We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in San Marco by far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jinava Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jinava Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in San Marco by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Great place! great location! great price! Any hotel of this caliber would be at least $200 in the US but we only spent $18 a night.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have a free kayak you can take out on the lake and their Thai curry is the best I have ever had ( and I have been to Thailand).

This place is a must stay if you want a relaxing and beautiful getaway..

Drawbacks: rooms are fairly basic and some people seem to think the steps were a problem . Just don't stay here if you don't like steps otherwise you will love the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
10
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August while travelling around Guatemala. Our water taxi dropped us off at the hotel pier. There is a bit of a climb up to the hotel but not a big deal for us. The room was basic but for 26 dollars per night what can you really expect! The rooms probably could do with being upgraded but we had no problem with no tv etc. The bathroom was pretty dated but it didn't bother us too much. The view from our room was amazing! What a lovely tropical garden! To walk into San Marcos and it took about 20 minutes. There are lots of tuk tuks around if you don't feel like walking. The food in the hotel was fab. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here. The staff were very helfpul and nothing was too much trouble for them. We took the hotel canoe out on the lake which was also great. A great place to spend a night or two.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed one night in August 2012 (had planned to stay longer). The property is located on the side of a *steep* hill that has irregular steps & walks with no handrails, a good 25 minute walk from the San Marcos pier (we asked the water-taxi to take us to the hotel pier, but he refused).

Upon arrival, they presented us with a menu to order food - were not interested in eating, just wanted to check-in & go to our rooms. Finally we paid for the room (no receipt provided) & they showed us a room with zero-view, had to pay more for a room with a view (the hotel was completely empty).

The hotel room consist of a bed, towel, a bathroom with a cold water shower (hot water did not work, even though they worked on it for over an hour) - no radio, no TV, no frig., no soap, NO INTERNET (they advertise they have internet service). The 2nd room had a very nice view, though the balcony had a very steep drop-off with slippery tile flooring & no guardrails.

Finally, because there wasn't one glass in the room, we requested glasses to drink some wine we had purchased & were told to look at the rules on the back of the hotel-room-door, no food or drink is permitted on the premises and they would have to charge us for glasses to drink the wine. Then they brought out the menus again & requested we order our meals for the FOLLOWING day.

Bed was very hard, got up at daybreak, took a cold shower & left.

Room Tip: Look at the room, inquire and verify services & fees before you pay; be sure to be in good physi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel Jinava Bay is situated in a beautiful cove on the outskirts of San Marcos and is completely worth the walk. The have beautiful gardens that are matched by their view of the lake. The rooms are very decent but could use better mattresses. The crepes are close to perfect. The staff are especially nice and accommodating. This was the first place we came after landing in Guatamala and truly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I m a tour guide for 3 years in central america, and this is the best spot that i found from guatemala to Nicaragua at affordable prices! And I ve reserched a lot - in San marcos i ve seen all the hotels :)

Great rooms, super nice staff, beautifull garden, over the lake, quite and peacfull. to swim and relax.

It s 5 min walk to San Marcos - on the main road, and some 15 minutes at the shore where you can junp from a 7 metters a platform!

Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is incorrectly named as Hotel Jinava. The name should be Jinava Bay as this is the name! My husband and I traveled there over two years ago and it was so unbelievably beautiful place that we never forgot it. We thought we stumbled into paradise. They employ 10 gardeners to keep it looking that way. We sipped our cocktails under the most amazing bunches of flowers, leaves and strange branches you can imagine. At night you can experience their discreet ambient lighting which adds yet another dimension of beauty. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. Most bungalows are set apart so you have fantastic privacy among these exotic gardens. There is a hidden restaurant stuck high above the ground among the palm tress tops on bamboo sticks. It offers the best sunset views while eating excellent Thai curry there and drinking the best Guatemalan "liquados" (thick fruit drinks). You access to the most amazing Lago de Atitlan right at the bottom of the hotel grounds. We used the lake, their canoes and the Mayan sauna. I wish i could go right back there!!! The best place in San Marcos as we checked even more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: They offer bungalows with a shared bathroom in the middle (that's where I stayed) it's the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covilha, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Managed to stay at this place during the first days of January. Wonderful hotel, great views, nice rooms. Staff is the most friendly you can get around San Marcos La Laguna.
I do recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinava Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinava Hotel & Restaurant

Address: San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jinava Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinava Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.