bathroom, one bedroom and a sleeping loft. The apartment also had a small balcony.

We really enjoyed our stay there, but could have done with another bedroom and bathroom. There were seven of us and it got a little cramped although it didn't bother us that much as we were out most of the time. However, as two of the beds are a sofa bed, they should put up some blinds or something to leave the sun out of the living room in the morning. Now there are only thin curtains that don't block any sun at all!

The main purpose for us going to Denmark was to visit Legoland, and the package we booked (through the Legoland homepage) included two days entance for all seven of us. Legoland is situated about an hours drive from Ribe.

The apartment/hotel was really clean and well equipped for a large group - however, don't forget to bring your own bedding, towels etc. You will also need to buy your own toilet paper and all that kind of stuff (which we already knew about upon arrival, however some people might miss it).

There is a playground and a couple of trampolines on site for the kids, and there are saunas and jacuzzis available (but cost extra). Although they don't have a restaurant, they have the option of at least ordering breakfast.

Ribe is a really cute little town, and it feels genuine and proper "Danish". There are several small restaurants in the town centre, and a few shops. Supermarkets such as Kvickly and Fotex are nearby and offer everything you might need.

We also drove down to Germany one day. From Ribe to Flensburg it took us a little over an hour to drive. Good bargains for us Swedes when it comes to alcohol! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spacious and well equipped apartments, well suited for families. Strangely enough there are no microwave ovens, but other than that we did not lack anything during our stay. Ribe byferie is close to the center of Ribe, has a playground and a very nice outdoor "barbecue kitchen". Close enough for Legoland as well. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ribe Byferie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribe Byferie

Address: Damvej 34, Ribe 6760, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg Municipality > Ribe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ribe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribe Byferie 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular holiday centres in Denmark. High standards and beautiful surroundings in the heart of Ribe. Waddensea Nationalpark 2 km. LEGOLAND 55 km. Beach 30 km. Airport 55 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ribe Byferie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ribe Byferie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.