We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tent camping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Nebo State Park

Mount Nebo State Park
Dardanelle, AR
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Dardanelle
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park on Mount Nebo is well equipped for camping.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great tent camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our favorite camping stop in Arkansas! In early September it was cool after the sun went down and I had to find my fleece vest. Definitely needed my sleeping bag! The stars were beautiful as was the sunset and sunrise. We had a beautiful view right from our tent campsite. There are great hiking trails. The drive up the mountain is steep and full of switchbacks and not suitable for large RV's or trailers. There were only a few campers while we were there midweek but I think the bathroom would be really crowded in the summer season with only two toilet stalls and one shower. It was SO peaceful at night listening to the cicadas, watching the stars come out and the lights come on in the valley below.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We took a family Labor Day camping trip from the DFW area. Still very warm, even if supposedly cooler on the mountain. But other than the few hours in the afternoon when it's just hot, the trip was great. The park staff is super friendly, even had an ice cream social w homemade ice cream. The pool is a good alternative when it's really hot. Adults and kids enjoyed the slide. Must get up for the sunrise, few people and just beautiful. Don't hike to the waterfalls for actual water this time of year. The gnats were bad on the trails if you don't go super early. All in all beautiful scenery, nice park, will be back for fall colors.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Drove up from Dallas and it was worth it. Amazing drive, beautiful scenic views and lot of hiking trails. It is a great place for a family weekend getaway with nice campsites.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family has gone to Mt. Nebo since I was a child. Now that we are all grown, we have our family reunions there. My 4 year old loves it. This trip, deer were so close to us and on one evening drive, we counted about 40 deer.

We were in cabin 69 and loved the the windows around the main bedroom. Kitchens were stocked with pots, pans and anything we needed. There is limited food available at the check-in center, you would do better to take what you need. All the kids enjoyed the pool and hikes. Great time for all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Crazy drive to the top, but well worth the time and effort, great trails, hiked the rim with our 8 and 5 yr olds in 2.5 hrs and was fun, mtn biking is ok, pool is nice but needs better hrs, 3 sites have unbelievable views right from your tent, can not camp with anything over 24 ft since it will not make it up the hill.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Nebo State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Nebo State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Nebo State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.