We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy IV

Sandy IV
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pas de la Casa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy IV
Calle La Solana, Pas de la Casa, Andorra   |  
Ranked #32 of 35 hotels in Pas de la Casa
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

This Hotel is an absolute disgrace.

You have to leave theTour operator bus in the middle of the town, after an ardous night flight & Monster Bus Ride, walk up a massive hill covered in Ice in the middle of a blizzard.
By the time you reach the hotel you find your suitcase thrown in a puddle in the middle of the street!

Greeted by a miserable & inept Tour rep who's only conceren is to sting you for a lift Pass & Skiing equiptment, then by Grumpy hotel receptionist who takes your passports then stings you for £100 before he gives you your keys! ( the chap who looked like Harry from Dumb & Dumber was more usefull )

The rooms are the quite frankly the dirtiest I have ever paid money to reside in. 4 of us were given a "cell" with 2 Prison Style bunk beds in a tiny area, with dirtly blankets & pillows a filthy kitchen, with broken cupboards, filthy impliments & Dust / Crumbs everywhere, and a dirty, mouldy bathroom to complete the set. The guy who inspected our room on departure ( before he gave us our £100 back even had the nerve to say it wasn't the cleanest when we left despite the fact we left it cleaner than it was when we arrived)

Didnt bother to eat or drink in the hotel given the state of the rooms we didnt even risk the hygeine of the kitchen / bar. there are Plenty of decent eateries & Bars in the main town. Skiing conditions were excellent, very few lift ques / breakdowns and the location of the sandy is the only thing going for it

If you are mindful of the fact the Hotel is going to be a dump, and don't mind slumming it for a week then stay here - otherewise don't even contemplate booking here!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

I have just returned from a week in Andorra staying at the Sandi IV apartments. I cant really fault them in any way whatsoever. We were a group of eight lads in one duplex apartment. It was a bit of a squeeze but very good fun. The room was clean and everything was there. The reception staff were always helpful and we used the on-site ski storage area with no problems. The Man in the Sport shop come hire shop was also very friendly and helpful and sorted us out with what we needed very quickly. The bar area was also very good with nice smiley people working behind the bar from morning to night. The Full English breakfast being served provided us with all the energy we needed for a full days skiing. The other food on the menu was also very good and well priced. The slopes are a 150 yards away down the hill and are no problem to walk to even with ski boots on your feet. For the night life the place is well situated with the main bars just down the hill and being drunk means you don't really notice the hill on the way back. I had my reservations about this apartment after reading a few of the reviews on here but it was excellent, especially for the price we paid for the holiday. I didn't hear anybody else complain about anything either so I can recommend a stay here no problem.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

well just came back from the sandy apparments , was with a group of 9 lad's , well as soon as we got there they only had us down for one room , after a couple of minutes they soon sorted it to there credit . they wanted 150 euros straight away but after leaving our passport's we delayed paying for a few day's .

The rooms were preety shocking as they were meant for 6 people we had 5 in there and there was one tiny wardrobe for 6 people so basically we had to live out of a case , the bed's are bunk bed's which are not the best with hardly any room to move .

the lounge was basic with hardly any room what so ever .

bathroom was preety awful.

towels only got changed once in a week which is not the nicest.

ski / snow board room , had no padlocks left so we had to put ski's etc in the appartment not good when you could hardly swing a cat anyway.

reception people and bar people were quite nice people and can understand english and speak english well which is all good if any problems.

we did manage to see the room next door to us on the last day and they did look quiet nice with separate bedrooms and modern bathroom, if only we had that room !!!!

overall really nice resort with some nice pubs to enjoy a few beers after the skiing. for the hotel dont expect to much special probally best to try and pay a bit extra and get a higher star hotel !!!!

  • Liked — The view and people we went with
  • Disliked — th
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

Bad Points - Well theres only one - the fact they sting you with a 150 euro (£100) deposit on the room when you check in, which you do get back when you check out if theres no breakages in the room

Good Points - Well after reading many reviews on here i must say i was slightly dubious but once there i soon realised it was one of the friendliest hotels i have ever stayed in.

I would say it was more suited to singles and groups rather than families although there were a few families there who seemed to enjoy their stay!

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable with kitchenette, living area and seperate bedroom and a balcony overlooking the main town of pas
There is a ski hire shop within the hotel and lockers for your skis/boards.
The apartments are in an ideal location being close to the slopes and nightlife, with billboard and milwauke being most popular!

The bar area was communal with nice food and friendly bar staff . I would definitely stay here again!!!!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

I stayed at the Sandy during February half term with my school. I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews of the establishment on this website. When i asked the manager why the reviews were bad, he informed me it was before the revamp when virtually every room has been redecorated and refitted with decent bathroom fittings and a good kitchen.

Room

There was the maximum of 6 people in my room but there was enough wardrobe space for everyone. I don't think this is case in every room but there was enough space to stack your clothes in a wardrobe (if 2 of you shared one wardrobe) The kitchen was well equipped with a microwave, fridge (little freezer) , hob (none of them worked..perhaps the hotel switched them off?) and a toaster.....you get a kettle if you request it from the reception desk. The television had no english channels but we were never in the room enough to watch any tele so it didn't matter. The door in the room was very secure with 2 locks.

Ski Storage

Was fine....no problems.

Reception desk

Was very helpful with any issues. They spoke very good english. Despite the fact i was handing in the key and then asking for it back again every 10 minutes they still managed to mantain a smile.

Facitlies

There is a ski shop in the hotel but its overpriced....its better to walk into town where there are many ski shops. There is a internet facility which is 1 euro for 10 mins. A games room with air hockey, 2 pool tables, table football and a crap dart board.

Bar

Has a very nice 42 inch plasma that's got sport on every night. The bar staff can be dosy so its easy to buy your soft drink from the machine in reception which is exactly the same price. The food was a reasonable standard, not great but it will do to fill up after a hard days skiing.

Conclusion

For 150 quid you can go here during easter which is a good deal but the amount of snow in Andorra is likely to be far less then it was in February( It was nearly ice when i was there) I would recommend staying here but i can understand how it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolyback Land
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

This may possibly be THE WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!! What is FLAN?????? I don't know but it seems to be their favourite food???? What is up with that????? The only good thing about flan is that you can throw it out of your window, that is fun!!!! The rooms were disgraceful as were the staff except Adam from Airtours, he was sound!!!!!! Oh and Jake the American!!!!!!! Do you like bread???? If not unlucky because that is ALL there is!!!!!!!!!! Have fun eating Flan!!!!!!!!!!!!! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

  • Liked — Nothing or flan
  • Disliked — flan
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

WARNING WANRING AVOID AT ALL COSTS

I would never stay here again, the worst hotel ever, the Front desk are just no bothered about anything, in 7 days I complaints about the noise 10 times, but still nothing was done about it.

They had a well-versed line that they told all the customers “If the noise dose not stop we will call the police”

Noise was unbearable; furniture was moved all day and night,

Every time the air tours sales reps saw you just wanted to try and get another 50 euros out of you.

Where told there where family event organized and sold tickets for a Mexican night now, told kids would enjoy it. Turned out to be a beer drinking competition

WARNING AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — eveything
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandy IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy IV

Address: Calle La Solana, Pas de la Casa, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 hotels in Pas de la Casa
Also Known As:
Sandy Iv Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandy IV to your Saves list