We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuestro Sueno is the place to relax, be pampered and enjoy the simplicity and innocence of days gone by.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nuestro Sueno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nuestro Sueno to your Saves list
Hotel Nuestro Sueno
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle de la Playa | Barrio Xetioy, San Antonio Palopo 07012, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nuestro Sueno is the place to relax, be pampered and enjoy the simplicity and innocence of days gone by.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were thoroughly pampered by the staff. The hot tub and sauna were great! The Kin's suite has a spectacular view of Lake Atitlan. Sonja provided delight meals in copious quantities. There is plenty of sightseeing and shopping to fill the day. Exquisite, home roasted coffee was a great way to wake up. Maria brought it to our room with a variety of different breakfast options. Enjoy the in-room hot tub as the fireplace toasts the room. A sweater or serape purchased at one of the shops will feel nice in the evening. The boat ride to the other villages around the lake offers great sightseeing and shopping. Richard and Sonia have created a little heaven on earth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

What a fantastic place!
I have to start by saying that we planned to arrive in July and had reservatoins made before the landslides and volcanic eruption and sinkholes all decided to hit at the same time. Richard, the owner, emailed us with suggestions to change our itinerary and a detailed description of what had happened in the area. Luckily cleanup was quicker than we anticipated, and we kept our plans as they were.

We arrived lost in this little village, found soemone who spoke English, and she phoned the hotel who promptly sent someone running up the hill to retrieve us!

We had THE MOST FANTASTIC room I've ever seen in a hotel with a 180 degree view of Lake Atitlan, three volcanic cones, and the people in traditional clothing walking along the shoreline. We had a private balcony, and a wood fireplace. And no neighbours, so no one looking into the room. There was also a juccuzi tub, but that wasn't functioning at the moment.

You are able to order food on the patio and I cna not rave enough about the fantastic food made by this family! We have never had better burritos and the hot chocolate was to DIE for!

Richard made a point of talking with us each day, and even set up a boat tour. He was a great resrouce as he is an American who has lived for years in Guatemala and therefore understands both cultures. He was a wealth of information for us in understanding both the local culture and the Guatamalan government.

Everything about this place is fantastic. The kids who live there are friendly and adorable, it's a family business so you meet everyone as you go about your day and the ladies from the community that work there couldn't be sweeter.

Talk about above and beyond - they even fixed our flat tire on our rental car as we went to leave! What more can you ask!

What a genuine experience!

Thanks Richard and family!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My wife and I spent time overlooking Lake Atitlan. Richard and his family made that time very special for us. From the Pickled peppers, and the American cookie (homemade chocolate chip) our stay was perfect. If you need to take time and just learn to relax, talk to Richard and his family and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Meeting Richard and Sonia at their hotel in postcard-perfect San Antonio was one of the highlights of our trip to Guatemala. We actually did not stay in the hotel but had lunch at the hotel's restaurant overlooking Lake Atitlan. The meal was delicious, and Richard and Sonia were gracious hosts. We enjoyed San Antonio and our lunch so much, that we returned the next day with friends to have lunch again at the restaurant. Richard and Sonia gave us a tour of their small hotel, and my biggest regret was not being able to stay at the penthouse suite with its breathtaking views of Lake Atitlan and San Antonio. We stayed at Hotel Atitlan, and while that hotel was also very nice, I think Hotel Nuestro Sueno is very much better value and Richard and Sonia really make you feel like you're at home. When I go back to Guatemala, I'm definitely staying at Hotel Nuestro Sueno.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Richard and Sonia invented the world "hospitality." Their immaculate, well-run and gorgeous hotel will invite you to stay indefinately. The food is absolutely delicious and plentiful and the view of Lake Atitlan is the best! Their efficient but friendly staff cater to your comfort. Hotel Nuestro Sueno is a not-to-be missed gem!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I have a very nice time, I hope your business does well, I'm coming back by the end of the year hofully you have opening, I really enjoy you place, I really love your birds well say Hi to Sonia and the family

John Q.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shortygirl948
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

the owners there are really nice, and the food is amazing..if i could i would live there always. its so nice and so beautiful right next to the huge lake. and an unforgettable place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nuestro Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuestro Sueno

Address: Calle de la Playa | Barrio Xetioy, San Antonio Palopo 07012, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Antonio Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nuestro Sueno 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuestro Sueno, a boutique hotel offering services and personal care rarely found on Lake Atitlan: featuring, Jacuzzi, steam-room, sauna, power and sail boat, motorbikes, mountain-bikes, guided tours, museum, crafts, and memorable dining. All rooms have fireplaces and unsurpassed views. Each afternoon enjoy magnificent sunsets. Listening to waves lapping the shore, close your eyes, and transcend back to Mayan times... little has changed on Lake Atitlan, other than now… you are there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nuestro Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nuestro Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.