We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid place, safe, clean and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blind Lemon's Restaurant & Cafe

Blind Lemon's Restaurant & Cafe
Barrio Tres, San Marcos La Laguna 07016, Guatemala
50255024450
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Guatemalan, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Constructed in the colonial architectural style with parabolic arches and gardens, Blind Lemon’s reflects the tradition of Guatemala. And set in San Marcos La Laguna, a small Mayan village on Lake Atitlan, surrounded by towering volcanoes, Blind Lemon’s holds out an invitation to travelers who want good food served in a pleasing ambiance.Blind Lemon’s was built by a blues guitarist musician and cabinetmaker who wanted to create a music venue to attract the best in live entertainment, and give value and satisfaction to his customers. The restaurant features weekly Blues Nights, as well as big screen showings of recent Hollywood, documentary, art, and foreign films. We have had theatre presentations and circus performances here as well as a host of wonderful musicians who have played here. We also have a bar and billiards for those so inclined. Blind Lemons also features an wireless internet cafe.The building is large enough to host conferences and workshops and with advanced notice we can serve food for large groups.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good solid place, safe, clean and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Lives up to its solid reputation. Chicken was very good. The nachos should not be missed. Decent sized drinks. Just a little slow on the service but it is low season so staffing is light.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Want a wonderful meal in a relaxed & comfortable environment? Wait, and some incredible live music to boot? You've come to the right place! When owner Carlos brings out his guitars, you are in for a bluesy treat as his wife, Cata, cooks up an equally appealing dish in the kitchen. We couldn't have asked for a better evening & left feeling truly lucky to have met such lovely people. If you are in San Marcos, don't miss this gem...and if you are anywhere remotely near by, make it a point to head their way. You'll be glad you did!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"THE" place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We dropped into this restaurant without expecting much, but we were getting hungry and was the only nice-looking choice in town. We were the only customers, but it took a very long time until our food was served (when my son asked he was told that they went shopping for some of the ingredients!), but the place was cool and there was someone playing what we thought was an electric guitar in a nearby room, so we decided to relax and wait. Then, the guy that was playing, who was a foreigner and turned out to be the owner, passed by and we started talking about how he ended up in this remote area of Guatemala. He shared a lot of information with us and introduced us to his resonator (it was not an electric guitar after all). When the food was served it was very good; well-worth the wait. We left rested, relaxed and satisfied with our chance encounter of this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlosfunk, Owner at Blind Lemon's Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks Rodrigo, it was a pleasure to meet and talk with you and your wife and son. I hope to make it to Ecuador one day. Amor, C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Must Do in San Marcos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had been in San Marcos a week before discovering Blind Lemon. I had read the reviews online and we decided that we had to check it out. It was a truly special experience. I ordered the nachos, which were excellent, and my husband ordered the fried chicken, which he really enjoyed. But the icing in the cake was to meet, talk with and be entertained by the owner, Carlos. He is a very talented musician and we enjoyed our special private concert immensely.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great music & great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was one of the most friendly places I've been. Great acoustic blues, friendly staff and good food. Carlos has done a great job in designing the place and training his staff of local Mayan women. The mix of locals and travelers had a great vibe. This was the best place I visited in the area. The open friendly feel was enjoyed by the staff as well as the customers. I hope to go back when ever I'm in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blind Lemon's Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Blind Lemon's Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blind Lemon's Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.