We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Summit Hotel
Kupondol Heights, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I went there for work and stayed there for a whole week, the hotel is nice simple and refreshing! Staff are nice and very helpful! The hotel and a great relaxing garden indoor and outdoor restaurant great to work at! Very easy access to temples and tourism in Kathmandu! I had the chance to attend the hotel the christmas festival, where u get to shop amazing local stuff with a great atmosphere. Rooms are big with balconies very calm and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
18
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I loved the simplicity of this place which we used to top and tail our visit to Mustang. The rooms were clean and of a good standard, the food was generally good also. Its a very nice calm environment - and you can't smell the funky river from the top of the hill :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent three days at Summit. Very pleasant experience. I take into account we had a $50/nite room via Agoda.com so we had a small room and shared bathroom. There are other larger, nicer rooms. The grounds are excellent, the views beautiful, the service great. Very peaceful. The gym and pool look awesome although I didn't take advantage of it. All-in-all, a very peaceful, pleasant stay at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Excellent accommodations, grounds, food, gym, and service! especially loved the eco-friendly reusable clay soap/shampoo containers.
Definitely excellent value for money - had the opportunity to stay at two other hotels in Kathmandu (Radisson and Hotel Hiimalaya) and Summit was not only cheaper but by far the best!

Room Tip: the rooms in the main building are nicer as they are set around a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at The Summit just before and after an Everest Expedition. Prior to flying to Lukla my team and I were working on a charity project building a rehabilitation centre for sufferers of Cerebral Palsy in the Kathmandu Valley. After a hard days labouring it was lovely to return to The Summit. The food is of a good standard and the meat was safe to eat. It is in a good location where you aren’t so far from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu but are sufficiently far away to have some much needed peace and quiet. Just before we left for the expedition the hotel presented us all with a chain of flowers to wish us a safe expedition – a really nice touch I thought! Upon our [safe] return from the Everest Expedition it was a lovely to check in again and enjoy all the hotel had to offer. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: By the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Probably the most appreciable aspect of this hotel is its calmness, because of its location away from the crowded city, and its spacious garden. The garden rooms are rather small, but they contain all the necessary, except that from time to time the water pressure is low. During the winter time, all rooms get a hot water bottle at night, a nice gesture. The main disappointment is the restaurant: the food is nothing special, and the service is very slow.

Room Tip: The rooms with a mountain view are also much bigger, though somewhat more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

How wonderful to sit down after a long journey in a relaxed atmosphere and enjoy a delicious meal! This was our experience again after a year away from this beautiful hotel. The food was fantastic as always and the waiter even remembered us! That is one place that I will always go back to in Nepal. We had a buffet on the first night and went back for more and more.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
I can definitely recommend this hotel!!!

100%

Thank you and as they say in Nepal, "This is not goodbye for now but hello for next time"!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Hotel

Address: Kupondol Heights, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Kathmandu
Kathmandu Summit
Summit Hotel Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.