We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accomodation i've stayed in yet for a ski holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llac Negre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Llac Negre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llac Negre Hotel
Carrer Sant Jordi 43, Pas de la Casa, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Pas de la Casa
London
1 review
“The best accomodation i've stayed in yet for a ski holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This hotel is brilliant for a ski holiday. We had excellent service and amazing food all week- so much so we're regretting going to the rib night at the milwauki as we're sure that the ribs served at the hotel that night would have been better. The location can't be faulted- just a 2 minute walk from the piste. The service was unbelievable- these guys work so hard to mkae you feel welcome and to meet your every need. Breakfast was simple but as much as you can eat and always really nice. You could order cooked breakfast if you wanted ..for a fiver. Dinner was amazing- two choices of starter, main and dessert- and excellent food. You get a waiter/waitress service at your table and can also order any drink form the bar to be brought to your dinner table. The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean and the housekeeping service was brilliant. Always warm and clean. The service at the bar was also excellent...and in general the whole thing was just unbelievable value for money. It's the best accomodation i've had skiing and I would definitely recommend it to everyone. I would love to stay there again in the future and would agree with the other reviews that you get a 5 star service for 2 star prices.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    18
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Family run hotel five minute walk to the ski slopes.Reception is in the bar. there is a small lift to all floors.Dining room is large , clean, well decorated with customer toilet handily placed but discreet.Buffet breakfast was included in our deal but full English breakfast available for 5.5Euros . Evening meals were two choices of starter two mains and two deserts.service was great and the meals were good portions . Nothing fancy just good home cooking.The carafe of house red wine was 7 Euros and was as good as any that i have had . Rooms clean and well serviced a bit short on storage space if anything.well appointed bathroom and excellent showers.Electric shutters are an added facility . Overall this is probably the best value hotel that I have stayed in for a ski holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Booking a Two star hotel you don't expect much, however, my stay at Llac Negre exceed all expectations. The rooms were basic, but comfortable, warm and clean. The location to the slopes was a 2 minute walk, so very convenient.

However, the best was yet to come. The high level of hospitality out shined any thing I have experienced in higher star hotels; The staff were friendly and extemely helpful. The food was really good home cooked food and varied night to night.

I would definately recommend!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Excellent hotel. The hotel was basic but very clean with everything you need. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble - Pat, the owner, even laid on a special 5-course meal with complimentary drinks for New Years Eve.

Breakfast is continental but you can pay extra for a cooked breakfast if you wish. Dinner was 3-course waitress-service with a choice of two for each course. I'm a pretty fussy eater but never went hungry!

The hotel is a 5-minute uphill walk from the slopes - so worth hiring ski locker at the slopes. Conviently located for the nightlife too.

The hotel can be noisywalls are very thin so ! Overall I would thoroughly recommend it and would definately choose to stay there again if ever back in Pas.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmansam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is truly a wonderful place to stay. The owner Pat goes out of his way to make sure you have a great stay at the Llac Negre. Rooms are basic but have TV, en suite and balconies. Good ski storage in the hotel and the food is excellent real no nonesense stuff. Happy hour in the bar is very popular with pints going for about 2 euro.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Stayed here for a week and that was enough for myself and my partner. The skiing area was good for all ranges of abilites. Unfortunatly the hotel had its ups and downs. We booked with first choice which we found out that cyrstal would be our tour operator only by chance when we arrived in toulouse at the airport. cant fault the service we recieved. there was lots of excursions to do. i definatly advise to go on the bum boards when the slope close.

The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from the slopes downhill and a very tiring walk back up. (rent out ski lockers next to the slopes to keep your skis there so you dont have to lug them back forth)

When we arrived at the hotel it was a mass rush to check in and move through the tiny hallway with our bags and to get into the lift. Our room was on the 3rd floor and that was tiring enough just to walk it carrying nothing. Our room was very small and had a double bed and a single bed talking up the majority of the floor space of which we had to place our suitcases on. we had a balcony facing onto the road. (warning do not ask for 1 if you like to have a lie in past 6am! you can hear everything from the road) The bathroom was "cosy", cleaned daily and the shower head was hanging off the wall. we had a beday and the cleaner had some kind of view that my wash bag had to live in it after she came round! Unfortantly the walls & floors are very very very thin so you can hear everything and i mean everything through out the hotel at all times, we had a group of 20 lads staying across the hotel banging doors and just shouting in the early hours everyday.

The food was very good each day for breakfast and dinner with a different choice of two things each day and definatily the best thing about the hotel. Drinks are very expensive due to the euro against pounds at the mo and the happy hour is very early.

Eating out turned out to be expensive for lunch as we only went half board. at all the restuarants you will be paying about min. £10 each for a decent meal which you will need with all the skiing. nightlife was good but also not cheap a few bars we went to were very small and cramped but generally a good atmosphere everywhere.

Over all i would spend the extra money to stay in a better quality hotel but if you are looking for cheap & cheerful this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Having stayed in the resort at another hotel at the same time last year we knew what to expect, but we were however very surprised!! This hotel is far far better, and I only wish I knew about it the first time I came to Pas. The rooms although basic were clean and comfortable, the Aussie owner and staff were always happy and helpful, and the food... well that made our stay... it was fantastic!! Its plated and served to you whilst you sit on your group table. The choices are very good, and every meal was tasty... with huge portions!! I would also recommend the Carafs of house wine which compared to the inflated alcohol prices (the economys fault, not the hotel!) were very reasonable at 7Euro for a Litre.
Nice little extras (which saved us more money) were that you get free endless bottles of water during meals, and also individual lockable ski lockers...
On the note of downsides, which have been mentioned by previous guests, yes the walls are thin, and yes you do hear the drunks going to their rooms in the early hours, but hey youre on a Snow Holiday, in a resort that has been labelled as a winter party place, so if thats going to upset you go to another destination!
This hotel without doubt deserves to be rated as No1, and I along with all my friends wouldnt hesitate to stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Llac Negre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llac Negre Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Jordi 43, Pas de la Casa, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your ideal location for a summer or winter stay in the beautiful mountain resort of Andorra. Warm, comfortable and friendly, we are perfectly located in the village of Pas de la Casa. Only 350m from the ski lifts, our central location offers access to the largest skiing area in Andorra. You will also be situated close to the wide variety of duty free shopping for which Andorra is renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Llac Negre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Llac Negre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llac Negre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.