We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View: A+, Value: B+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Country Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Country Villa to your Saves list
Hotel Country Villa
Naldum Road, Nagarkot 00977, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“View: A+, Value: B+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The first time I stayed at Country Villa, I was on a tiny budget, and booking this place was a splurge. As I watched the full moon rise over the misty peaks and valleys and watched the sun rise over the Himalayas, I decided it was worth every cent. (check out my photos; stunning view!)

Two years later, living in Kathmandu, my partner and I decided to check this place out for a nice two-night weekend getaway over the Nepali New Year. We booked on Agoda and were not disappointed by our experience. We were surprised at arrived by being shown the room in the tower above reception (no shared walls with any other guest room, which is nice in a resort of this size that caters to big tour groups). The room was lovely, and frankly much nicer than the room I stayed in two years ago. The bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated, and the sheets were clean and fluffy and new. The view was spectacular (we were happy to have clear weather in the pre-monsoon season of April).

It's true, there was a strange prevalence of flies in the resort during the day. They were buzzing noisily on our first morning there but they were not overly distracting for most of our stay. Weirdly, they disappeared by the next morning (we were grateful).

Country Villa is not the kind of place you want to go for "character" or and "authentic" experience. It is a relatively massive resort, with huge tour groups. Nevertheless, we found our weekend cozy and pleasant.

So I have had two lovely experiences here. One complaint. We found dinner at the hotel VERY expensive. Yes, it is an all-you-can-eat buffet. But if you walk five minutes down the road to a small restaurant, they will only charge ~200 rupees for a full daal bhat meal. At Country Villa, dinner will run you ~800 rupees. Take the walk and save some $.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
16
40
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The title alone should do it :), but anyway here goes...
1. Location: Overlooks a valley, and the Himalayan range forms a great backdrop. Is probably the property furthermost from Nagarkot town and not on a main road, so there is very little traffic etc and that makes the place even more charming. One can stand for hours in the balcony gazing at the panoramic view (given that there is precious little to do otherwise :D)
2. Food: Tried continental and Indian cuisine in a la carte, and both were excellent. Breakfast buffet didnt have a very wide spread, but was made well. And the outdoor seating is wonderful, given the refreshingly pure air and the view of the mountains.
3. Service: Good overall
4. Price and room: Being some what off-season in Feb, got them to give me full board at 65$. Though this is definitely upmarket by Nepal standards, and this hotel is not affiliated to any international chain, it definitely was value for money. When I went to dinner, they offered me the Nepali set menu but didnt fuss when I said I preferred to order a la carte instead. The rooms are nice, carpeted, wood-panelled and airy. Dont know why they have a TV when there is little chance of using one though :)
5. Others: They apparently rent mountain bikes and have a badminton court, but I didnt use either and hence cant comment. Wifi speeds were acceptable though need to be purchased at 200 Nepali Rs/ hr.

Cons:
Well can't think of much really.. While they do have a backup power generator (given the 12-14 hrs/day of power cuts), you cant use any electric socket in your room off the generator (even to charge your laptop/ mobile etc). One can however do this from the common room/ restaurant etc. Also, the backup power isn't 24 hours - there are a few hours during daytime when there is no power.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better, unless you dont want to climb the stairs. And do ask for a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I'm glad my excellent car rental agent, Blue Mountain Travels, convinced me to stay at Country Villas in spite of the number of poor reviews in Trip Advisor.

I stayed at Country Villas on the evening of December 11, 2011, and went up the the View Tower (highly recommended) for the sunrise. The room was clean, comfortable, well heated and lit, hot water and WiFi worked fine. the views--if there aren't clouds--are what heaven looks like if you are a Sherpa.

The hotel serves buffet style lunch and dinner included in the package. the food was fine, given it is Nagarkot. I had a brunch after returning from the view tower and I've attached Himalaya photos from the deck where I had brunch.

