We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tzam Poc Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tzam Poc Resort to your Saves list
Tzam Poc Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rural Santa Catarina Km. 6.5 | Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, Santa Catarina Palopo 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This house/hotel is the kind of place you want to be to have a great view of Atitlan lake, have an excellent service and relax all you want... The owner is such a nice, smart and interesting guy, he and his staff will make you feel like home. Tzam Poc is located in a really high hill, if you are driving be sure your car is 4x4, otherwise it will be difficult to get to the top. I really recommend the breakfast, a lot of delicious fresh fruit, honey, milk, coffee, eggs, beans, cheese and home marmalade... Expect to be delighted by the sunset and sunrise from the terrace or infinity pool!!! Can't wait to be back!!! :)

Room Tip: Reserve room # 3... a mini house room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

gorgeously designed by Italian builder architect Luciano. The gardens are a dream. the pool with the view is even better than the photos. Tucked away in Santa Catarina de Polpolo, views of the lake are superb. Heidi even helped us arrange a lake boating tour. Watch out for the crazy driveway!

Room Tip: love the breakfast and Luciano is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I visited Tzam Poc in February 2012 and we were enchanted by it. It is the most beautiful, unique hotel I have ever visited and the service was impeccable. We were in a gorgeous villa with a kitchen and the chef delivered our dinner every afternoon for us to warm when we were ready to eat. The food was incredible. The grounds are meticulously kept by a very kind groundskeeper. Every aspect of the hotel was designed by its proprietor, Lucio and the place is dripping with style and beauty. The infinity pool overlooking Lake Atitlan, accompanied by the hot tub which also overlooks the lake is perhaps the most incredible aspect of the hotel. Additionally special is breakfast-- set at a large outdoor table overlooking the lake, with a lattice dripping with gorgeous flowers and hummingbirds overhead. Lucio was very helpful in helping us decide which adventures we wanted to explore around Lake Atitlan. The setting of Lake Atitlan itself is a thing of breathtaking beauty, but having spent 5 weeks at various locations around the Lake, Tzam Poc was my favorite place by far.

Having read one of the other reviews for this hotel, I think it is important to stress that this is not a typical hotel. The driveway is extremely steep, and our taxi had to stop half way up. So it is best to plan to walk your baggage up the driveway. This is actually true for many places around Lake Atitlan-- it is built on the slopes of volcanoes, so easily portable bags are recommended (I learned this the hard way!) and being in good shape is a plus. Tzam Poc is not the kind of hotel where you are waited on hand and foot throughout the day, as you might find at an all-inclusive resort-- it is more of a bed and breakfast. You are left on your own throughout the day, but the groundskeeper or Lucio is always available for help. However, at breakfast, your every need is anticipated, and dinner is delicious. I believe that for bigger groups, group dinners can be arranged that would be more typical of a restaurant-type dinner.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone with a sense of adventure and an appreciation of natural beauty and incredible style. Among my world travels, Tzam Poc might be my favorite place to stay. We cannot wait to go back and hope to bring friends next time!

Room Tip: There are some villas with kitchens and some rooms. I don't think the difference in price is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My girlfriend was born in Guatemala, and the occasion of a pair of family weddings called us there. In between the weddings, we traveled to three locations outside of the capital city, including the beautiful and mysterious Lake Atitlan. We chose Tzam Poc at Atitlan based on the photos of what looked like a dramatic view of the lake and the volcanoes beyond. The view was all that and more, but it is only part of what makes Tzam Poc special.

Tzam Poc is more accurately described as a bed and breakfast, not a resort. They'll cook dinner on request (for a small extra charge) too, but you have to let them know early in the day so they can get fresh ingredients from the market. It's perched on a hill just beyond and above the village of Santa Catarina. (Hint: when entering the grounds via a very steep access road, DON'T STOP. Better yet, rent a 4X4!). It consists of a series of small buildings, each containing no more than 2 units (on different levels), and the main house where the owner lives. Thus, it takes ramps and stairs to get from one place to another, but also provides a feeling of total privacy in each unit.

