We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nagarkot Farmhouse Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nagarkot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nagarkot Farmhouse Resort
Save
You added Nagarkot Farmhouse Resort to your Saves list
Nagarkot, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I've been to this charming hotel three times and never been disappointed,
except this time by the unseasonal weather which blotted out the spectacular
mountain views I knew were behind the fog! The staff were friendly and attentive,
as usual. The food was generous and tasty, with fresh vegetables from the hotel's
kitchen garden. There is an open fire in the dining room, where guests gather to chat
before the evening meal. The company on this visit was excellent. After dinner, the staff
collected our room keys in order to put hot water bottles in our beds - lovely! The bed was
very comfortable and I slept well under the down duvet. The rooms are furnished in traditional
style and are very large, with picture windows, The gardens are peaceful, well-kept and full of orchids. There is a small hilltop Buddhist shrine decked with colourful prayer-flags. This hotel is a special place, full of character and run by people who care about it. The reason the road isn't made up is to preserve the peace of the place. Our taxi left us to the gate, as did other people's. Minor glitches may happen - this is Nepal! - but can't spoil the experience of this exceptional place.

Room Tip: Ask for room 15 for the most spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our experience was from from delightful. The road in was in a shocking state to the point our taxi had to stop 1km from the lodge. When we eventually got to the lodge the enty was blocked with rubble, debri, cut wood which we had to step over. The gardens were overgrown and full of weeds, the rooms smelt fusty and sparcely appointed with very little lighting. The facilities were run down and not cared for and the staff, when we could find them, where not very helpful. We booked ourselves out a day later and went to Fort Resort - which we loved.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

It's an interesting experience to suffer foodborne illness (and diarrhoea) and be expected to walk 2.5kms with a heavy pack to reach the Farmhouse! But to my good fortune, the 'hotel' did send a staff member on motorbike to pick up my bag. But what about me? I had to foot it alone since there was no transport available (or at least, not for a single female guest). On my arrival at the 'retreat', I was kindly escorted to my room downstairs which was furthest away from the main office building. For the first days while I was recovering from sickness, no one bothered to check on me. There was no hot water and the room was uncomfortably cold (mid April). After three days I finally put the 'hard word' on management, insisting I change rooms to one which had hot water! So be smart and pick your room carefully. Groups (even if 2-3 people) are looked after better, however, the solo traveller can be literally left out in the cold. Also you singles out there, get to the dining table early otherwise you might not get a seat. One night I sat in the TV room to eat my evening meal because the tourist groups had taken over. Hmm 'buddhist retreat' with a strong commercial streak.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is near the main office building if you wish to shower in hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Hard to find anything not to like about the Farmhouse (except for the unavoidable, I suspect, lack of hot water and usual electricity problems). Our room was fabulous, by far the best we had anywhere in Nepal, with 180 degree vistas of the Himlayas. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble and they made us feel so welcome despite the fact we turned up unannounced, like drowned rats in an electric storm. The rates included all meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) - the cooking was good - although the menus we had over 2 days lacked variety.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at Nagarkot Farnhouse Resort a couple of days in January. It's actually a great place: views of the Himalaya are stunning, service is prompt and friendly, food was good and always large. Rooms are very large and nice although I have to say no hot water has been available for two days but the personnel has willingly given to me the chance to have very hot and long shower in the main building (above the reception/restaurant) so the problem actually did not exist. Lovely walk to the village downhill and o Nagarkot (simple, no trekking) although the road was a bit diffcult. Rooms were cold but there was a gas heater in each room which was switched on every night and after dinner all guests were given a hot water bag.

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

just a short 2 hour drive from kathmandu, perched on top of valley, great hospitable rural place. no frills but very relaxing with well kept grounds.

decent food, friendly staff, fantastic views (depends very much on time of year) and super value. good base for walks around the area. probably best location in nagarkot as away from town center. only downside was rock hard matress making for difficult sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the Road
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

I had been to Nagarkot on a prior trip and stayed in another local hotels that I found disappointing. The Farmhouse Resort was a far better experience. When we arrived, we were served a traditional Nepali meal that was excellent and plentiful. After a sudden cancellation, our host upgraded our rooms (including famous room 15 on the corner). Accommodation is simple but very comfortable and it's well kept. We had haze the morning of our stay, but the views would normally be astounding in clear weather. Ask for a tour of their garden - very interesting.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nagarkot Farmhouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagarkot Farmhouse Resort

Address: Nagarkot, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Nagarkot
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Nagarkot Farmhouse Hotel Nagarkot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagarkot Farmhouse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.