We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Clarion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Clarion
Manbhawan | Jawalakhel, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“simple, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

i have stayed in this hotel twice and i have enjoyed it on both occasions.. it is personable.. the staff are very friendly... rooms are clean, value for money .. free internet/coffee machine are a bonus !! Good choice for people who would not like to stay in 'institutionalized settings' where plastic faces welcome you at the reception ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Hotel Clarion is a good choice for your stay in Kathmandu. The rooms are clean, the staff are very friendly, plus the restaurant offers a good choice of European, Indian & Chinese dishes.
My third stay & I'm very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been coming to Nepal with my family for more than ten years and regularly use Hotel Clarion as our "home" in Kathmandu - usually for a week at a time at different times of the year. The rooms are ample and clean. They handle the city's continuous energy problems well. There is AC for the summer and heaters for the winter. The solar power seems to provide a constant supply of hot water - never found wanting. Internet is consistent. and the cable TV covers more than a hundred channels from around the world - though mostly Asian. The food in the restaurant is good quality and they are always willing to adapt meals to taste. I find the staff to be friendly and service oriented. Though not in the heart of the city, its only 20 minutes from the airport (depending on traffic), there are plenty of restaurants up and down the street, its close to the zoo, and taxis are readily available. Reasonably priced, what more can you ask for? Happy to recommend, Bill J and family

Room Tip: Some upper rooms have view of snow mountains - others only the surrounding hills. Make a trip to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Clarion Hotel welcomed me with a cold drink and warm greetings. The hotel staff went out of the way to accommodation my every request. The staff prepared a breakfast at 5:00am before my Mountain Flight Experience and carried a full course Nepali Thali Dinner up 4 flights of stairs so I could enjoy a traditional Nepali dinner on the panoramic Rooftop Terrace. I would recommend the Clarion to anyone who wants to experience traditional Nepal with all of the comforts of home.

Room Tip: I have stayed in three different rooms and enjoyed every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very friendly, excellent food, with loads of hot water. The wedding hall next door just adds to the character. Also it is very easy to find your way out onto the ring road and back in again which is very handy after long motorbike trips around the area.

This was just what i wanted, Better facilities and more reliable than the smaller places without going all the way up to the big expensive hotels.

i will be coming back the the Clarion in september for round 2

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Clarion has been good value for my money, with staff that are helpful and friendly . The Owner of this Hotel is very helpful and kind also. Rooms are functional with facilities adequate to my family. However the furniture needs to be updated and a fresh paint job too. Internet is available but not consistant. Load shedding is a bother, but that's not the fault of the hotel, at least they are able to keep the lights on with a generator. Unfortunately, the generator doesn't produce enough to keep the heaters going so bring warm clothes in the winter. The restaurant is kept warm cozy! The restaurant is reliable and safe, and serves a choice of east asian, chinese or western food. There are plenty of shops, banks, ATM, a super market and restaurants around and you can walk on quieter streets to explore the neighborhood. The roof decks are a nice place relax. My family likes this Hotel.

Room Tip: chose a room on the front or left side not right side as there is a noisy wedding hall next to right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel has a very homely atmosphere with clean and comfortable rooms. The food serve in restaurant is so good with variety of choice. The staff is very friendly, helpful and ready to satisfy all your need. Very much in the city at quite away from noise. Close to major tourist spots. For walking national zoological garden is nearby. The internet is reliable. Local amenities include a bank, department store, post office, photo lab, book store, taxi stand etc. are just across the street. I really enjoy here and I more impressed with clean environment, very good hospitality and service. One can fell here like home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Clarion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarion

Address: Manbhawan | Jawalakhel, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Clarion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clarion Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.