We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Palopo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Palopo to your Saves list
Casa Palopo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A view to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lake Atitlan has the reputation for being one of the most beautiful lakes in the world -- and it lives up to its reputation. Casa Palopo nestles into a hill above the lake far enough from even the small town in which it is located that it creates an environment of great serenity. Its best feature is its large terrace overlooking the lake where you can sit and watch in the morning as the mist clears from the lake and the volcanoes beyond or in the evening as the sun sets and achieve a remarkable calm no matter what stresses you may have in your life. Besides the facility, the staff is ever helpful and management extraordinarily accomodating (offering to put us up in a suite at the rate we were paying for our room when our flight home was cancelled due to a snowstorm and the hotel was otherwise full).
The small towns around the lake are wonderful and you should be sure to charter a boat and spend the day boating to and wandering among them. We travel all over the world and have visited many wonderful places. Lake Atitlan ranks up there with Bhutan, Morocco (especially Berber country), the Cotswolds in England, Luang Prubang in Laos, Hoi An in Vietnam and the islands off Phuket as one of our favorites. If you go to Lake Atitlan, Casa Palopo is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    26
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
90
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We took the trip to Lake Atitlan for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed at Casa Palopo. They have limited customers and they take really good care of the people staying there.The place is beautiful, the customer service is awesome. The views from the rooms are breath-taking. The lake itself is a beautiful place to be at. They have massages in the room, which were rejuvenating and relaxing. With great views, warm people, great service, this is a place you must visit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I LOVED this hotel. It is located on a perfect part of the shore which afforded the best views of the lake. Just sitting on the balcony every morning taking in the sunrise and then in the afternoon for the sunset was something not to be missed. The decor is a huge plus - so thoughtfully done - and the staff could not have been more acommodating. After my first day there I would only have to sit on the balcony and my coffee would be brought out without my even asking. They really do look after you here and it is tough to tear yourself away from all of the comforts to go "see" everything the lake has to offer.

Room Tip: I liked room 7 since it was upstairs a bit from the other rooms and had even better views of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beatiful decoration and sightseen over the Atitlan lake. It is strategically located to watch a fantastic sunset behind the vulcanos over the lake.
The room was fantastic, really big and well decorated, and with 2 private terraces included. We can see the lake from the bed.
The service and food were also excellent.
There are very few rooms, so it is really quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A beautiful, intimate resort with gorgeous views of Lake Atitlan and a staff to match. Every request is handled swiftly and professionally at a moment's notice. Everyone was incredibly friendly and gracious. The hotel is wonderfully appointed, the decor is top notch, and the ambiance is relaxing and inviting. We didn't want to leave!

The food is fantastic and the kitchen is amenable to requests for dishes not on the menu.

Only visit if you like designer accomodations, relaxing under the sun or shade while looking across a glistening lake under clear blue skies, eating delicious food, and being surrounded by an attentive and friendly staff.

This was the highlight of our trip to Guatemala!

Room Tip: The Atitlan Suite is perched above the main house of the hotel. Beautiful room. Great shower. Gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral de Pozos, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived by helicopter to the hotel helicopter pad. The staff was there to greet us and from the first moment, it was magical! The room with an incredible view of Lake Atitlan, the chef and restaurant of the highest quality, the management friendly and accommodating for tours of the villages! Highly recommend this beautiful and unique hotel. Superb service by each and every person on the property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small hotel overlooks the infamous with the most spectacular views possible, the rooms and overall look of the hotel is beautiful. I would recommend this place to anybody. You may not have a fancy rain shower like at a four seasons but you have the most beautiful shower overlooking the lake with a window view just as an example. The rooms, beds, special touches, views from the terraces, the food, restaurant, library are all decorated in the best of taste giving a special ambience to his wonderful place. my only recommendation is that upon check in they tell you there is room service or massages available (for example we asked last mintue and we had the most incredible massages in our room a half an hour later!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Palopo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which features seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork. A large living room with fireplace, gourmet restaurant, elegantly set tables are set in intimate clusters inside the relaxed dining room and on the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Palopo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.