We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo nice hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Palopo

Save Saved
You added Casa Palopo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Palopo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Soooo nice hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Guatemala and very likely the best at lake Atitlan. The rooms are large, with terraces overlooking the lake thus stunning views, fantastic! The LÓccitane soaps are a nice surprise. The hotel was long ago a big house and it keeps that charm, with its living room (with a real Botero picture!!!), chimmeny, the terrace. The service is really good and the staff is very friendly, we had a problem with the shower and inmediately were changed to another room. The food is fantastic though the menu is quite short. They have a quite decent gym and a nice pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    25
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
86
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very nice and friendly hotel with amazing views over the lake. Being so small it is very peaceful and perfect for couples. It is a little way from Panajachel but we found it a nice escape from the town. Breakfast was very tasty and loved the margaritas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecpan, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were invited to stay at a great hotel near Casa Palopo and decided to go there for dinner. A popular guide book said it was one of the best restaurants on Lake Atitlan, and I definitely would agree. the ambience was amazing, the service top rate and the food was delicious. Even better, it was not outrageously expensive. Considering the decor of the lobby and restaurant, I would probably stay there on the next trip to the area.

Room Tip: Only ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a review of the restaurant only. Our villa recommended we come here for a sunset cocktail at a minimum, dinner if we would like. We opted to do both and we feel so fortunate that we had the opportunity on such a stunning evening. The weather was perfect - crystal clear skies and mild winds. All I needed that night was a shawl over my sleeveless blouse. I will say, if it is overcast at all, save your visit for another night. Not only can it get cold up here at night, but the views are too amazing to miss.

We started off by having cocktails in the front and center lounge chairs, which were very comfortable with huge cushions and fronted the balcony of the restaurant area for a commanding view of the mountains, volcanoes (you can see all 3 here) and incredibly beautiful blue lake. The sunset was simply breathtaking. Both of our martinis (mine a dry vodka and my fiances an appletini) were perfect. For some odd reason, however, even though we were the only ones in the restaurant, the waiter disappeared and we had to get up to find him to order another round.

We had made reservations, so they had a very private and romantic table for two ready for us, again with an amazing view, and a lovely candelabra overhead that they went to great lengths to light for us, but unfortunately, blew out as the wind picked up that night. We had a bottle of excellent wine and a very delicious tuna tartar with an incredible presentation for our starter.

For our main course, I had the very unique shrimp wonton, which was mouth-watering and a huge portion. The only complaint about the evening was my fiance's rack of lamb. They only gave him a measly 3 pieces. I've eaten rack of lamb all over the world, at mid-range to top-end restaurants, and have honestly never seen a portion that small.

Our total bill, including all of the above, plus dessert, two after dinner drinks, and tip was $228 USD. Personally I've paid way more for way less at other restaurants. I felt like I got a good value.

Besides the waiter disappearing on us once and the small lamb portion, the ambiance and overall experience here was one we will remember and cherish forever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The views from the terrace and restaurant or spectacular. The common areas are beautiful.

I wanted to love this hotel more, but it fell short of its reputation. Although the included breakfast was very good, the dinners were overpriced and over-reaching. Rather than sticking to delicious Guatemalan cuisine, the restaurant prepared continental dishes, always missing the mark. Unfortunately, the hotel is about 5K from Panahajel and the hotel charges $35 for a round trip cab ride for this 10 minute ride. After a long day touring the villages around the lake, we felt trapped at the restaurant. At least the views of the lights twinkling around the lake were spectacular.

Our room 7 had a great view of the lake and volcanos, but there were large stains on the carpet.

The pool was warm and great for a swim after a day touring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uncamom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place was beautiful. You are greeted with quirky yet elegant fixtures upon walking into the lobby... The lobby is homey and not stuffy by any means... It is fun just to walk around and look at the decor ( ie: antique sewing machines made into floor lamps etc..) the colors are soothing and happy colors. I am all about the feel of the place and this was homey and relaxing. The many doors all opened up to a beautiful patio with vibrant candelabras and much comfortable seating. That was all dimmed when you see the views from the patio. Breathtaking views of the lake and the surrounding volcanos. not much action on the lake so you could sit and listen to the birds and the roosters ( ha) and the waves.. all that was needed was a drink and a hammock and I would not leave that spot. The staff was very courteous and would arrange to suit any need you may have. The restaurant was very good.. It was a bit pricey compared to things in town ( around 60-80 US dollars for two meals , wine and one dessert) the tables were all set up to look out on the lake. Sunset was beautiful. We took the boat into two of the villages the next morning. well worth the trip. My favorite was San Juan. The people there were peaceful and quiet and there was an organic coffee plant that you could tour and also an old church being renovated. The original wall was still up. My favorite place in this village was a co-op type place where several women would make hand crafted cloth items. They would demonstrate the beating, pulling and spinning by hand of the thread and it is all organically colored by fruits and vegetables. no acid or dye. It takes about 15 hours to make one ball of thread and takes two or more per item made.They made gorgeous things. I bought a shoulder bag dyed with walnut, basil and indigo. Our next island was Santiago. I was not too crazy about this one. It was very crowded and from the moment you got off the boat until you were pulling away someone was trying to " give you a good price" on the goods.. No was not an answer they would take easily and we had one young man follow us three blocks trying to be our tour guide. it made the whole experience irritating. I am all for asking once or twice even but after two no's I do not want to be followed and harassed. The town was very crowded not as laid back as San Juan. We ate lunch there which was very good and then went to the huge church and then left. If you want to go into panajachel to eat take the tuk tuk.. It was about half the price of a taxi and got there about as fast. We ate at a place called Hotel El Sol which was owned by an American man and his Japanese wife. The food was Japanese and very good. The cost of the meal was less than 20 US dollars for two meals , pot of tea and dessert. be sure and visit the park in panajachel. It is a nature reserve and hiking, butterfly reserve and spider money reserve and ziplining. Lots of fun.
The rooms in the hotel are small.. I think we had one of the smallest but the best view. The beds and fairly comfortable with nice thick down comforters. There is no AC in the room so it would at times get fairly warm in there but you can open the doors to the balcony and let the air in. Big roomy showers. Over all great stay and I would love to stay again..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lake Atitlan has the reputation for being one of the most beautiful lakes in the world -- and it lives up to its reputation. Casa Palopo nestles into a hill above the lake far enough from even the small town in which it is located that it creates an environment of great serenity. Its best feature is its large terrace overlooking the lake where you can sit and watch in the morning as the mist clears from the lake and the volcanoes beyond or in the evening as the sun sets and achieve a remarkable calm no matter what stresses you may have in your life. Besides the facility, the staff is ever helpful and management extraordinarily accomodating (offering to put us up in a suite at the rate we were paying for our room when our flight home was cancelled due to a snowstorm and the hotel was otherwise full).
The small towns around the lake are wonderful and you should be sure to charter a boat and spend the day boating to and wandering among them. We travel all over the world and have visited many wonderful places. Lake Atitlan ranks up there with Bhutan, Morocco (especially Berber country), the Cotswolds in England, Luang Prubang in Laos, Hoi An in Vietnam and the islands off Phuket as one of our favorites. If you go to Lake Atitlan, Casa Palopo is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Palopo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which features seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork. A large living room with fireplace, gourmet restaurant, elegantly set tables are set in intimate clusters inside the relaxed dining room and on the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Palopo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.