We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Himalaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Himalaya Resort to your Saves list
Club Himalaya Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windy Hills | P.O Box 2769, Nagarkot, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I went to Club Himalaya to have a good view of the Himalayas during my very short trip in Nepal. Unfortunately, it rained that day and the dark clouds ruled the sky.

This unfortunate turn of events was somehow compensated by the good service that I had with Club Himalaya. I only spent the afternoon there to eat lunch. I planned to stay until sunset but as stated earlier, there was no chance for me to have a good view of the mighty mountain range.

In terms of food, they have a good selection of international cuisine for people who are looking for safe food choices. I had Pad Thai and it was good (of course I didn't expect it to be as authentic as the ones that I had in Thailand, which is totally understandable). The best part of the meal was the dessert. I tried Caramel Custard and it was pure happiness for the taste buds. I also tried a local green tea during my four-hour stay and it was also good. For some reasons, it helped me relax while waiting for the sun.

The waiters are very accommodating and helpful and it takes less less than ten minutes for the food to be served. In addition, the prices are very reasonable.

By the way, they have free wi-fi which allows guests to have real-time upload. I didn't activate my data roaming thus, this service was definitely a plus for me.

I wish I had stayed a night there because I bet the view will be breathtaking in the morning. I will remember to include a stay in Club Himalaya the next time I visit Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya Nagarkot.

Thank you for your valuable time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to read your reviews and we appreciate for your feedback on your short stay. All yours valuable compliments are regarded as a highly motivation for your team to provide you with best Hospitality in future. Our team was delighted with wonderful reviews on cuisines and services you experienced.

We will be honored if u give another opportunity to serve you with better experience in your next visit.

Best regards,
Sujan Thapa
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    194
    74
    30
    7
See reviews for
115
185
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we went to club himalaya on the 5th of October for one night. I only regret that we stayed for one night and we didn't had a chance to stay longer. The whole ambiance of the hotel is so inviting and warm. The interior design is so nice and rooms are very spacious and clean. Views are amazing and food was also very delicious. Staff were very friendly, actually we spend some time talking with one of the chefs outside on the terrace. Very nice place with friendly staff. Definitely will stay again in there on the next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya Nagarkot.

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Our team were delighted to read your kinds words and we thank you for sharing your wonderful compliments. It has always been our pleasure serving you our best Hospitality with high standards which exceeds your expectations. Your feedback on various services of hotels is highly appreciated and encouraging for our team to give our best in future.

Once again thank you for your precious time to share and we will be waiting for your next visit to make more memorable as before.

Best Regards,
Sujan Thapa
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Unfortunately, despite the booking being made 11 months earlier and confirmed, we were given a room with single beds and on the incorrect floor. As the hotel was fully booked, nothing could be done to rectify the situation on the first night. Next day when a suitable room become available the problem was rectified. The reception staff member (Muna Lama) was very apologetic and helpful. The hotel is probably one of the best in Nagarkot, and while it is nothing startling the location is the main selling point, so long as weather over the Himalayas is on your side. We stayed in October to see the sunrise over the mountains, and unfortunately on one morning it was very foggy and the other, there were limited views because of the cloud cover.

We found the restaurant to be a big positive for the hotel, despite the negative reports we have read from other guests who have stayed at the hotel. For dinner, there is both a buffet style and an a-la-carte menu. For breakfast it is buffet style which was OK, including egg dishes prepared in your style ... I can recommend the omelet. For dinner (on the 2 nights), we chose the a-la-carte menu and certainly we found no problem with the variety & selection that was available, plus we found it very tasty. I would like to pass on my special thanks to the F&B Manager (Sandip) and the Chef (Makeeh) for looking after my wife's "gluten free" dietary needs. Very enjoyable meals and friendly staff.

When staying at this hotel, we would suggest you try and get a room in the new wing & if possible on the top floor (5th) to maximum your views of the mountains from your room's great balcony. There is also a viewing terrace on the top of this wing. Please note, there are no lifts in the premises. We found the bed to be comfortable & clean. Wifi is free in the lobby area and a 24 hour coupon can be purchased from Reception. A torch is in the room, for use during power interruptions.

We would suggest to the hotel's management, that they do not place "old previously worn" slippers in the rooms for guests to wear from a hygienic point of view. As a suggestion, you should consider supplying disposable slippers as other quality hotels do, or simply decide not to provide. There is no safe for valuables or fridge in the rooms.

