We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful and peaceful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jinava Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jinava Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blissful and peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This place really is something special. Every room with large windows looks out onto the stunning lake Atitlan, it really was a delight to wake up and have that view right in front. The gardens and surroundings are beautiful and the rooms are spacious and clean. We took the hotel's little boat out on the lake one morning which was great fun and San Marcos is probably the prettiest of the towns around the lake. All in all, for the price you pay, i don't think you can beat this place and would whole-heartedly recommend it to travellers of any kind from anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
10
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Me and a friend stayed at jinava for several nights and got most of our food and drinks from them as well. Our first night my friend was stung by a scorpion in the face, in her bed in the middle of the night. We counted more that 8 large spiders in our room.We asked if we could check out an hour late while we waited for our bus and we were rudely told that check out was at 1230 and if we wanted to stay we would have to pay for another night!! There are many amazing places to stay in San marcos. I would recommend Acuulaax. I will not stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

The hotel is located on a steep hill. Walking up and down the zig-zag path from the reception/restaurant, at the lake level, to the entrance/exit, at the top of the hill, is a serious work-out. For those unable or unwilling to hike up and down a steep slope, this hotel is not for you.

The various rooms/cabins are scattered through the hillside. They vary in size, amenities. The view, the lush greenery and exotic flowers are simply breathtaking. We had a terrace overlooking the lake, where we spent a significant amount of time just enjoying the setting. It made all the cons totally worth it.

As it has already been noted here, there is no beach or private dock, contrary to their website. After a hurricane, the water level of the lake rose 3 meters leaving them underwater.

The food is mediocre and overpriced, but there are plenty of nearby options in town.

While the rooms are clean and tidy, and the service generally good, by far the biggest downfall is the absence of hot water. While the water isn't ice cold, at no point is it warm.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Hotel Jinava is AMAZING.

First of all, it has a breathtaking view of one of the most beautiful lakes in the world. The staff is very very good, extremely kind, and provides great service (great food and drinks too).
The gardens are beautiful with a huge variety of plants (especially palms), it even has it's own little waterfall. The restaurant doesn't have a lot of options but that doesn't matter because everything you can get is delicious, they make some delicious tropical drinks. We met the owners when we were there and they were extremely laid back, and really nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We spent three nights at Jinava Bay. The location is truly spectacular, and the staff is very friendly, but there are things you should know. Most important, the "private dock" mentioned on the website and in travel books is, as of December 2010, underwater and unusable. Apparently the lake is currently higher than normal. We had a hell of a time getting to the hotel. Unaware that the dock was inaccessible, we insisted that the boat captain take us farther than the town dock, which was a big mistake. He dropped us off somewhere along a footpath, saying that this was the closest we could get. We then had to carry our suitcases over a narrow and hilly path and very nearly tumbled into the lake (suitcases and all) more than once. Had we known that the dock was unusable, we would have just gotten off in town and had a steep, but not very long, walk to the hotel (or we could have taken a tuk-tuk). I have emailed the hotel to suggest that they update their website!

Second, the hotel is built into the hillside, so the office and restaurant are way down at water level, some rooms are about halfway up, and one other is way up near the road. Anyone who has trouble going up and down steep hills should think twice about staying here.

Third, the rooms vary quite a bit. We had asked for one room with two beds, and another room with one bed. Since they were not particularly close together, we decided to split up and have an adult in each room. My husband and son took the room with two beds, which was halfway up the hill. It was really beautiful, with nice tiled floors and a breathtaking view. My daughter and I took the room with one bed, which was fine, but not nearly as nice. The view was still great, but the room was small and didn't have the nice tiled floor. Also, the bathroom, though private, was not in the room. It was right next door, but having to leave the room and unlock the bathroom each time with a key was a bit of a pain. After we started thinking of it as glorified camping, we liked it better. (The price for that room was very low!)

Last, there is very little hot water. Between the four of us, I think 6 showers were taken while we were there. One had reasonably warm water, one had lukewarm water for about 30 seconds, and the rest were cold.

All that being said, this is a truly beautiful spot and we're glad we stayed there. The hotels in the main part of town could not possibly have such great views. It's a strange little town, with a combination of poor Guatemalans and new-age stuff. There are also 5 churches in town that sing through megaphones when the sun goes down and set off fireworks at all hours to announce special events. On the other hand there are a few restaurants owned by foreigners where they play American jazz and pop and have things like pub quizzes!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This was absolutely the most beautiful, charming, picturesque, relaxing, heavenly place I have ever stayed. From the moment we arrived, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were sweet and approachable, always happy to help and never making us feel silly for any request we might make. They also gave us useful pointers for our time in the area. The rooms were simple on the inside but all have breathtaking views of the lake. The on-site restaurant was amazing! We ate there the first night simply because we were too tired after all of our traveling to go look for another restaurant and ended up eating there every night! Everything on the menu was delicious! We loved the breakfasts too. The beach and dock were serene and relaxing. Really, we all loved it and were so sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Our family stayed 3 nights at the Jinava Bay Hotel and absolutely LOVED it. The cozy hotel’s grounds are a tropical paradise complete with a small, private beach, dock, sauna and a charming cantina/restaurant. Not only was the food delectable but it was also presented with care and artistry - a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. The rooms were spotless and the view breathtaking. Best of all: the gracious, kind, helpful and charming staff that saw to our every need. We hope to return soon.

PS - There are a lot of stone steps to the rooms, cantina/restaurant and beach, so if you have trouble managing stairs, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinava Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinava Hotel & Restaurant

Address: San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jinava Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinava Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.