We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel with a few grumbles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chez Paulo

Hotel Chez Paulo
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pas de la Casa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Chez Paulo
Pas de la Casa, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 35 hotels in Pas de la Casa
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A decent hotel with a few grumbles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the hotel from the 28th Dec 08 till 4th Jan 09. It was our first visit to Andorra and the skiing was great for all abilities but mainly the intermediate skiers and borders.

The Hotel. The staff are superb. Very friendly indeed and very helpful. Generally the rooms are OK. As you would expect from any ski hotel within this price range . The rooms are basic but clean. All you need really. Ha ha and the walls really are like paper, but after a hard day on the slopes and a bottle of wine. Who cares?

The food on the whole is on the better side of average (3 courses usually includine Meat, Fish and a vege option).

The main negative we found is that the hotel is also a popular restaurant used by the general public (Mainly the Spanish and French). This, I suppose is good, but the half board option serves food at a lower quality than the paying visitors. So we felt a little left out I suppose. The hotel guests are served dinner between 7 aand 9. Many of us felt that we were ushered out of the restaurant at 9 as the tables are reserved by other people.

The above would not be so bad if there was a lounge to go to chill out. There is a bar but it is impossible to use in the evening. Furthermore, although the bar is supposed to be open between 4 and 6 for coffee etc. The staff were slightly reluctant to serve us as they were preparing the tables for the evening.

If you are the type of person who just needs a bed and decent food then this is the place for you. But if you are part of a group or a family and want somewhere to sit together and chill out together in the evening instead of going out, then the Chez Paulo may not be ideal.

Oh an one last thing. Ski lockers are available in the hotel but the slopes are a 150m walk up the hill. We booked a locker on the slopes. 20 Euros for the week. A little expensive I know but well worth it.

Thanks for reading our review.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Being ushered out of the hotel at 9pm
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Just returned from the Chez Paulo. I really enjoyed my stay here, although at first I was a little disappointed with the look of the place (is pretty basic, and the lift wasn't working), I was quickly won over by the staff (they would rush to grab my snowbaord or bag upstairs for me) and the food choices in the evening.
You know your hotel has a great restaurant when you have to push past locals que-ing for a table! Oh, and they plop 2 different types of shnapps on your table after dessert - gratis!

Cant really add to what others have commented about the great location. What stopped me giving a '5 star' review was the thin walls. Take ear plugs! - only gripe throughout the whole fanstastic week.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Stayed in Chez Paulo mid Feb, it is little more than a youth hostel. The rooms are basic and suffer from a complete lack of storage, there was a single bedside cabinet with two small draws and no coat hangers in the wardrobe. We had to live out of our suitcases for the week.

The Lift does not work so get used to walking up the 4 flights of stairs.

The electrics in the room where bare wire covered with cellotape.

The shower did not drain so you had to use a plunger whilst showering.

The Upstairs Shower leaked through our ceiling.

The corridors once had wood paneling which has long since gone leaving bare plaster and stud work.

The Food was good (Except for Vegetarians) we had two in our party and they where served Chicken as the Veg option!!!

The Chez Paula serves a purpose somewhere to sleep. Do not get any other expectations or your will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

derry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

There was 5 of us who stayed in this Hotel-a double and a triple room and i must say-the stay was excellent!! Rooms were nothing fancy but what do you need when your there for a weeks skiing!! It was in a good location-couple mins walk from were the bus dropped you off and collected you and a 5-8min walk uphill from the slopes, which I found good to get your day started. The breakfast was good, we only ate in the hotel on the first night because there were plenty of other restaurants in Pas to keep us satisfied. We all enjoyed the trip?stay so much that we've just booked it for Feb 2008 and i cannot wait to hit the slopes(+pubs) again!!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Stayed at Chez Paulo as part of a Crystal ski booking - from Sun to Sat between Christmas and New Year.

Location - only about a 5 minute walk to the slopes. Located where the shops and bars and restaurants are.

Rooms - it's a very small hotel, but the rooms were adequate. Good heating. Stayed in a double bunk bed which throughout the whole week of skiing - I had no complaints. Rooms cleaned daily, fresh towels daily. Walls can be a little thin. Very small TV, but we hardly ever had time to watch TV.

Meals - Breakfast typically continental - croissants, pain au chocolat, bread, water, juice, coffee and ham. That's about it, so for those who like a fry-up or a little more variety, you'll have to try breakfast elsewhere. Dinner was good - 3 course with about 4 choices each (though inevitably only 3 choices were available). There's also usually one choice which is clearly better than others.

Staff - Generally extremely friendly and helpful, though these seemed to be mainly young people working only during the season.

Price - not sure of the breakdown, but return flight from London, transfer and accom for 7 nights was 400 pounds, so great value overall.

Overall - if you just need a basic place to stay, Chez Paulo is perfectly adequate. Would not hesitate to stay here again. All in all, an excellent 3 star hotel with no obvious problems.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

Myself, my wife and our 2 kids aged 10 and 12 have just recently stayed at the Chez Paulo.. We booked a family room as part of our ski package, which consisted of bunk beds and a single bed in one room and through the alcove was a double bed with the en-suite bathroom. The room was of a good standard with wooden flooring and a small compact bathroom with shower. Every day the room was cleaned to a high standard (even the inside of the lid to my shaving foam was cleaned). The booking included breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast was a typical continental type affair which was just the job in the morning. For the evening meal we had a choice of 4 starters, 4 Mains and 4 puddings. The food and service was fantastic. The whole Chez Paulo experience was better than I had expected, the staff were all very friendly and I would have NO hesitation in recommending the Hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izeult
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

A group of us stayed at this hotel last year on our first ski holiday. I wasn't impressed. There was four of us in one room that was too small, the curtains didnt' close fully, the windows were poor fitting and used to be iced up on the inside every morning.

The ensuite bathroom was small but grubby and despite apparent cleaning every morning still looked the same. Also the hotel were very tight with toilet paper, I'm not sure why (Actually this seemed to be a problem widespread throughout Pas de la casa in clubs and pubs)!

As for the decor around the rest of the hotel ~ paint chipping, hand rails on stairs and dado rails on the walls were missing or incomplete.

The lift broke the first day we arrived (we were stuck in it for awhile) and one of the other girls I was there with slipped down one of the steps the second day going to breakfast and sprained her ankle, the tiled steps were slippy that early in the morning.

Also it was quite a distance up to the slopes in the altitiude, however the hotel was close to where the bus dropped us off and to some fairly decent shops. My advice would be to find something closer to the ski lifts.

Breakfast was bread, cheese and maybe ham. Dinner was also poor and served on breadboards.

I researched this hotel as much as possible before going and I was very disappointed with it. Its cheap but I'd be slow to call it cheerful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chez Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Paulo

Address: Pas de la Casa, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 hotels in Pas de la Casa
Also Known As:
Chez Paulo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chez Paulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Chez Paulo to your Saves list