If you are lucky with the weather, staying at this hotel could be quite an experience.

Room Tip: 5th floor in new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya Nagarkot.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit in Nagarkot.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

Thank you so much for your suggestion, its noted we will work out to it. We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warm regards
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

On inquiring about the hotel with the best view everyone in Nagarkot had one option in mind and that was Club Himalaya. True to its word the place is well laid out with sufficient and organised parking space. The restaurants open at 11 a.m. and offer a small variety. We were one of the early visitors and had to make do with the amazing sight accompanied by mouth watering chicken chili and fresh lime soda. Prices are reasonable inspite of being a premium place. The place is amazing for clicking photographs and we did click quite a few.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Club Himalaya Nagarkot,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction.Your feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for our team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with warm hospitality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful location with friendly and accommodating front desk staff. The beds and sheets are comfortable and of a high quality, so we enjoyed a restful sleep. Our room was in the new wing and had unobstructed views of the mountains. We stayed for 2 nights at the first of October, and unfortunately we could not view the Himalayan range, which is why we visited Nagarkot. But we did have a peaceful and enjoyable stay at this hotel. The a la carte food on the menu was much better than the buffet. When we ordered off the menu, we thought the food was very good. I do agree with other reviewers that the wait staff is not up to the caliber of this hotel, and we noted several disagreements between waiters and guests. The restaurant staff do not appear well trained, and a couple of them seemed actually put out by simple requests. It is possible that low English speaking skills were partially to blame. With this exception, we recommend the hotel and enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunrise view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya, Nagarkot.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was our pleasure to serve you. At the mean time time we have noted down your feedback on restaurant. It is feedback from esteemed guests like you which help us to striving for a better product and service.

We look forward to your visit and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service.

Warm Regards,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've stayed in several hotels in Nagarkot, but this is one of the best. The rooms are fantastic in the new wing - wonderful balconies with a great view, modern amenities and great beds. Hot water in the taps is almost instantaneous, which you need on a cold winter night.

The only problem is the restaurant - it seems the wait staff work almost impossible 18 hour shifts, and so their service is quite poor. I ordered a caramel custard which came out frozen inside, and one of the waiters actually had the gall to tell me it didn't look frozen (believe me, I wish it wasn't). For dinner, we wanted to order a la carte, but the waiter seemed quite put out by our choice, and kept insisting we try the buffet (which is nothing to write home about). The breakfast was also just okay, but I guess that is the deal with the breakfasts in Nepal bed and breakfasts. The restaurant windows can also do with some aggressive cleaning.

Overall, a wonderful stay with sub-par food.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya, Nagarkot.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the amenities and ambiances.While we always strive to deliver a perfect experience, we do apologize for your experience with the restaurant. We have noted your observations and are addressing the same.

Hope to serve you in near future.

With Gratitude,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

People kept going on about how this was the best and most luxurious hotel in Nagarkot, and the photographs on the website backed this up. However, it was just a clean and average hotel (definitely not luxurious compared to many hotels in this price bracket or even cheaper in South Asia). The location was wonderful situated up in the mountains and the air was clean. But the food was disappointing and the staff inflexible. The Tea House in restaurant is a cozy and atmospheric little restaurant of the hotel. But the staff were rude and couldn't seem to wait to get ride of customers. It also appeared unclean (some waiters picking their noses) etc. and the food was very disappointing. The a la cart food in the main hotel restaurant was marginally better and the service was much better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya, Nagarkot.

We appreciate you taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our services.

The inconvenience that you have experienced is indeed very disturbing. We view this very seriously and have shared this with the department team members. I would appologise on behalf of Club Himalaya family.

Sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again, we assure you nothing like this happen again.

Warm Regards,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Himalaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Himalaya Resort

Address: Windy Hills | P.O Box 2769, Nagarkot, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Himalaya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in TIME Magazine (Liam McMillan, December 10, 2001) as a "Hot Spot" of the world, the Club Himalaya ( 32 kilometers East of Kathmandu) has earned local and international reputation. Superbly situated atop of a lush-green hill at a majestic elevation of 7200 ft, Club Himalaya offers an unrestricted 360˚ view of: Annapurna in the west to the mighty Everest in the East, Kathmandu valley and thick forests. Each room opens to a private balcony, where guests can enjoy the most splendid sunrise and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Club Himalaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Himalaya Hotel Nagarkot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Himalaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.