It is very much the product of the somewhat eccentric imagination of its owner, Lucio Mamberto, who is an architect. Imagine a Mediterranean villa (the owner was born in Italy) crossed with a bit of Antoni Gaudi and Dr. Seuss. If that's not your cup of tea, I understand. And the quirkiness can lead to a few things not being particularly efficient or logical. No matter. It's magic. Lucio is a charming host with a lifetime of interesting and somewhat mysterious stories, and you are treated like a personal guest in his home.

Home cooked breakfast is served on the terrace (dinner in the dining room of the main house). There is a patio with a swimming pool, jacuzzi, and wood-fired sauna. This patio provides some of the most spectacular vistas I have ever seen, multiplied tenfold by the optical illusion of the pool hanging directly over the lake. At night, the sounds of the village float up the mountain, sounds of musical instruments and parties.

Lucio is a local now, having lived there for many years. He employes a handful of residents as cooks and maintenance people, and it very much feels like a family operation. So, when we decided to take a boat ride across the lake to one or more of the surrounding villages (there are 12), arrangements were quickly made with a pilot who was a friend of someone on staff. This proved to be a huge bonus, as we were spared having to negotiate with the many boat captains that gather at the dock in the village. We got a ride down in the back of a pickup, introductions were made, and off we went. Enrique, our pilot, knew who was who in the villages as well, and would call ahead on his cell to make sure the right tuk-tuk (a kind of three wheeled mini-taxi) driver was waiting for us. Without going into too much detail, suffice it to say that we were guided to an inside view of local culture by locals, and I'm pretty sure we owe it to our decision to stay at Tzam Poc.

If you are looking for orderliness, anonymity, and typical luxury, Tzam Poc my not be for you. If you are seeking something truly unique, you'll find it there. Given how magical Lake Atitlan itself is, that seems entirely appropriate

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We did not have a pleasant experience at Tzampoc Resort. My expectations and my family's were of a more modern hotel. The pictures in the website were too good and we were disappointed with what we found. Just to get to the hotel we had trouble with the car since it is an incline of good 45 degrees. The place did not seem to have good maintenance, it was not very clean, lots of step to get to the villas. The views were amanzing, but we were so uncomfortable that we did not enjoy them as much. The weather did not help, there was a storm and it rained for more than 24 hours. The worst experience was that my sister and her family got intoxicated with charcoal fumes that was left in the room for heat. In the middle of the night we did not get any assistance and we did not even have a flashlight. We had reservations for three nights and we cut it short to one night. I will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We arranged our wedding her in January 2009. The owner's wife is a local notary who married us. This is such a perfect spot, the pictures on their website do not do justice to the location nor does it show how great Lucio, the owner, his wife and their staff are.

I can't recommend this place highly enough!!! If you want to get married in Guatemala, this is your venue!!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

I have never experienced such warm and friendly service and personal attention at any other resort. Lucio, the owner, welcomes you like family; he is one of the most fascinating people you'll ever met. He and his staff went out of their way to help us with our plans to ensure that we made the most of our stay in Lago Atitlan. Not only did we find a gem of a resort but we also made a friend. We will never forget this place. The views and architecture are stunning, the resort itself is very well maintained, and the staff will make you feel like royalty.

  • Liked — The service and beauty of the resort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
4.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tzam Poc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tzam Poc Resort

Address: Via Rural Santa Catarina Km. 6.5 | Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, Santa Catarina Palopo 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tzam Poc Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor pool, Tzampoc Resort is located in Santa Catarina Palopo, right on Atitlan Lake. It features free daily breakfast, plus free Wi-Fi and parking. Each room here boasts bright traditional decor and has a small seating area and a private bathroom. All rooms include stunning views of the lake. At Tzampoc Resort you will find a sauna, jacuzzi and a garden. Restaurants and shops can be found in the neighbouring town of Panajachal, situated 6.5 Km away and accessible by boat. The property can also arrange for a private chef. Guatemala City Centre, where you will find La Aurora International Airport, can be reached in 3 by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tzam Poc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tzam Poc Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Tzam Poc Resort Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tzam Poc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.