We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to be at Atitlan lake, spectacular views over the lake.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Palopo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Catarina Palopo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Palopo
Save
You added Casa Palopo to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect place to be at Atitlan lake, spectacular views over the lake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beatiful decoration and sightseen over the Atitlan lake. It is strategically located to watch a fantastic sunset behind the vulcanos over the lake.
The room was fantastic, really big and well decorated, and with 2 private terraces included. We can see the lake from the bed.
The service and food were also excellent.
There are very few rooms, so it is really quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anagbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A beautiful, intimate resort with gorgeous views of Lake Atitlan and a staff to match. Every request is handled swiftly and professionally at a moment's notice. Everyone was incredibly friendly and gracious. The hotel is wonderfully appointed, the decor is top notch, and the ambiance is relaxing and inviting. We didn't want to leave!

The food is fantastic and the kitchen is amenable to requests for dishes not on the menu.

Only visit if you like designer accomodations, relaxing under the sun or shade while looking across a glistening lake under clear blue skies, eating delicious food, and being surrounded by an attentive and friendly staff.

This was the highlight of our trip to Guatemala!

Room Tip: The Atitlan Suite is perched above the main house of the hotel. Beautiful room. Great shower. Gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral de Pozos, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived by helicopter to the hotel helicopter pad. The staff was there to greet us and from the first moment, it was magical! The room with an incredible view of Lake Atitlan, the chef and restaurant of the highest quality, the management friendly and accommodating for tours of the villages! Highly recommend this beautiful and unique hotel. Superb service by each and every person on the property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Buzz77018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small hotel overlooks the infamous with the most spectacular views possible, the rooms and overall look of the hotel is beautiful. I would recommend this place to anybody. You may not have a fancy rain shower like at a four seasons but you have the most beautiful shower overlooking the lake with a window view just as an example. The rooms, beds, special touches, views from the terraces, the food, restaurant, library are all decorated in the best of taste giving a special ambience to his wonderful place. my only recommendation is that upon check in they tell you there is room service or massages available (for example we asked last mintue and we had the most incredible massages in our room a half an hour later!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leaffangoleafsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Two nights stay in a low season at Casa Palopo was the highlight of our Central American trip.

Facilities, amenities and food of the high international standard quality are well complimented by the seamless with attention to detail service.

True value, especially considering the unique desigh and location of the hotel.

It is very rare to find a boutique hotel that provides a real 5 star experience that I have been lucky to receive during in my worldwide travels so far.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Casa Palopo was absolutely wonderful! We were greeted with a delicious hibiscus punch and shown to our funky chic room with a gorgeous view of the lake. We were there in the off season, so we were 1 of 2 guests at the hotel so we had the place to ourselves most of the time. The dining area outdoors was simply stunning, and the food delicious! I looked forward to every meal! The pool was the only downside, there was a lot of leaves and such in the pool and in the luxurious little cabanas, but I didn't come to swim so I did not mind. Overall, amazing place to stay, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aekloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Originally went in Nov of 2009 and planned on using the hotel as a base to explore Guatemala and were totally blown away by the beauty of both the hotel and the lake.
Got so taken by the view that we ended up changing our plans and stayed within walking distance of the hotel for the week. Felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time as there are only a few rooms and most left for the day...
We had an amazing day walking down to town (10 min walk) and sat lakeside at a small bar and enjoyed the sunset from there. Getting a taste of the local village life great.

We went back in Nov of 2010 for 5 days and stayed in the upper villa. Totally different experience, even more secluded! Staff was great, would highly recommend this as an amazing getaway that you'll not soon forget.

We will most certainly make a third trip!

Logistics: First trip we rented a car and drove from the airport. (car sat there for the week.) Second trip we hired a car and driver - much better way to go as the roads are not well marked. (would love to do the helicopter - flight must be amazing to see the country side and lake/volcanoes from the air!!!)

Activities: We did take a boat tour organized by the hotel that took us across the lake to two other villages so we could walk around and explore them - nice way to spend a day.
Rest of the time was spent at pool or on the terrace reading, relaxing and looking at the amazing view.

Food: We ate at the hotels for most meals, agree that the prices are on the high side, but ok with the premium of not having to go anywhere or rush for reservations. We did walk to another hotel in town for dinner one night, it was nice (not great) so there are options if you want to explore the area.

Room Tip: Blue room was amazing - secluded and romantic! Tip - have a meal served on the private terrace!!! V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
4.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#2 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Palopo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which features seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork. A large living room with fireplace, gourmet restaurant, elegantly set tables are set in intimate clusters inside the relaxed dining room and on the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing