We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needing an update” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Himalaya to your Saves list
Hotel Himalaya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 2141 | Sahid Sukra Marg, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Needing an update”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at Hotel Himalaya and the only good thing I have to say about it is how kind the staff was. They said they had air conditioning, well they didn't. The food in the restaurant is merely edible. The rooms need a complete update.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    98
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
53
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel. I arrived at around noon without reservation and I paid about 100 USD a night for an executive room with breakfast and wifi...I guess it is not too bad for Kathmandu.
The hotel is quite good, the room was nice with comfortable beds, nice flat screen TV with many channels, and a safety box that didn't work. All in all, I was quite pleased by the room and slept great.
The pool area is quite nice, with nice gardens, I didn't swim, but the place is ok to relax as it is quiet. The hotel is close to Patan, you could walk for about 20 minutes or take a 5 minutes taxi ride for 200 rupees.
I bought the everest flight through their travel agency (last minute) and the service provided was very good.
Overall, a very positive feedback about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of the old city of Patan which is such a breath of fresh air (literally) after the terrible pollution and dust of Kathmandu. The Hotel Himalaya is quite a large property with lovely gardens and obviously a very popular place for receptions. Our room was clean, but nothing special. The hotel staff are efficient. Breakfast was good. We had afternoon tea one afternoon in the reception area which was decorated for Christmas. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Fantastic stay and very friendly staff. Very quiet and the food wasn't bad either. They have this fantastic garden area at the back which is well maintained. However, I wish they had a cleaner swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My second trip to Kathmandu within 3 weeks ! I made an urgent trip on Dec 14, 2012 to Kathmandu because my daughter who has been there since end Nov , had fallen ill. She was doing voluntary work and staying in an ordinary Nepalese home. To nurse her back, I immediately checked us into a hotel. Thanks to travel / tour company Himalayan Rock. They have arranged Himalaya Hotel for us. Himalayan Rock did all the arrangements. Perfect, from hotel pick up to picking up my daughter and then to hotel. Totally hassle free and seamless.
Hotel has good friendly service, especially housekeeping, maintenance, the restaurant and door men The front desk also gave good service though one or two staff were quite grumpy-looking. The housekeeping staff were very caring and attentive; knowing that my daughter was not well. They came by to enquire about us and our needs quite regularly. The rooms we stayed in were newly renovated and of good size. Himalayan Rock chose this hotel for us because there was guaranteed 24/7 power supply and it is comfortable - good for my daughter to nurse back to health. Moreover it is near my daughter's workplace. Indeed we had good heating, continuous power supply. One main complain is that the tap water was yellowish and don't think it is drinkable But we can always ask housekeeping to give water in a flask or buy bottled water from hotel or stalls outside. Oh, bathrooms do not have enough hooks for hanging towels, etc. I find the soap is rather caustic and shampoo and shower gel not of good quality given that it is a 4*/5* hotel by Kathmandu standards. Another thing is wifi, it is chargeable and quite costly. I don’t understand, most back packers accommodation and 3* hotels provide free wifi, but those 4* upwards especially international brands (outside USA) that I have stayed usually charge for wifi. Good range of cable tv channels. We enjoyed the 24/7 power and tv programs :) Good location if you are visiting Patan area of Kathmandu, otherwise the hotel is a little out of the way

Room Tip: do not have rooms facing the lifts directly. The lift bells are rather annoying. Choose rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here while on a research trip to Nepal. Overall, the hotel is great. It goes out of its way to accommodate any request and is very clean. The breakfast buffet is nice (which you can get in box form if you have to leave early) and the service is very good. They decked it up pretty hard for Christmas too :) There is also a taxi gathering spot just a minute walk from the hotel (turning right when you exit the main gate at a small intersection) which was handy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love the Hotel it is in Lalitpur and this is slightly quieter than the main city, but it is still insane, you can cross the roads if you try hard there is a supermarket near by and several restaurants within easy walking distance though most tourists will want to use the very cheap taxi's. As I have been here many times I am known to nearly all the staff and they are friendly and helpful; although as they try so hard to help most Nepali do not like to say no, if someone says "azur" which means yes what they are saying to you is "I have no idea what you are asking and won't do it but don't want to say no"

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are nice and comfortable, but the air quality in the valley is generally awful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Address: Box 2141 | Sahid Sukra Marg, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Himalaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Patan Lalitpur
Hotel Himalaya Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Himalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.