We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Organic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Delagua

Casa Delagua
800 meters West of Rio Piedras | Route 142, Tilaran, Costa Rica
+506 2692 2101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Tilaran
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Organic, Coffee Shop, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located on Rta 142, on the northwestern corner of Lake Arenal, midway between the Arenal Volcano and Monteverde National Parks. We are an English language bookstore, an art gallery and a restaurant and a farm. We offer a 'quality fresh' menu that changes frequently to reflect the availability of local foods. Breakfast served all day. Free WiFi, a great view of the lake and lots of music!
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and Organic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I ate here on our honeymoon in Arenal. The food comes from their own little farm up the hill (you can tour it if you like). I had a salad with grilled chicken, and it was if I was eating the first salad of my life. Vegetables that fresh (no GMO's or pesticides, the way nature intended) have more flavor than anything I've eaten in the USA. Costa Rica is very proud of their agriculture, and don't even let companies like Monsanto operate there. Coffee drinks were excellent as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

All organic and delicious ! This little spot was great. All food made totally while you wait. The salad plate was so pretty ..... Hated to mess it up. Also had the chicken rice. It was the best!!! Great view of the lake and free wifi!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“not what we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Rustic with a view of the low water mud at the very end of the reservoir. Food good and plenty of it. Used bookstore interesting but gallery very limited and uninteresting. Proprietor and staff did not even know the road ahead was closed resulting in a long, unnecessary detour to La Fortuna.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great view and chill vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Lovely spot with lake views. Service was super friendly and the staff gave us some great local recommendations. The food was tasty and drinks were great. The family also runs a farm and many of the dishes use their homegrown vegetables and fruits. Definitely worth a visit if you are staying in the area or a stop on your drive to/Arenal!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lake view restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

What we like about this restaurant is the out door balcony overlooking Lake Arenal where one can eat the tasty food created by a local family or we can review the many books in the book store while for our food is prepared.
The owners son is a very good artist and his works are on display& can be purchased.
This restaurant is on the road toward Nuevo Arenal
on the left side. The people are friendly and give good service.
We spend our winters here at Arenal Maleku condos(Canadians)&
Enjoy the ambience with friends from time to time.always a joy to be there. They are not open at night. Lunch is a good time.
They sell souvenirs &can book trips too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Delagua also viewed

Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Casa Delagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Delagua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.