We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to be at Atitlan lake, spectacular views over the lake.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Palopo

Save Saved
You added Casa Palopo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Palopo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place to be at Atitlan lake, spectacular views over the lake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beatiful decoration and sightseen over the Atitlan lake. It is strategically located to watch a fantastic sunset behind the vulcanos over the lake.
The room was fantastic, really big and well decorated, and with 2 private terraces included. We can see the lake from the bed.
The service and food were also excellent.
There are very few rooms, so it is really quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    25
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
86
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A beautiful, intimate resort with gorgeous views of Lake Atitlan and a staff to match. Every request is handled swiftly and professionally at a moment's notice. Everyone was incredibly friendly and gracious. The hotel is wonderfully appointed, the decor is top notch, and the ambiance is relaxing and inviting. We didn't want to leave!

The food is fantastic and the kitchen is amenable to requests for dishes not on the menu.

Only visit if you like designer accomodations, relaxing under the sun or shade while looking across a glistening lake under clear blue skies, eating delicious food, and being surrounded by an attentive and friendly staff.

This was the highlight of our trip to Guatemala!

Room Tip: The Atitlan Suite is perched above the main house of the hotel. Beautiful room. Great shower. Gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral de Pozos, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived by helicopter to the hotel helicopter pad. The staff was there to greet us and from the first moment, it was magical! The room with an incredible view of Lake Atitlan, the chef and restaurant of the highest quality, the management friendly and accommodating for tours of the villages! Highly recommend this beautiful and unique hotel. Superb service by each and every person on the property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small hotel overlooks the infamous with the most spectacular views possible, the rooms and overall look of the hotel is beautiful. I would recommend this place to anybody. You may not have a fancy rain shower like at a four seasons but you have the most beautiful shower overlooking the lake with a window view just as an example. The rooms, beds, special touches, views from the terraces, the food, restaurant, library are all decorated in the best of taste giving a special ambience to his wonderful place. my only recommendation is that upon check in they tell you there is room service or massages available (for example we asked last mintue and we had the most incredible massages in our room a half an hour later!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Two nights stay in a low season at Casa Palopo was the highlight of our Central American trip.

Facilities, amenities and food of the high international standard quality are well complimented by the seamless with attention to detail service.

True value, especially considering the unique desigh and location of the hotel.

It is very rare to find a boutique hotel that provides a real 5 star experience that I have been lucky to receive during in my worldwide travels so far.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Casa Palopo was absolutely wonderful! We were greeted with a delicious hibiscus punch and shown to our funky chic room with a gorgeous view of the lake. We were there in the off season, so we were 1 of 2 guests at the hotel so we had the place to ourselves most of the time. The dining area outdoors was simply stunning, and the food delicious! I looked forward to every meal! The pool was the only downside, there was a lot of leaves and such in the pool and in the luxurious little cabanas, but I didn't come to swim so I did not mind. Overall, amazing place to stay, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Originally went in Nov of 2009 and planned on using the hotel as a base to explore Guatemala and were totally blown away by the beauty of both the hotel and the lake.
Got so taken by the view that we ended up changing our plans and stayed within walking distance of the hotel for the week. Felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time as there are only a few rooms and most left for the day...
We had an amazing day walking down to town (10 min walk) and sat lakeside at a small bar and enjoyed the sunset from there. Getting a taste of the local village life great.

We went back in Nov of 2010 for 5 days and stayed in the upper villa. Totally different experience, even more secluded! Staff was great, would highly recommend this as an amazing getaway that you'll not soon forget.

We will most certainly make a third trip!

Logistics: First trip we rented a car and drove from the airport. (car sat there for the week.) Second trip we hired a car and driver - much better way to go as the roads are not well marked. (would love to do the helicopter - flight must be amazing to see the country side and lake/volcanoes from the air!!!)

Activities: We did take a boat tour organized by the hotel that took us across the lake to two other villages so we could walk around and explore them - nice way to spend a day.
Rest of the time was spent at pool or on the terrace reading, relaxing and looking at the amazing view.

Food: We ate at the hotels for most meals, agree that the prices are on the high side, but ok with the premium of not having to go anywhere or rush for reservations. We did walk to another hotel in town for dinner one night, it was nice (not great) so there are options if you want to explore the area.

Room Tip: Blue room was amazing - secluded and romantic! Tip - have a meal served on the private terrace!!! V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Palopo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which features seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork. A large living room with fireplace, gourmet restaurant, elegantly set tables are set in intimate clusters inside the relaxed dining room and on the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Palopo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.