We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Tummel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strath Tummel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Tummel Inn
Save
You added Loch Tummel Inn to your Saves list
Strath Tummel, Pitlochry PH16 5RP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here on the way home from the Applecross Peninsula. We chose it as it is a dog friendly hotel (and the reviews here all looked good!). It really is a lovely little hotel, the welcome is warm, the rooms are charming, the food is lovely. Very impressed and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    36
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
108
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stopped off for a one night stay here on a walking/cycling trip several months ago, and been meaning to write a review ever since. I believe the place was previously really run down so Amanda and Tom have done a fantastic job of creating a unique, lovely, cosy hotel with comfortable, spacious rooms and lovely food which we enjoyed at breakfast and for our evening meal. Would definitely stay again in the future. It is a little off the beaten track, which in my view is another plus point, but have read a few negative reviews based on complaints about lack of TV in the rooms and difficult internet access so be prepared to go without these for a few days and enjoy the food and scenery instead!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uddingston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I had a one night overnight at the Loch Tummel Inn whilst doing some walking in that area. The views from the Inn are absolutely stunning with the loch and the mountains so close. The log fire was burning away and very welcoming in the cosy pub/restaurant. Amanda reserved the table for us near it for our dinner and we were very grateful of that as it could be quite draughty. Drinks and dinner superb. Our room was bright and spacious with beautiful views again. The room did become very cold at night but there was a cosy woollen blanket on hand. We would definitely use this Inn again if we were in the area or for a meal and overnight with friends so we didn't need to drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Inn is about ten miles from Pitlochry and the scenery during the drive is stunning! We arrived late afternoon and Amanda the owner was so welcoming and friendly. We had room 4 which has a superb loch view. A large comfortable room with a large ensuite. The bar/lounge is comfortable and the bonus of a log fire burning adds to the cosy setting. We dined there at night and although we thought is was a bit pricey once we sampled he food we felt the quality met with the cost. A must to try is the haggis with Irn Bru chutney delicious!!
The breakfast is one of the best breakfast we have ever had!! The chef here is truely a catch!.
Tom and Amanda are great hosts and so kean to ensure your needs are catered for we highly recommend this for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are nice in an old fashioned way but it is worth requesting a loch view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights with itison voucher and had a very relaxing time. Would concur with all previous reviews who rate , hard working,Tom and Amanda as hosts with the most.Our room and Shower/bathroom was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Both dinner and breakfast menus were superb.In conclusion let me say that you could do very much worse than to 'tumble in' to the Tummel Inn when in this beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here as part of an itison deal for a 2 night stay. The inn was lovely, with picnic tables overlooking the loch which was beautiful to sit and have a drink at. The room (2) was gorgeous and the bathroom was huge. The communal living area looked nice although we tended to just sit in the bar with the fire and music. There are cards, dominos, board games etc to play which is nice. The breakfasts were amazing, and although we didnt eat at the inn the food looked nice.
Only problem for us is that the inn is a good 25mins/half an hour drive from Pitlochry over a very curved, single track road which was not great to drive along. However we put up with it as the inn, the views and amanda were lovely!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalkeith
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

we spent 2 nights in the inn on the 6th and 7th of october and we had a great time.amanda and tom are great hosts and will make sure you enjoy your stay. we got room 1 and the views are stunning looking over the loch.we also had dinner 2 nights at the inn and the food on both nights was lovely.overall i would recommend this place for a weekend away as it quiet and so relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loch Tummel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tummel Inn

Address: Strath Tummel, Pitlochry PH16 5RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strath Tummel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strath Tummel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Loch Tummel Hotel Strath Tummel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Tummel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.