We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Place in the Clouds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bosque del Tolomuco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Isidro de El General
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bosque del Tolomuco
Save
You added Bosque del Tolomuco to your Saves list
Panamerican Highway | kilometer 118, San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Sutton west, ont
1 review
“An Amazing Place in the Clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our experience there was incredible. The owners are extremely nice people and very curtious and tend to your requirements. The air quality is like no other place in the country....Clean cooler air at night. Perfect for sleeping. Best breakfast we have had at any place we have stayed in Costa Rica... HIGHLY RECOMMEND spending a few days at this lovely get away in the sky..

Room Tip: They have hundreds of meters of trails all through the tops of the mountains.. One of the best gyms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
49
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

They have the best view, cabins and the best breakfast i ever had... The owners are such a very nice people.. ohh i have to tell about the temperature , is nice and cool up there, which is nice..!! Diversity of hamming birds and different kind of animals.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2013. It was our last stop in a two-week trip to Costa Rica. Our goal was to be surrounded with birds and nature -- we were not disappointed. We had 6 species of hummingbirds within an hour of arriving -- and by the time we left we tallied a total of 14 hummingbird species (including some seen outside Tolomuco). We walked the trails of the forest and saw dozens of glasswing butterflies, numerous flowering plants, saw and heard many birds. Lise and Rolf are terrific hosts. Since we like to cook in when we travel, we had a room with a kitchen. And since we did not have a car, they helped us stock it with supplies. We enjoyed coffee on the porch, packed lunches for hikes, and relaxed at dinner in our own place. Heaven!
Bosque del Tolomuco is beautifully designed, extremely well kept, not at all pretentious, just your
basic beautiful. We plant to return!

Room Tip: We didn't see all the rooms, but I can't imagine any of them would be undesirable. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Bosque del tolomuco is a place to discover. Lise and Rolf were gracious hosts, concerned about the well-being of their guests. The layout of the site, gardens, pool, flowers, birds and chalets in this unique setting of cloud forest, make you want to come back regularly.

Lise is very good advisor for traveling around.

The trails are very well maintained and very interresting to walk.

The temperature ... Simply ideal.

Briefly, a incontounable if you're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love to stay with Lise and Rolf, and not just because the birding is so remarkable. The accommodations are pristine and beautiful, the trails are scrupulously maintained and there are a lot of options for hiking, and the food is delicious. What's more, the company, the wisdom, the stories coming from this remarkable couple are enough to make the visit worthwhile. Great location on the road to Dominical but high enough to give fresh, cool air.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Rolf and Lise are the best! Their hospitality was top notch. Lise is a great cook and makes the best gallo pinto in Costa Rica ... I tried it at just about every restaurant (even gave it a shot at McDonalds).
Quiet and great hiking trails - they have a great setup!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Tolomuco is an excellent place for just relaxing and for birding. When we arrived we saw at least 7 species of birds (including 3 hummingbirds within 5 minutes. The rooms are very nice, modern and comfortable. At this elevation neither fans nor airco are necessary. Lise had just gotten out of the hospital so was unable to prepare dinners, but she fixed some of the best breakfasts that we had on our trip. Rolf has made a series of hiking trails on the property that take you up to some beautiful views of the mountains. The gardens are beautiful and true magnets for the birds. I would be more than happy to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosque del Tolomuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Tolomuco

Address: Panamerican Highway | kilometer 118, San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Isidro de El General
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Isidro de El General
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lodge located in the Talmanca Mountains, near San Isidro El General, Perez Zeledon. Bird watching paradise. Confirmed bird list at 190. 4KM of good, hiking trails on 43 hectares. Elevation 1650 metres. Half of the property is forested. Heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Tolomuco Costa Rica/San Isidro De El General

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosque del Tolomuco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.