We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, gorgeous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Palopo

Save Saved
You added Casa Palopo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Palopo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel bills itself as the “First Luxury Hotel in Lake Atitlan.” It’s beautiful setting on a cliff overlooking the lake and its three volcanoes is stunning. The hotel itself is charming, with it’s walls painted in bright blues, whites, and yellows and decorated with local textiles, ceramics, and wooden carvings.

The hotel has it’s own dock so we were dropped off there after our tour of the lake. But it’s a long walk up to the hotel and we had to take several breaks to catch our breath.

The small gift shop next to the lobby sells local crafts that have been given a more modern twist, such as aprons and table runners made from a combination of local textiles, pillow covers made from embroidered blouses and painted ceramic figurines in the local dress.

One can choose to eat indoors in the dining room or on the terrace overlooking the lake. The latter is a good option for pre-dinner drinks and watching the sunset over the lake.

Our room had its own terrace and opened to a small library that was shared with two other guest rooms. The bathroom is a bit rustic but was fine, although its proximity to the garden allowed bugs to gather in the shower area.

The food prepared by the restaurant was of a very high level and we enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners very much. The dinner portions were a bit large for us so my daughter and I often shared.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    25
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
86
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were very much looking forward to staying in this well recommended hotel on the shores of Lake Atitlan. We were not disappointed.We had opted for one of the cheaper rooms which was perfectly adequate although having seen the more deluxe rooms they are probably worth the upgrade. My only criticism with our room number 7 was that it was up a small flight of stairs right next to the reception area. Every bit of noise could be heard in our room however it was minimal so not a cause for concern.The restaurant is exceptional and we made the mistake of following bad advice one night by dining at the restaurant in town recommended by our tour operator ..Casablanca....absolutely dreadful my advice is give it a miss ,no ambience ,poor service and lousy food.The views from Palopo are to die for so highly recommend this as the place to stay by the Lake

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I was so looking forward to staying in Casa Palopo and lots of it did live up to my expectation. The drive from Antigua takes about 3hours along an often winding road.The approach to Casa Palopo is up an extremely steep drive.On entering I was immediately drawn to the terrace and the wonderful view of the lake towards the volcanoes which were only partly visible due to the mist.We were given room 6 San Marco which was a couple of steps away from reception.A pretty red painted smallish room with wonderful views of the lake from the small front balcony.There was also a large half covered terrace with comfortable chairs at the side.The shower room was pretty with a wonderful lake view.There was a small hanging space and we moved some things by the safe to put some folded clothes as there was no drawer space.The hair dryer was good and could be plugged in by a mirror.We ate both inside and on the terrace depending on the weather as it can be quite cool in the evening.The food was good but not outstanding and was quite expensive for what it was, as was drinks especially the wine.I had some laundry done which was't brilliant and needed a good iron.Staff were generally good.We visited villages on the lake San Juan had a lovely feel about and Santiago had Maximon, San Marco was a bit like a hippy commune and San Antonio more like a working village.A word of warning the lake can get very choppy in the afternoon.
Yes Lake Atitlan and Casa palopo have the wow factor but they didn't make my heart beat faster or connect with me emotionally

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Gorgeous hotel above Lake Atitilan with views over to the volcanoes. Our room was beautiful with wonderful views, even from the shower. It had a lovely big terrace too. The sun terrace is lovely for drinks whilst watching the sunset. The staff are extremely attentive, and the food was good. The best place to stay on the Lake.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Casa Palopo on our honeymoon and were absolutely delighted with this beautiful hotel. The views are truly breath-taking; the rooms luxurious; the food delicious; the staff excellent and the standard of service is second to none. We stayed in several other lovely hotels after Palopo but none came close to this. We couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights including New Year's Eve at this stunning boutique hotel. The view from the rooms and the exquisite terrace where the restaurant 6.8 Palopo is situated is definitely as they say 'one to die for'. I totally disagree with the writer who commented that there is no view from Room 5, as this was my home for the duration and I found that it was difficult to come away from my substantial private terrace area, so fantastic was the view of the lake and the volcanoes, particularly at sunset time. The room is not over large but it is perfectly adequate with loads of cupboard and drawer space and a well sized bathroom. Service is impeccable and the French owners make sure that all your requirements are met. Very good restaurant with good choice of local and international food. There is also an attractive outdoor pool. Definitely one of my favourite hotels anywhere, but certainly in Central America. Private landing stage for the lancha boats (many steps to negotiate - approx. 160) and beware that there is a very steep driveway from the road to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa bay, fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Absolute Perfection. Traveled from the US in November for my husband's 40th birthday. Staff was warm and welcoming yet not obtrusive. Room was gorgeous: Linens soft and fresh, Lovely furniture and my favorite feature: the best view from a shower in the world from the Master Suite. Large private patio with couch and loungers overlooking the breathtaking lake and volcanos and roses in bloom. This hotel was an experience like we had never had, and one we will always remember. I cannot recall one thing that was not up to par: Excellent all around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Palopo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which features seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork. A large living room with fireplace, gourmet restaurant, elegantly set tables are set in intimate clusters inside the relaxed dining room and on the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Palopo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.