We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyvill Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wyvill Arms to your Saves list
The Wyvill Arms
Constable Burton DL8 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed may 2013 staff excellent and friendly room excellent great view over countryside. Food out of this world and well worth a visit. Ate in the restaurant where the food was first class ranged from fresh fish to the best steak pie I have ever had

Room Tip: Room 4 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
29
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very welcoming, comfortable pub with rooms. We had a four poster bed. Warm and cosy in winter and the food is good quality traditional English. Close to both the A1 and good walking country. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night with our dog. The room (number 4) was exceptionally clean and quaint with a lovely view. We ate there too and the food was great. The other reviews about the steaks are spot on. One of the best my husband has ever had. The design of the place is gorgeous, lovely restaurant areas (one which was like an old steam train carriage) and roaring real fires. The service was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. We will return when next walking in the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Charming Pub Restaurant, Bars.
Company booked me here, nice large double room,comfortable, clean with excellent bathroom/shower. Splendid rural views. I was in time for dinner in the front restaurant, ideal for travelers,lovely home cooked food,from there is a Bar area then a posh dinning area for special occasions. They catered for people from all walks of life. Breakfast with hot plate very nice, tasty.
Only one complaint my room was above the kitchen, so slight cooking smell,noticed it as spent quite a long time there.

Room Tip: Room at the back with Rural scenery beautiful & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have a really nice New Years Eve meal at the Wyvill Arms and both the atmosphere and staff were very good. I ordered steak and it was cooked exactly as I requested and came with a plenty of veg, chips and potatoes. This is the third year that we have come here to celebrate the end of the old year so what better recommendation can there be than that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place for Sunday lunch - and very popular. Food is good, portions are just right and service is friendly and efficient. Prices very reasonable for the food on offer. The Wyvill Arms is in a lovely part of the country, and quite handy for a number of North Yorkshire attractions. We haven't stayed there yet, but might give it a try sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Work Christmas Dinner.
SURROUNDINGS, DECOR, SERVICE, WINE, FOOD SHALL I GO ON? EVERYTHING WAS FAB. Really great people, we could have stayed and chatted instead of going into town but had unfortunately planned already. This could become a regular haunt as i only live 4 miles away. RESULT!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyvill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvill Arms

Address: Constable Burton DL8 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Constable Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Constable Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wyvill Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyvill Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.