We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Himalaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Himalaya Resort to your Saves list
Club Himalaya Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windy Hills | P.O Box 2769, Nagarkot, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've stayed in several hotels in Nagarkot, but this is one of the best. The rooms are fantastic in the new wing - wonderful balconies with a great view, modern amenities and great beds. Hot water in the taps is almost instantaneous, which you need on a cold winter night.

The only problem is the restaurant - it seems the wait staff work almost impossible 18 hour shifts, and so their service is quite poor. I ordered a caramel custard which came out frozen inside, and one of the waiters actually had the gall to tell me it didn't look frozen (believe me, I wish it wasn't). For dinner, we wanted to order a la carte, but the waiter seemed quite put out by our choice, and kept insisting we try the buffet (which is nothing to write home about). The breakfast was also just okay, but I guess that is the deal with the breakfasts in Nepal bed and breakfasts. The restaurant windows can also do with some aggressive cleaning.

Overall, a wonderful stay with sub-par food.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya, Nagarkot.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the amenities and ambiances.While we always strive to deliver a perfect experience, we do apologize for your experience with the restaurant. We have noted your observations and are addressing the same.

Hope to serve you in near future.

With Gratitude,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    194
    74
    30
    7
See reviews for
115
185
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

People kept going on about how this was the best and most luxurious hotel in Nagarkot, and the photographs on the website backed this up. However, it was just a clean and average hotel (definitely not luxurious compared to many hotels in this price bracket or even cheaper in South Asia). The location was wonderful situated up in the mountains and the air was clean. But the food was disappointing and the staff inflexible. The Tea House in restaurant is a cozy and atmospheric little restaurant of the hotel. But the staff were rude and couldn't seem to wait to get ride of customers. It also appeared unclean (some waiters picking their noses) etc. and the food was very disappointing. The a la cart food in the main hotel restaurant was marginally better and the service was much better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya, Nagarkot.

We appreciate you taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our services.

The inconvenience that you have experienced is indeed very disturbing. We view this very seriously and have shared this with the department team members. I would appologise on behalf of Club Himalaya family.

Sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again, we assure you nothing like this happen again.

Warm Regards,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the best property in Nagarkot. A very modern hotel with all amenities yet offering the local flavor in the Hotel and rooms, without overdoing it.

Amazing view of the Himalayas right from your bed or nicely made balconies. No tall trees or buildings to obstruct your view of the mountains. The balconies are nicely made.. offering ample privacy.

Food was good .. with good deal of international cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest.

Greetings from Club Himalaya, Nagarkot.

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback on our product and services is indeed very encouraging for our team.

We do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful location and property. The rooms were very nice and contemporary. Every room had a view of the Himalayas. We were a small group and had lots of fun at the Nepali theme bar. Our last minute conference room and BBQ request was well managed by the staffs. The food has improved a lot and the BBQ was really good. Need more improvement on breakfast choices. My group had a lovely getaway.
Uj

Room Tip: New wing is fantastic!! Top floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Owner at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the CH family, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for your kind words. We strive to cater to your each and every needs. It was a pleasure having your group and we are so happy to know that our hard work and efforts created a beautiful experience for you.

We are constantly making new changes to improve our shortcomings. We thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Wishing you a Happy Vijaya Dashami!

With gratitude,

Pam Sakya
On behalf of the CH family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, fantastic rooms, best views you could ask for. Service needs improvement - the front desk staff is cocky or maybe just that one guy with an American accent. The desk also gives horrible exchange rates. Do not change money here. Also needs more food options. There is one restaurant serving average expensive food. Beware of frequent power outages. Generators are on stand by but sometimes can take a while to warm up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya.

Thank you so much for sparing time from your schedule to write in Tripadvisor. We are really happy that you found the rooms, location and view excellent on the same time we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you faced on some point of your stay. We have noted and circulated your observation to departments. We assure you for improvement.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future keeping no disappointment on your heart.

Best regards,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After a disappointment in pokhara , arriving here at the club himalaya hotel was a breath of fresh air, literally.the hotel is accessed by a bit of a dodgy winding road but even the drive up is beautiful and scenic, as you climb you can smell the air getting cleaner and fresher.
On arrival at the hotel bell boys are on hand to bring your luggage up to reception , handy given the amount of steps, check in was easy and very friendly. Our room 411 was in the new building on 4th floor, WOW ...... the rooms are top notch, nice and light, immaculate white walls with quality comfy furniture, small flat screen TV wall mounted, 2 big single beds with crispy white sheets and a great pillow to match, 2 suitcase stands (nice touch as you normally only get 1), the shower room is a pleasure, all brand new and quality , good lighting, hair dryer , bum washer and the shower has a glass window so you can see out through the bedroom and the mountain views.balcony overlooks the valleys and also you get great views of the mountain range, we got up at 5am and watched the sunrise over the distant mountains, it was quite a moment as the sun rose and you instantly start to feel the heat.
The bar area is well stocked and the staff are very friendly, fair prices to when you consider it's a hotel. There is an indoor swimming pool and a jacuzzi .
We had our evening meal and got to say that the plate was warm but nothing on the plate was, I ordered my steak medium and it came well done, our friend asked for his steak to go back and be warmed in the microwave,, they did this but not the rest of his food. Breakfast was a repeat of dinner, warm eggs and cold bacon.
Overall I would recommend this fantastic hotel, I'm sure the food n beverage manager will act on last night meeting.

Room Tip: Select the new building and a high level floor. Astounding views from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Club Himalaya, Nagarkot.

We are pleased to know that you found our hotel fantastic in almost all the ways.

Thanks so much for pointing out the disappointing aspects of our product and services. We are indeed very grateful to you because it is feedback like yours that allows us to evaluate the systems.

We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will do what ever need for your great experience with fond memories to cherish.

Warm regards and sorry again,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, INDIA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would have given 5 stars if the service was better. Like any big hotel, the property location, restaurant/bar, rooms are all very nice (in fact rooms are highly contemporary). Views are stunning from everywhere. However, I found the service standards as barely acceptable (checkin/checkout, restaurant, etc). Spa was quite good.

Room Tip: Please remember there is nothing to do in the town of Nagarkot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceHotelsNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Club Himalaya Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are very important for us to continue in improving our service. Please accept our sincere apologiesyou felt during your stay. We have noted and circulated your observation regarding the service to concern department to get it improved so thet we are better able to meet our guests satisfaction.
On the same time we are happy to know that you enjoyed the view, bar, restaurant and rooms.

We look forward to your continued visits and take the opportunity to assure you for our best attention and service.

Warm regards,
Teina Kapali
Onbehalf of Club Himalaya family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Himalaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Himalaya Resort

Address: Windy Hills | P.O Box 2769, Nagarkot, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Himalaya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in TIME Magazine (Liam McMillan, December 10, 2001) as a "Hot Spot" of the world, the Club Himalaya ( 32 kilometers East of Kathmandu) has earned local and international reputation. Superbly situated atop of a lush-green hill at a majestic elevation of 7200 ft, Club Himalaya offers an unrestricted 360˚ view of: Annapurna in the west to the mighty Everest in the East, Kathmandu valley and thick forests. Each room opens to a private balcony, where guests can enjoy the most splendid sunrise and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Club Himalaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Himalaya Hotel Nagarkot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Himalaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.