I do suggest that you don't hang around the hotels for the morning view. They are all along the western side of a peninsula-shaped hillside. You get about 90-degrees of view. If you get a 20 minute ride past the military base to "the View Tower" you get a 180-degree view that is a little farther from the Himalayas but you get a lot more Himalayas! You don't have to go up the tower--go on the hill top. Dress warm because you are fully exposed on the hilltop. You look over the top of town with the hillside full of hotels looking back at you.

Come back to the hotels for late breakfast and get the head-on view in the later morning. the long-distance views (to the Annapurnas) to the West and East (supposedly Everest on a perfect day) are best seen in the early morning.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views. They have a couple of levels--get top floor. Maybe if you are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

It was the idea of few genius guys from iTourNepal.com who encourage us to stay in country villa Nagarkot. Me and my husband love that place wish to visit again in recent future. The hotel is almost at the northern edge of Nagarkot offering undisturbed view of Jugal Himal, Gaurishankar and many more. Rooms are bit small but cozy and well furnished to be warm in cold weather. Bathroom was clean and also the housekeeping was prompt in service. Big windows overlooking the Himalayan ranges and the green valley. From the central market place, the hotel is linked with rough, narrow dirt road. But the place well worth the 10 mints rough drive. Their hotel lobby and restaurant also have the grand view all the time. We combined our stay at the Hotel with Bhaktapur tour and easy hiking to Changunarayan arranged by itournepal.com . Thanks to them and hotel country villa.

jiwan wood

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Hotel is situated at a dark and lonely place with rugged roads.Front of the Hotel is not so noteworthy.But the rooms and view of ranges from the room were good.Bathrooms are small but clean.Place of Breakfast and dinner is good.The Hotel has wonderful views and if you're lucky, the Langtan range can be seen on a clear day. I couldn't see it because of the clouds.The Hotel has large balcony and cosy rooms with all facilities.But the Local cable network is very poor
and we could not enjoy viewing T.V

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I was surprised by some of the negative reviews here as we stayed at the Country Villa and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a big hotel though so I guess there might be some differences between quality in different rooms. Our room was well furnished, comfortable and with a large balcony with a stunning view. The TV wasn't working but to be honest who wants to watch TV when you have the Himalayas outside your window?! We had no problems with electricty - but know that these are common throughout Nepal. There was internet access for which we had to pre-pay. We had a very nice evening meal and breakfast consisted of a large buffet with a good selection, and freshly made eggs/omelettes to order. Sitting out on their terrace was just fabulous. Beautiful and peaceful. We didn't have the clearest of views as we were there during monsoon season - but it was still spectacular. We had a drink in the upstairs bar in the evening. Would have to agree that there was no atmosphere as we were the only people in it and there was no music, but nonetheless it was a pleasant place to sit and we enjoyed a cocktail. Nagarkot is somewhere you visit for the views so 1-night is more than enough. There isn't really anything else to do there and Country Villa is beyond Nagarkot 'town' so you're not in walking distance of anything much else. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Country Villa is high up in Nagarkot, it has wonderful views and if you're lucky, the Langtan range can be seen on a clear day. I couldn't see it because of the clouds.
The hotel itself is breathtakingly placed near the cliff but it has power problems and hot water not running all the time. But in our case, the electricity didn't go off as was earlier told to us.
It is a one-night hotel, you should probably be prepared for the power cut as well as poor connections in the room. The restaurant is fantastic though, so it might as well be a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Mountain view, duh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Country Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Country Villa

Address: Naldum Road, Nagarkot 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Country Villa is strategically placed on the top of Nagarkot hill, thus offering the best view of the spectacular show upfront. It encapsulates all the elements that set Nagarkot apart. It showcases nature at her best, and thereby catapults its dwellers to the romantic self and promises of a splendid stay. It is only 28 km from the international airport. The hotel area is vastly spacious; it is spread in 2.51 Acre land. It is situated at 7,200 feet from the sea level. Here, you float with the clouds and can give audience to the drama unfolding the spectacle of the sunrise and the sunset from very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Country Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Country Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.